We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not great!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked through Flight Centre as it was in their brochure, and in the Thompsons' brochure figured it was okay! Pool great, staff okay, room facing the beach was very noisy and the door onto the balcony was broken so that made it worse, sheets and bed torn worn and not the cleanest! Not even a picture on the wall! Mildew on the toilets and basins. Breakfast was okay - lunch ordered on the last day was very tasty. Used the shuttle but found it never left or arrived on time and the driver obviously hates his job. We will not be returning to Thailand was not a great experience !

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms were apparently better ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntheaFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    385
    172
    44
    45
See reviews for
208
406
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a sea view room for 8 nights. There was a lot of disturbance from the roadside at night, but we preferred looking out on the sea. The bed is very comfortable. Aircon works well and we always had hot water readily available. I didn't appreciate getting worn and torn towels, but told the cleaning girl and never got torn towels again. We enjoyed getting on the free shuttle to Patong and when you're tired - hop back on and to your hotel. Breakfast was not too bad - basically the same each morning, but it gives you a good lining for the day. Loved the swimming pool! An overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I know everyone tells you to get a pool room where there is not so much noise, but we preferred the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanderw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was expecting more than I imagined. The hotel location is okay but not in the good vicinity due to lots of cars and trucks passing by in front of the hotel. Generally the rooms are clean. The pool side is amazing. I was expecting more but I enjoyed the atmosphere of Thai people and Patong Beach. You cannot swim in front of the hotel . you have to take a shuttle and go to Patong beach for swimming.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe rooms though the electrical cables are in front of the windows, thats Asia for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseby, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved the sunset beach resort!! Great clean and comfy rooms, flower petals in rooms when we arrived. It was right on the beach but away from the main area of Phuket so it was quieter, Beautiful landscaped pool, great Thai food at the restaurant and daily yummy b'fast. The hotel organised all our trips and we enjoyed every one, especially the jet boat trip which included Bond Island and lots of snorkling. Did the elephant ride, Bang la Rd every day and night that we could we even went walkies to a more local area where we got some bargains at their own markets. The weather was perfect expect for the normal odd down pour.The tuk tuks were reasonable if we didn't use the free ride to town every half hour. We saw some local wildlife in geckos on the roofs outside at night near the lights and we really enjyed the mai tais at the house bar.
We stayed at 14 days for the price of 9 and were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights and while we had a very large room and great pool staff were not very helpful and their English was very poor. I had a pool view room which was nice and I requested this when I booked. Don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoeC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight home to Sydney. When arriving at the hotel, we were checked it etc all quite fine. After coming back downstairs to ask a few questions about shopping, markets etc, the staff were extremely rude and not willing to offer much assistance.
We were also told that the free shuttle to Patong centre left the hotel every half an hour, so at 1:30 we went down and waited....waited....before going to double check and finding out that yes, the bus does leave every half hour, except for 1:30 which is the driver's lunch time (maybe tell people that upon check in so as not to waste their time waiting?!?)
We went to the hotel's bar to have our welcome drink (disappointingly just an orange juice), and think we waited about 10 minutes to be served even though there were no other customers!
The hotel is a huge walk from the action of patong, we did it once and would not suggest doing this - get a tuk tuk, much more sensible in the Thai heat!
Very disappointing overall, would not recommend and would not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tashNjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is situated couple of miles away from the main market but is easily accessible by taxi or tuk tuk's. Hotel provides free shuttle service to the market and back.

You couldn't ask for a better location of the hotel. Just a main road seperates the hotel from the beach and there are many rooms facing the beach too. The staff is very friendly and speak in English too, which makes it even more easier to converse.

We had got all our 3 rooms facing the sea and the view was magnificent. Rooms were spacious and all of them had balconies to enjoy the view. Hotel has 2 set of buildings -- Sea facing rooms and pool facing rooms. Be sure to ask for sea facing room as pool facing rooms is towards the back of the main buidling and is totally cut off from the main road.

The facilities were pretty good out here too.. Pool is big enough.. Bar is well equipped and is also facing the sea.. They have a good and well equipped Spa..
We didnt really make use of restaurant apart from the breakfast. They have a good spread for breakfast and you would easily walk away giving 4 out of 5 stars for the food.

Would recommend this hotel for any kind of group and huge thumbs up for their service.. Worth every penny you pay.

Room Tip: Dont miss out on choosing sea facing rooms. Trust me, you wont regret it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 319 in Patong
641 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sawaddi Patong Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#50 of 319 in Patong
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Phuket Patong
ibis Phuket Patong
#52 of 319 in Patong
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#29 Spa Hotel in Patong
#35 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSET BEACH RESORT - The best value hotel located at the Quiet Beach Front in Patong Area, Phuket. Sunset Beach Resort is for those wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patongs main strip but close enough to visit it with a very short trip to the town center. Our hotel has many sea view rooms, a free form pool beach front restaurant and bar, FREE shuttle bus to Patong every 30 minutes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Patong
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Resort Phuket
Sunset Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing