We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel's Standard Rooms are terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We arrived at the Deevana Hotel on the 28th of June 2011 for our Honeymoon trip. This trip was booked by my sisters as a gift for our wedding so we had no idea what arrangements had been made.

I later found out that the room booked was a 'Standard Garden Room', and I also found out what that meant.

After searching on Trip Advisor, we saw it was a fantastic hotel and remained confident we were going to have a great stay. Unfortunately, when we arrived, we were in for a big surprise.

The staff were very friendly upon our arrival and didn't take long to give us the key to our room. They did tell us that we should return the key back every time we left the hotel, otherwise we would have to pay 3000 Bhat if we lose it!
The receptionist area is open and not air conditioned, so wether your inside or outside, its pretty much the same as its open toward the garden and you can’t sit there to ‘relax and cool down’ as they prepare your papers/room. We did receive a voucher for two free welcome drinks, which we never got to use…(keep reading!)
In any case, we started walking toward the room and saw the renovations that were taking place. Workers were carrying very old doors which obviously had been ripped from old rooms.

When we arrived to our room, we were really upset that the travel agency in Greece did not inform what a ‘Standard Room’ means. The room was a 15-20 year old room. The front door (entrance) was absolutely unsafe, the type you find in old buildings with a circular knob and a button in the middle which was the lock. To provide additional protection, they added a cheap sliding lock which didn’t really do much. If someone wanted to break into the room, it was an easy task as the door didn’t provide much protection than that of an internal room door.

The bed sheets were clean, however the decoration around the lower body of the bed was dirty and despite the brown colour, you could easily see the dirt marks. The bed mattress was extremely hard and felt like thousands of people had slept on it before - surely you wouldn't get a good night's sleep on it and it didn’t give the feeling of a nice clean bed, despite the staff’s efforts to decorate it for our arrival.

The Bathroom was clean, however it was old. The room’s furnishes were also old with a lot of signs of damage and wear throughout the years. Also, the thongs provided for the swimming pool were not brand new.

The seats outside our room were old standard white-plastic seats, which too were dirty.
We stayed just around 20 minutes in the room and after recovering from our shock, we went to the reception and asked to be upgraded to their best room. Unfortunately, there were no other rooms, so we checked out from the hotel, despite the fact we had 5 nights prepaid. I personally couldn’t care less about losing the money, as the experience was an absolute killer.

We did notice that the initial staff wasn’t so friendly in their response to our problem, especially when we told them we wanted to leave the hotel. We purchased an hour’s worth of Internet access (yes, they Charge you for Internet Access!!) in order to start researching on Trip Advisor and decided to go for the Marriot Courtyard Hotel. One lady at the receptionist later on did provide some information to help us choose between two hotels we selected.

In short, if you’re a backpacker and don’t care too much about hotel room luxuries, the hotel’s standard room are pretty much ok, but I wouldn’t dare recommend it for couples or people who don’t mind paying a bit more to get that higher-quality experience.

Overall, a major disappointment with their standard rooms and some problematic staff at the reception. We also disliked the idea of having to pay for Internet access, especially after the problems we encountered with our room.

Room Tip: Standard rooms only for backpackers.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cpartsenidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,842)
There are newer reviews for Deevana Patong Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,699 - 2,705 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Deevana for 2 nights and it was just fantastic. The cute elephant greeting us on the bed, the lovely view of the pool from our room, and the gorgeous bathtub with the foldable windows that let you watch TV while having a soak - it was just the cherry on the cake!

Also, from 5pm they have a buy one free one cocktail special at the pool bar which was great. When we checked out, we found out that they have shuttle buses to Phuket Town so we did that and it was hilarious riding in the back of a truck - ala military style. The staff don't speak very good English, but they were polite and helpful - certainly a lot better than most Thais we encountered on the streets. Will definitely be back!

Likes : Cleanliness, view, breakfast was ok, lots of choices.
Downsides : Bed was a bit hard, but after a while we got used to it. The welcome drink was a horrid guava cordial, I wish I didn't bother with it.

Room Tip: Forget the Garden Wing and get the Spa Wing!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AccordingtoAlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

What I liked
- the free upgrade from garden wing to superior spa wing
- the spacious, clean room, with an elephant folded from towels on the bed to greet us
- the view of the balcony facing the swimming pools
- the location which is 100 meters away from the main Patong road, which gives it a more enclosed peaceful vibe.
- the free birthday cake which was prepared (even without us informing them!)
- the airport transfer was punctual, and the van was big and comfortable
- staffs are on most occasion friendly and can understand and speak English.
- 15 minutes slow walk to the beach, as well as various shops, restaurants, clubs, and food carts.
- the free massage that was part of the package we booked.
- they provided a room for us to bathe in and freshen up after we checked out since our flight was later in the evening.

What can be improved
- the lack of variety for breakfast buffet (had mostly the same dishes for the 4 days we were there).
- they forgot to housekeep our room for one of the days we were there.
- No free internet.
- the swimming pool water was a little murky

Room Tip: Book the Spa Wing. Ask for possible upgrade!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JiaShiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Our booking was upgraded from standard room to spa wing room without any charges. Price are reasonable.

Located 15-20min away from Patong Beach, Night Market. You can found restaurant, food stall, massage within minutes walk.
Airport transfer provided.

All of us was satisfied with the room, clean, spacious and great pool view.

Staff were friendly, able to speak fluent English. No communication barrier found.

Overall, we are satisfied and the stayed above our expectation. Definitely we will return in future.

Room Tip: Price is cheaper if you book directly from hotel
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinie2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The rooms at this hotel were what I would expect from a budget hotel but we werent paying budget hotel prices. The food wasnt very good at the restaurant upstairs. We had quite a long walk to get to the main building where the main pool was. I personally would not recommend this place and wish I had known about the rooms and restaurant before I had booked the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a magnificent stay. We loved every moment of it. Checking in was a breeze! Our room was basic, but everything we needed and so very, very tidy and clean. The staff was so proffesional and all very friendly. Their English is sometimes a bit shaky, but they can communicate with you and they understand you perfectly well. The hotel grounds are lovely and lush. What a magnificent POOL and Pool Bar!!! Loved it!! The breakfast was devine and abundand. Also it's served till 10h30 so you can even sleep in and still get fresh breakfast at the hotel - how convenient. The hotel is perfectly located and we walk from there to most of the places (beach, markets, mall, etc). It is off the main road so you can enjoy the nightlife, but still get a good nights sleep. It's quiet and peaceful, yet you are not far away for a night out. There are plenty of massage palours in the vacinity and all of them are open till late every day. We loved the convenient location of this hotel. We stayed for 9 days so we had to have laundry done, we did not use the hotels facilities as we could get away cheaper. :-) We used the lady, just as you walk through the hotel's gate on the the left hand side (it's in the same row as the family mart and that little German restuarant). She is very profecient and we loved the way our clothes smelled when we got it back. We loved every moment of staying at Deevana. We had a fantastic stay and we will definitely go back. Just on closing out; we had the most devine pancakes from a streetvendor everyday. She is located just outside the gate of the hotel. (see pic of her attached) She is there everyday from 6pm till very late. I highly recommend trying one of her pancakes.
We highly recommend this hotel for a honeymoon, a family trip, a friends get away or just any stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this Hotel for 9 days. From the moment I arrived from a long flight from Kenya, they were accommodating, friendly and remained that way until the day we left. Even got a kiss and hug from the reception ladies when I left. I had a motorbike accident while I was there and everyday I got asked how I was I feeling. The bell boys are helpful and always smiling. I always enjoyed my walk through the massive reception area and greeted by all the workers with a smile. The hotel is massive and I do recommend the spa wing over the garden wing.

The room was clean and got cleaned very well on a daily basis. Cooling system was adequate and our pool view room was a nice spot. Room service menu is not of huge varierty but always very fast. Bottled water given every day.

It is a bit of a walk to Bangla Road, not far enough to stop you from walking, and that just means more time to soak up the atmosphere and find some good little restaraunts and bars on the way.

breakfast had a huge variery of all different foods which would accomodate most nationalaties.

the spa at the end of the road was amazing! we got facials and massages done there, and paying the extra money was well worth it!

All in all, this was my 3rd trip to Patong and the Deevana confirmed why I keep going back there to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tahliaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 328 in Patong
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
6.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 328 in Patong
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deevana Patong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deevana Patong Resort & Spa

Address: 43/2 Raj-U Thid 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Spa Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#20 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $52 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deevana Patong Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa locates 200 metre from Patong Beach whilst has never been effected by tsunami and has been operating as usual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deevana Patong Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deevana Patong Resort And Spa
Deevana Patong Hotel Patong
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing