We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAR BETTER HOTELS IN PATONG!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #221 of 338 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Spent 14 nights here in April 2009. We booked a junior suite...which was large and well equipped, but extremely dark and smelled awful and dank. It may be because the suites are on the ground floor which get virtually no natural light.
Mozzies abound here!
Location is superb, right on the beach and 100m from Bangla road.
Very quiet at night.
Staff not particularly helpful!
Bar prices and mini bar are excessively high!
The only hotel in Patong that charges for internet!!!
We moved to the Yorkshire Inn and stayed in their White Rose Suites (Leybourne suite).....much cheaper and by far a nicer hotel with lots of amenities (large pool, pool bar, sauna, steam room, start of the art gym, free wifi ...all included in the price of your stay!)
The Garden Bay hotel is okay, but pricey for what it offers....and too many kids about!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OHOOLIGANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 416 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

best location with beach front and very reasonable price. Most of the hotels in phuket , you will cross the road to get into the beach. With this hotel the beach is just infront of you right after the pool. Big rooms but small lobby with wifi but with charge for 100 batt an hour kinda expensive. Just be careful with towels and slippers. they will give you separate towels for the pool the blue one we forgot the towel on the sunbed of the pool and they charged us for that. Just be sure that you will bring the towel again in your room same with slippers. I thought that if we leave the towels and slippers within the hotel premises the housekeeping will just get it! other than thhat the hotel is perfect especially the location

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I have no complaints at all. I reserved a beach front room, and it really made my holiday, as I was able to watch the sunset at night while throwing down a couple of gin & tonics. My double doors opened onto the beach and a private sitting area. Service was very good and all staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was a buffet style and was fine. Rooms are clean, airconditioner worked well and WiFi service good.
Numerous excellent restaurants a step away, as was the nightlife. If you want 5 star, then go waste your money somewhere else..BUT if you want deffinate value for your bucks, then this is the place..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vivehodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I Stayed at this hotel for 3nts/4Days.The Propery was more than average.Its actually on Beach.Bangla Beach is at waking distance.Food was okk.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CALLINGYOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I was worried that this was going to be a mistake - right on the beach, good facilities and all for a bargain price of under $900 Australian for 8 nights including breakfast - are you kidding?? I had nothing to worry about - it is a little gem. Don't get me wrong, the place has its faults, but none worth worrying about.

First the Bad:
The lobby is airless and gets stinking hot, even first thing in the morning, but there aren't many reasons to spend any time there apart from waiting for tour buses to pick you up or checkin/out (which thankfully is quick).
They were overboooked and didn't have our chosen room available when we checked in, so they gave us a room upgrade (I hear this happens a lot in Phuket and is certainly not restricted to this hotel) - but only for one night which was a pain in the [--]. Made worse by the fact that we had a day trip booked for the next day and they needed to move us at around 2pm - which of course meant we had to have our stuff packed up before we went. That said, I'm glad we got moved - the new room was better than the supposed upgrade!
There was a bit of renovation/maintenance going on at the hotel, which was a bit noisy at times, but it was restricted to during the day so didn't really cause any problems.

Now for the good:
The room we booked and ended up in was a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was huge and the bed was so big and comfortable I had the best week of sleep I can remember. The room itself was clean and well maintained with a kettle, phone, radio, TV with on-demand (slightly dated) movies, wireless internet and a mini bar that had enough room for us to store our own grog. There was a small safe in the room too, but it wasn't attached to anything.
We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was consistently good and served pretty much on the beach, under the shade of pandanus trees - what a great way to start your day! I hear the food is good at their restaurant, but a bit pricey (it is on the beach though).
The staff were delightful, always smiling and polite and so freindly and helpful
The pool is closed for cleaning every night at 7pm, so nice clean water and no drunken yahoos in the pool at midnight
The location couldn't be better. One side of the hotel opens out onto the beach, with everything you might want available right in front of the hotel. The other side puts you virtually at the end of Bangla Road with more restaurants, bars, clubs and ladyboys than you can shake your fake rolex at. But even with all that so close, it isn't a noisy hotel - I have heard that the 'town view' rooms are bit noisier, but we could barely hear anything from our balcony and nothing from within the room
There is a very polite and not at all pushy tailor in the foyer of the hotel, along with a tour booking service and for 300THB you can spend an hour down on the beach having your body mangled, twisted and mauled by the hotel's masseuses.
If you are looking for club med, this is not the place for you, but if you want somewhere that is unpretentious, comfortable and close to everything, look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoMuch2CSoLittleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November 2008 and had a great time. I was a little hesitant at first because the price seemed too good, but the hotel/rooms were very clean (I have bug phobias and was totally fine!) and the free breakfast (on the beach!) was great. It's not for picky people used to fancy hotels, but it was perfect in comfort, cleanliness and location for me and my boyfriend (we are professionals in our 30's and live in Los Angeles). I wouldn't recommend it for some of my snootier friends though, since it doesn't have that air of sophistication, fancy towels/toiletries or people waiting on you non-stop. The only problem we had was with our shower (it stopped working one day during our stay) but they came and fixed it immediately. Oh, and we HIGHLY recommend the restaurant Dang, on Rat Uthit road just a few blocks away from this hotel. We ate there twice during our stay. So cheap and so good!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllenLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Patong Bay Garden Resort is perfect if you want to be close by to all the acion of Patong and still be on the beach!

The location of the hotel was perfect for us and it was easily the best quality hotel situated along the beach.

Standard rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. If you have room 2133, do not expect to get great views - the balcony looks on to the roof of the lobby building!

Breakfast was basic but all the usual staples were on offer so everyone could have something.

Staff were polite and helpful on the whole, however, it took 20 minutes for us to check out, which meant we were almost late for our connection.

On the whole, I would thouroughly reccomend the Patong Bay Garden Resort and would stay there again if I ever return to Patong.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ST1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#180 of 338 in Patong
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 338 in Patong
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#14 of 338 in Patong
1,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Patong Swiss Hotel
Patong Swiss Hotel
#289 of 338 in Patong
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#66 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $1,199 - $1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing