We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location... but that's it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #185 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I chose this hotel for the location. It is in desperate need of a renovation. If they updated the facilities it would easily be one of the best hotels in Patong. I found many roaches in my room which was located upstairs. I also encountered a rat running around in the upstairs hallway (hotel is outdoors like many in Thailand). This all occurred at 3am after a night out. I called the staff about the problem. The staff was very apologetic and upgraded me to a room downstairs by the pool. I had no further problems and was very pleased with the customer service.

The facilities are very old, and the rooms worn. Aside from that, I liked the price, location, and the employees. For the price, not a bad value, but I would probably look for a newer property next time I'm in Patong.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the bottom floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 148abel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 415 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is great, located on the beach. It has an excellent swimming pool. The breakfast provided was good. There was a bar counter but it is almost empty due to lack of atmosphere and ambience. It was very clean and good to relax. However, the room itself (Baht. 6,500) is a bit of far-fetched. The bathroom was very run down with dirty shower curtains - stains all the top and sides. The wash basin was like an average household unit with white glazed tiles, bad workmanship with the lining cement overflowing the tiles. The shower unit is no less than a cheap motel. The whole bathroom is a downgrader to the whole hotel.
They only give one internet ID to be shared with 2 pax. We had 2 PCs, 2 tablets, 2 hps. and it was not enough. Even after log out, you still cannot to another gadget - it says you are connected and login already. The reception refused to give another login id and insist that I logout and sign in to another gadget. After 2 days' of lamenting to the reception, they finally gave me another id. I REGRET STAYING IN THIS HOTEL. SHOULD HAVE BOOKED A CHEAP HOSTEL near Junceylon where internet is free for all - no limit.
I don't think I will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you going to laze on the beach all your trip, go for it. If not, if you are a techie savy...keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been staying in Patong Bay for 16 days. Friendly and very pleasant place. Beach was in half minutes from room. A little bit noisy from street, we had a street view room, but after couple of night we stop noticed that noise, and it became part of our life for that time. On the street a lot of tuk-tuk, (:)) massage, shops, taxi, foods. Basically food is everywhere! And you have to get use to see and say " no thank you" every second step. But that was fun!

Room Tip: If you want to get a quiet room, choose with ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

(+) Location, Location, Location.
(+) Beachside Restaurant & Bar
(-) Rooms are tired and worn
(-) Staff don’t give you a warm glow

My wife and I stayed here in 2008, so thought we’d stay here again in Jan 2014. The location is brilliant; on the beach and a couple of minutes from the Bangla Road nightlife.
The location is still brilliant but the hotel experience, although OK, could be a lot better.
On the plus side it has a nice pool, right on the beach; a restaurant and bar serving nice food, right on the beach and massage tents, right on the beach.
However…
The rooms are in desperate need of a complete refit, looking very, very worn and dated.
The staff, although they do their jobs, look demoralised and go through the motions of hospitality rather than exude it.
If it was up to me, I’d get rid of the owner/management as they are wasting a fantastic opportunity for what could be a fantastic hotel, by not keeping up with the times, spending some money and enthusing their staff.
Would we stay here again? I think we’d probably look for a hotel down the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is Just beside the Patong beach

The hotel is near to the centre of nightlife

which is Bangla road.

Every morning you will have your Breakfast at beach.

Hotel Rooms are compact but nice.

Wifi

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMaungKoThet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights before heading off to Phi Phi island. This is not a fancy hotel but clean and good value for money because it has a good location, being in the centre of nightlife but right on the beachfront - which I prize above all. The staff were friendly and the food good. Even though I had read reviews about time-share (or similar scheme) sales people being overly zealous at this hotel I did not get hassled by them but did notice the hard sell being put on others-to me that is a definite turn off and the managers or owners of the hotel should take note of the many comments about this on line. Despite that- being forewarned is to be forearmed and would still recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from street side as it can be noisy- near to the nightlife- I actually used e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and only wished that it was longer. The hotel is situated right on the beach so did not hear any street noise which was good. The only downside to a beach/pool room was while we were staying there was a festival and fireworks would go off every 30 minutes or so and they were very load. The staff were really lovely and extremely helpful (particularly the girls working the breakfast shift). The buffet breakfast (which was included) was very good. The hotel has everything you could probably want but not a gym (but I am holidays to walking on the beach was a much more pleasant thing to do than being stuck in a A/C gym). If I have any critisim at all the air conditioner in our room was just too cold and we had trouble adjusting it and we did have to get maintenance to come and adjust it. They offer free WiFi which I found to be very good and we could even get free WiFi on the beach which was great. Would I stay here again - in a heartbeat. Would I recomment this hotel to friends and family - of course I would.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#166 of 329 in Patong
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 329 in Patong
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#50 of 329 in Patong
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 329 in Patong
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#63 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $1,116 - $1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing