We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #190 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been staying in Patong Bay for 16 days. Friendly and very pleasant place. Beach was in half minutes from room. A little bit noisy from street, we had a street view room, but after couple of night we stop noticed that noise, and it became part of our life for that time. On the street a lot of tuk-tuk, (:)) massage, shops, taxi, foods. Basically food is everywhere! And you have to get use to see and say " no thank you" every second step. But that was fun!

Room Tip: If you want to get a quiet room, choose with ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 415 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

(+) Location, Location, Location.
(+) Beachside Restaurant & Bar
(-) Rooms are tired and worn
(-) Staff don’t give you a warm glow

My wife and I stayed here in 2008, so thought we’d stay here again in Jan 2014. The location is brilliant; on the beach and a couple of minutes from the Bangla Road nightlife.
The location is still brilliant but the hotel experience, although OK, could be a lot better.
On the plus side it has a nice pool, right on the beach; a restaurant and bar serving nice food, right on the beach and massage tents, right on the beach.
However…
The rooms are in desperate need of a complete refit, looking very, very worn and dated.
The staff, although they do their jobs, look demoralised and go through the motions of hospitality rather than exude it.
If it was up to me, I’d get rid of the owner/management as they are wasting a fantastic opportunity for what could be a fantastic hotel, by not keeping up with the times, spending some money and enthusing their staff.
Would we stay here again? I think we’d probably look for a hotel down the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is Just beside the Patong beach

The hotel is near to the centre of nightlife

which is Bangla road.

Every morning you will have your Breakfast at beach.

Hotel Rooms are compact but nice.

Wifi

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMaungKoThet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights before heading off to Phi Phi island. This is not a fancy hotel but clean and good value for money because it has a good location, being in the centre of nightlife but right on the beachfront - which I prize above all. The staff were friendly and the food good. Even though I had read reviews about time-share (or similar scheme) sales people being overly zealous at this hotel I did not get hassled by them but did notice the hard sell being put on others-to me that is a definite turn off and the managers or owners of the hotel should take note of the many comments about this on line. Despite that- being forewarned is to be forearmed and would still recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from street side as it can be noisy- near to the nightlife- I actually used e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and only wished that it was longer. The hotel is situated right on the beach so did not hear any street noise which was good. The only downside to a beach/pool room was while we were staying there was a festival and fireworks would go off every 30 minutes or so and they were very load. The staff were really lovely and extremely helpful (particularly the girls working the breakfast shift). The buffet breakfast (which was included) was very good. The hotel has everything you could probably want but not a gym (but I am holidays to walking on the beach was a much more pleasant thing to do than being stuck in a A/C gym). If I have any critisim at all the air conditioner in our room was just too cold and we had trouble adjusting it and we did have to get maintenance to come and adjust it. They offer free WiFi which I found to be very good and we could even get free WiFi on the beach which was great. Would I stay here again - in a heartbeat. Would I recomment this hotel to friends and family - of course I would.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've stayed here several times before. They haven't done any renovations on the place at all except for maybe changing the TV's to flat panels. Overall, I wouldn't really change much, but the antiquated box spring and mattresses gotta go!

It's a great location, but with it's caveats. Depending on room location it could get pretty loud secondary to it's location of Bangla rd. But if you overlook that or get a room facing the beach you'll be sitting pretty. The seaside view is gorgeous.

The bar on the beach is unnecessarily pricey. The front desk staff are fine, but the breakfast staff seemed miserable each time we had our breakfast. No smiles, but the impression that we were interrupting them. They really need some work there.

There was a steady stream of outsiders while we were at the poolside of folks being paraded in and out of the hotel because of a vacation resort package being offered by the hotel. The main lobby used to contain only one side independent business, but now has multiple business' rented out including a tailor, booking agent and the resort vacation package. Kinda of a drag. Increases non hotel guest traffic. I get the feeling that the hotel guest isn't the first priority.

The A/C was filthy in the room requiring my gf to ask the staff to come clean it.

The TV channels are good. Wifi is free for guests but it can be 1990's slow! The breakfast buffet included was good.

If you want to lay on the beach with umbrella and chair look at spending 150baht per! They're not associated with the hotel. I am pretty sure I was supposed to get one free day on arrival for this service, but when I inquired about this to the front desk they told me that it wasn't included.

Overall I would return but the prices are sky high during high season. I paid a steep price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My fiance and I visited Thailand this year end of June-July 2013 and we stayed at Patong Bay Garden. I have to tell that I picked this hotel reading a lots of reviews here and the location was the main reason we boocked and stayed here for 12 days. We were right!!! For the money we paid it was worth value and the location was great. First I should say that we saved a lot of money on tuc-tuc cause we stayed in the heart of Phuket so almost everyhtig is in a walking distance. Night life, most important. The hotel is right on the beach and it is beautiful. Not many places here have that location. Like every tourist we were trying to see as much as we can but to have rest and fun at the same time. The best way to see the island is to rent a motor bike which will cost you approximately $USD 5-6 per a day and you can rent a bike for a few days and have a chance to travel and see the island in your own arrangement. So we went to the big Buddha monument ( free entrance ), then Karon Beach, Karon View Point, small beaches all along the island. What I would not advise you to experience ( per our experience ) organized visit to Phi Phi island on the big catamaran. It was so bad that I do not want to talk about. We visited ZOO, the temples and one of the watefalls, from which to be honest I expected more. By the end of the trip we went to Bangkok but about that experience Ill say something more under the review of the hotel we stayed at. Ohhh one thing I have to mention about these freindy people. I left my Ipad on the plain in the seat pocket and after we reporterd that to Thai Airways it was delivered to us from Bangkok in the hotel we stayed in Phuket. We payed only for the cab ride from the Phuket airport to the hotel.
I can tell you more about how we did not know how many km is between Bangkok and Phuket and how did we find out about but which drives between two airports in Bangkok and how did we discover Air Asia :)

Nice trip:)

Room Tip: The room we booked faced to the pool at the bottom floor and that was perfect. There is a lot of hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#168 of 331 in Patong
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#37 of 331 in Patong
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#62 of 331 in Patong
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 331 in Patong
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#65 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $1,125 - $1,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing