We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location hotel, esp. when considering price! 15-19 August 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patong Bay Garden Resort
Ranked #190 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My Gf and I stayed in PBGR from 15th to 19th August, 2012 in the Andaman Studio (I think this is their best room). We were given 2nd floor right at the edge of the beach. The trees obscured most of the view, but also gave privacy from beach traffic (this is a large beach though!), so this was only a minor disappointment.

The room itself is large and well appointed, with individual aircon unit (not perfectly silent but didnt bother my Gf nor me), in room electronic safe,fridge and near new LCD TV. The decor is nicely quiet and conservative, but as per most of the hotel does need a renovation. The room has huge glass doors leading to a nice sized balcony with chairs and table overlooking the beach. Very relaxing. Wifi in the room does cost after the first hour (boooo!) and was patchy in my room (more boooo!) They have an internet room, again its charged. 100baht per hour for wither service. My room DID have international power points (I think Thailand is 220-240v).

The bathroom is similarly in need of renovation, but everything was clean and functioning. The towels are certainly not western sized, but they also have beach towels in the room (for use at the beach no less!! :) ) that could supplement the bathroom towels. Shower is bath, I liked the glass bricks in the bathroom allowing some natural light in too. Shower is as hot as you need, and doesn't require a ladder to climb in and out of, but as per most setups like this, its all too easy to flood the floor until you are used to that particular setup.

I read some comments on TA about the state of the hotel and the pool. Frankly for the cost, I cant see what the disappointment was about. I enjoyed the pool, its clean and very convenient. Like the rest of the hotel, it could use a little spruce up, but I wouldn't hesitate to use it over and over.

Location is fantastic! Everything is available on the doorstep. Feel like a walk on the beach, the sand touches the hotel. Swim in the pool, 10 seconds and your in it. Feel like a feed or drink, the hotel has a bar and resto out the back (with pretty good food and friendly staff), out front you've got an Italian resto at the door and cocktail car for nightcaps at the door! Want to arrange a tour, the ladies in the tour desk at front are very helpful with plenty of options, and the 2 Nepalese brothers in the tailor shop are very friendly, and wont stand in your way like the tailors outside do! For shopping, its everywhere. For nightlife, Bangla Rd is almost literally across the road! I think you can rent a scooter from the hotel if you like (although I did not). Most of the staff are easy to talk to and helpful. Night time was quiet, nothing really disturbed our sleep.

Bottom line, if you can ignore the real need for renovation, I doubt you could find a better value location in Patong with the same pluses. Should they renovate, maybe the value wouldn't be there as undoubtedly they would charge more.

Should I return to Patong, I will not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APD-AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. It fronts onto the beach unlike almost every other hotel in Patong. This provides a cooling breeze throughout the day. It is very close to Bangla Rd and all the shops, bars, restaurants etc etc.
The hotel needs some refurbishment - a coat of paint, repairs to the pool and new sun-loungers around the pool.
On balance I'd go back because of the location

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternDigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went there for a 4 days trip, a pretty nice hotel right besides the beach! Also very accessible to shopping and eating area. Celebrated some anniversary there, and they even provided us with a homemade cake. Nice service that they had!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iBaby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed for a 3-4 nights. The hotel is located in a great location - in the middle of the entertainment / shopping area of Phuket, with direct access to the beach. Older style hotel, rooms a little small, but very clean and no problems during our stay. Great breakfast in restaurant above beach looking towards ocean. By day relax by the pool, walk along the beach, or get a massage from the many options in the area. At night walk to any of the restaurants in the immediate vicinity. There is a small bar where you can relax after a night out, before returning to your room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Phuket has changed so much over the years and there are many tourists walking the footpaths at night. I found the time spent in Phuket was enough and it was time to travel to one of the islands to really relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Resort is Located just near Bangla road and on the beach
Positive points of the resort are
Location of the hotel is simply superb ,just near bangla road and on the beach
Breakfast on the beach area was fantastic experience
Staffs are very cooperative with helping attitude

Negative points of the resorts are:
Rooms and common areas needs immediate renovation
Spilt AC with lot of noise
swimming pool was not maintained like other resorts
rooms with old lock and key systems
Very old type resort
height of the room very less

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaurab68518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The deluxe balcony rooms are so relaxing and a good view to the beach and pool,eating breakfast with your toes in the sand has to be the best feeling,you know your on holidays.the staff are friendly and very helpful,an excellent breakfast menu and cool pool bar.medium price Rooms,no cheap prices,but it's the price you pay to be right on the beach,if you look at the other two hotels on the sand,you will be shocked by the prices,so in comparison it's a bargain.I always check in at the patong bay garden in case they have a special deal,especially in the green season they offer discounted days,,check it out..

Room Tip: Deluxe balcony or the suites are great if you get lucky try for the beach front studios or junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked four rooms and stayed three nights at Patong Bay Garden Resort. The reception staff said I did not pay for a deluxe room booked through booking com. I had to show them my American express bill to show that this room was paid.
Secondly, on check out the assistant manager insisted that we pay 500 baht for a stained towel. We thought that this was excessive as it was a second hand towel. Besides we have already paid for three room nites for four rooms and the hotel could be more gracious. Finally settled on 300 baht for the towel but left unhappy.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank sgcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#168 of 331 in Patong
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#37 of 331 in Patong
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#62 of 331 in Patong
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 331 in Patong
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Bay Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Bay Garden Resort

Address: 33/1 Thaweewongse Road, Patong Beach | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#65 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $1,125 - $1,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Bay Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Within A Jewel!The delightful Patong Bay Garden Resort is a family owned and operated hotel located directly on the shimmering white sands of the world famous Patong Bay, Phuket. Known as the Jewel of the Andaman Sea, Phuket is a world class destination offering a dynamic and vibrant holiday in one of Asia's premier locations. As one of a select few hotels with direct access to the beautiful beach, the Patong Bay Garden resort is an ideal destination for those seeking a relaxing holiday of Sun, Sand and Sea, truly a jewel within a jewel!The Resort offers a full range of facilities and activities which blend seamlessly with the renowned Thai charm and hospitality to ensure a peaceful and memorable stay The 71 charming and affordable rooms offer a range of categories and styles to meet the varied requirements of modern international travelers, both families and couples alike, in a captivating and welcoming setting.Away from the beach, the location of the Resort offers easy, unhindered access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment areas which make Patong such a popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Patong Bay Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patong Bay Garden Hotel Patong
Patong Bay Garden Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing