We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sanctuary, central to Patong Beach, Bangla Road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #91 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great Location, Great Pools, Friendly Service
I found the Resort to be very nice, the staffs were friendly and efficient, the breakfast was a very good spread.
The shower and facilities were good, nice bed nice balcony, good TV.
On the downside the fridge is tiny and packed with items for sale so if you are staying for a few days it becomes painful.
The air conditioner would not cool the room, I complained 3 times to no result.
The Wi-Fi was free, but it was so slow I ended up using Phone data instead.
The area in general is very nice, but so commercial, that it leaves a bad taste in your mouth.
Just about everything here has a scam involved such as tour prices or transport to and from the airport.
We paid for a shuttle 180baht each, from Phuket Airport to the Resort.
The Shuttle pulls into an office and they make out that they have to check our tickets, but they are really trying to milk naive tourists with over priced tours or second rate hotels, they got me the first
time I came her,,, so be warned.
For the tours to the island, I would inquire about the speedboat, otherwise nearly 4 hours of your day is taken up just getting to and from the attraction
Otherwise enjoy ;)

Room Tip: I think the room locations were equal, ask for a low floor if you don't like steps, ask for a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear LeonBloke

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay with us. It is really wonderful to be recognized as a great location, great pools and friendly Service.

You feedback about the condition of the air- con and Wi-Fi has been note and we will look at addressing all we can make improvement.

We are looking forward to sever you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at Thara Patong for the first time with my wife. Booked through my company’s travel agent, It was reviewed and categorized as almost a 5star hotel but upon reaching there we came to know it was not. It would be near to 4star category only.
The plus point of this hotel is, it is located very close to the local market, the Patong beach and the party street Bangla Road.
We were late when we reached hotel as there was some goofup at the airport pickup and some accident happened at entry road of Phuket. However the taxi driver was nice and polite and made us comfortable. Thara Patong’s staff was good and receptive, not very classy or so, it offers simple living with comfortable rooms. We had our room closer to the back gate which opened to beach and the Bangla road.(closes down by midnight)

The balcony opens up to the pool area, but not a view which you would expect. We were not in the room for evenings and were outside so not much idea if there were some dance or music during dinner time. And forgot to mention, they charge 75THB for ice to be served in the room.
The breakfast was pretty average, not the type we had on our whole trip. The service staff was below average and once during breakfast when one of the guests asked for spoon, the waiter took it from our table and gave it away while my wife was at the table and I was waiting at omelets counter.
The only good thing about the hotel is proximity to the market, which made almost every item accessible. Most of our refreshments and occasional drinks came from seven-eleven. Its an average hotel and I would recommend if you are looking for a decent hotel with closeness to major attractions esp Patong area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alok_HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Alok

Thank you for sharing you holiday experience and it is our pleasure to have you with us.

Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is 4 stars hotel located by Patong Beach and close to shopping and nightlife areas.

All your comments were shared to our management in order to improve our facilities and service. However our resort is on renovation now and we will perform better for you next visit
And also we have reminded our staffs at the restaurant and provide more training for improvement.

Once again, thank you for recommending us. We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at thara resort in patong for 7 nights and as soon as we got there we were offered an upgrade to a premier room, but got to the room and it was dated and old not what we originally booked which looked way better in comparison. The beds were hard as hell. Went down to ask for the king bed sized room we originally booked turns out they didn't even have those rooms available. Throughout the week the air conditioning broke which made a very uncomfortable sleep! The mini bar was never restocked. We had breakfast included but my golly definitely not the quality which was described in the reviews. Overall the pictures on the hotel sites are not accurate it is old and needs renovations. Was not happy. :(

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Poppy B

Greeting from Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa and thank you for taking time to review our resort. I am sorry to read your comments that you have been disappointed your stay.

Our breakfast has been praised by almost every guest who stay with us. However we do take your feedback and look at wrong of improving.

As past of our continued effort in maintaining our facilities, you may travel part of our room and lobby are now under renovation. A new design lobby will open in August.

We have shared all you comments with the management team and will look at addressing all we can make improvement.

Best regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms were nice, clean and air conditioned. The pools are nice. The hotel is in walking distance from (party) Bangla Road. There was no elevator. Although they promote that they have a concierge, they do not,and when we asked if they could give us an average price of a bus trip to a certain destination we were told the best they could do was to call us a taxi which will take us to the bus terminal where we can find out ourselves. We also watched the bartender take the used pineapple from someone else's cocktail, rinse it and reuse it. If you purchase food or drink on the property it is 3 times the price of anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horton777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Horton777

Thank you for your review. We feel sorry to your experience you mentioned during the stay.

We don’t have hotel concierge only I-Max Tour which is located at our resort lobby.

Your comment on bartender, we appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention for further improvement. Our F&B Manager has spoken to the person involved and collects the process.

Once again, thank you to stay with us. We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Thara Patong was exactly what I was searching for in my stay in Phuket. It is perfect location for getting around Phuket's busy area, Bangla Road, and right near the beach. The room was spacious and clean, and also had a great shower. The hotel staff is very pleasant, and the WIFI worked great. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst.Manager. at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Trish

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay with us.

It is really wonderful to be recognized as a perfect location. We are happy to note that we could live up to your expectation. Your comments on our team and wifi working great are much appreciated.

We are looking forward to sever you again in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at Thara Patong twice and there was a great reason for a repeat choice. It is located perfectly close to the market, the beach and the infamous Bangla Road. It is definately not one of those VERY MODERN kind of hotels you would probably find in cities such as bangkok, but it is what it is supposed to be, a relaxing, serene resort kinda place you would want in Phuket. The hotel is pretty big with two swimming pools, which are equally great. The SPA is something everyone who stays here should try. They are great professionals and this is where you would experiene good thai massage.

The staff is very good. You can actually sit with them and have a chit chat and they they will be all cool..

As for the rooms, the balcony opens up to the pool area, but some of the room, has a restaurant and a live music session playing on the other side hence gets a little noisy from late evenings.
Incase you dont like this noise, make sure you ask for the room which is on your LEFT while entering from the front enterance (the back enterance opens up towards the beach, but closes down at night)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alimemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Alimemon

Thank you for your review for great value in a great location and choosing to spend your holiday with us.

We are glad that you stay was relaxing one and enjoyed many of our offering.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comment. We are looking forward to have you with us again in the nearest future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need any assistance with the booking for your next visit.

Warmest Regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a reunion trip with my friends here and the place is close to beach. The room were spacious overall will recommend this hotel if you want to be close to night life & beach.

The breakfast included was good as well :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartik003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Kartik

Thank you for your recommending and sharing positive feedback with your experienced.

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Our resort is located in the heart of Patong Beach. The beach is across the road in 2-3 minutes walking distance. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards.
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#77 of 331 in Patong
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 331 in Patong
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#122 of 331 in Patong
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Phuket Deevana
Ramada Phuket Deevana
#14 of 331 in Patong
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#34 Family Hotel in Patong
#43 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $94 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing