We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Thailand visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Thailand visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first but won't be our last visit to Thailand. Unfortunately for us we landed in the middle of the wet season that was unseasonally wet and experienced very heavy rains that caused major flooding in the streets. While inconvenient the water does drain quickly and life returns to normal soon afterwards. The Thara Resort was central to the main tourist centre of Patong and most areas/restaurants are accessible by a short walk or cheap Tuk-Tuk ride. Be warned this area is a "tourist trap" and a walk will have you subjected to offers of massages, suits and all the other street vendor approaches. As for the Thara, it was clean, well serviced, friendly staff and value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear, Craig Z

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review. It certainly sound like you had a wonderful experience at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your refreshing comments.

we are looking forward to welcome you stay with us again.

With Best Regards
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    280
    91
    23
    30
See reviews for
139
226
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice location and facilities look like it holds promise but atrocious staff. The receptionist was always frowning and when we forgot to print our booking sheet of hotels.com, all she kept repeating at us was "give paper, give paper" is a repeatedly annoyed voice! The room was not checked before we arrived and the air conditioning was leaking, as well as not cold! We had to change rooms in the middle of the night as a result. Breakfast was equally disappointing with staff that were unfriendly and looked more like we were annoying them than they were helping. The spread was poor and even when the toaster had a bread jammed inside no one reacted for a full 10 minutes!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear, Vincent C

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave your comment, please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenience while you staying with us.

i would like to explain about voucher paper as you mentioned it is the responsibility for the staff of the front desk to take for the guest to make sure about hotel confirmation. i do apologize that disturbing you.

You feed back about the condition of the room and breakfast has been noted and we will focus to improve for future guest.

once again, thank you for your for comment it is important to us to continue to improve our facilities and service. We hope to serve you again and we will make every effort to see this never happen again.

With Best regards
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If your looking to stay close to Bangla Road and Patong Beach long term then this is the place for you. The hotel is a short walk to both of these locations. The staff were really friendly upon check-in and they even upgraded us to a deluxe room for free. We only stayed for 1 night as we wanted to check out Patong so did not get to use facilities. There are lot's of pools and looks like a good place for a family to stay. The room was comfortable and had standard hotel amenities however we jumped into bed that night which was full of sand...we had not been to the beach. Expect to hear rowdy people arriving home at all hours of th morning as it is close to Bangla. Can hear noise from the street in the corridors but not so much in the room itself. We had an early flight and missed out on our buffet breakfast so they gave us a breakfast box...a stale sanga, hard boiled egg, satchet of ketchup, green mandarin and a milk box. Although I am not a fan of the Patong area, I would recommend this hotel for those wishing to stay in Patong based on its value for money.

Room Tip: If you are planning on lazing by the pool, try to get a deluxe room as they have doors that open out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koota90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Koota90

Thank you for sharing your heavenly stay experience with other travellers on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa and we made your stay pleasurable.

You comment has been shares to our team and we will continute our effort to provide more wonderful memories for the future guest.

We much pleasure to serve you again in the nearest future.

With Best Regards,
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights, a long stay in one spot for us, but were very satisfied with the choice. I chose this resort because of its position, very central, walking distance to Jung Ceylon, Bangla Rd and my husband's dental clinic ! It is across the road from the beach and close to hundreds of restaurants and trillions of shops. The resort had a few pools and a few restaurants. Breakfast is very good, has a great range of different foods but not good coffee. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms very comfortable. I chose a pool access room - the only way to go !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoTharaPatong, Duty Asst. Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear CCChury

Thank you for you review. It is wonderful to hear your stay experience was a relaxing one and you enjoyed many of our offerings including service from our team.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed everything from facilities we provide. Thank you for sharing your comments about our pool and our breakfast variety.

Once Again, I truly appreciate for your feedback. We looking forward to welcome you back again to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

With Best Regards
Pakjeera Nantachai
Duty Asst. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Phuket and we had 6 fabulous nights in Thara Patong Resort.
Upon our arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who made us feel very welcome. We were promptly given the keys to our room Which was spotless and well stocked with complimentary toiletries and have great balcony overlooking the pools and tropical gardens. Free WiFi had no trouble at all getting connected with our iPads. The room is very comfortable, quiet and well set out. The shower in our bathroom could easily fit a family in one go. The air condition was quiet and worked very well. We certainly felt like valued guests.
The Hotel is ideally located with a 2 min walk from our room to the Beach, a 2 min walk to shops, Tuk Tuks and 3 min walk to 7-11 stores. Well stocked pharmacies nearby. It is quiet and suitable for families or couples and for party goers with the famous Bangla Road a 5 min walk. Outside it is a hustle n bustle, but within the Hotel grounds is like an oasis. Lush tropical grounds surround the 3 pools, plenty of sun lounges available.
We ate lunch a couple of times at the Poolside Bar. Excellent value!
The breakfast selection was great, plenty of crispy bacon, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruits, cereals, pancakes, tomatoes, sausages, plenty of Asian style dishes, fruit juice, good selection of breads, etc. Coffee was strong and hot.
The tropical gardens and sparkling pools are a real credit to the staff who were always busy behind the scenes, ensuring the resort grounds and pools were spotless. They all seemed to be happy and always returned a smile with smile. We would gladly recommend this hotel to our colleagues and rate it 9 out of 10!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband & I visited Thara Patong Resort earlier this year and loved the resort for many reasons including the extra friendly and ever helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. The highlight however was the nightly entertainment (John Phucket & Annie). We loved seeing them every night and listening to and on many occasions joining them on stage! We stayed at Thara Patong for 3 weeks and we made sure we were front & centre every single night. Annie & John are both super fun & professional, so much so, that we ate at hotel every night just to see them. Hopefully they are still there when we go back and stay at Thara Patong as these two entertainers made the resort special!

Room Tip: Suites with pool access are best - very relaxing to be able to sit in your own little patch of parad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in Sep 13. I arrived at 10pm and even though checking was quick, the receptionist forgot to program the room key card. On arrival at the room (second floor) the card wouldn't work, lucky the porter made a quick dash back to reception and the problem was fixed. The room smelt a little mouldy, but this quickly disappeared once the air-conditioner was turned on. The room was a good size, huge bed, ok bathroom with a large walk in shower (no bath tub) and a balcony. I loved the hotel grounds, the open space, 2 pools (including kids pool) with plenty of sun lounges to lazy around on, hotel spa facilities as well as a reasonably priced out door massage hut. The only disappointment was the breakfast, it has a limited selection and the service is poor. The location of the hotel is great, it's a short 5 min walk to Bangla Rd, the beach is 2 mins away and a very small convenient store is right next door to the rear exit. For the price that I paid, the great pools and the amazing location I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#56 of 322 in Patong
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#65 of 322 in Patong
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 322 in Patong
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 322 in Patong
1,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
Araya Beach Hotel Patong
#95 of 322 in Patong
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#35 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing