We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed December 1, 2012

First of all this hotel is not on the beach (as name says which can be confusing), you'll have to walk quite a bit to get to the beach. Hotel management has hard time understanding English and their services are awful. If you ask for some instant coffee supply for the room they'll come with coffee from the restaurant. Room service won't respond if it is late hours, I'm talking about 8PM .. not late night. You won't find manager to talk to on late hours as well.
Bathroom is tiny compare to 4 star standard, both room and bathroom has a feel of old and shabbiness. You'll see back of some stores if you are on the north wing. This hotel is not at all kept in good shape of a 4 star hotel. This is not worth the money you'll spend on this hotel. There're tons of better alternatives close to Bangla road and Patong beach. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mak00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear mak00,
Thank you for coming to stay with us at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, and also taking time to share your experience on The TripAdvisor.
First, I would like to explain that we have mentions about our location at the first at our website and many other of our agent’s website too but we didn’t means that we are on the beach, and your comment about the English communication, I sincerely sorry about that but we will hiring more English speaking staff to serve our valued customers.
I’m the Duty Manager that works from 2pm until 11pm every day except a day of my weekly day off, I will certainly help to solve any problems from the guests but I haven’t received any from you, anyhow we sincerely apologize for what was miss understanding and any inconvenience that during your stay at our resort.
With best regards,
Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my first ever review of anything so I may go into too much depth. I give a lot of credence to the reviews on Trip Advisor.
For our third trip to Patong in Thailand we wanted to relax, eat, drink and of course SHOP!!! My wife does that better than I do and this is probably true with most husband and wife partnerships. On the previous two occasions, we stayed out of the main area in a 4.5 to 5 star hotel (Merlin Beach Resort).When we contacted them again about staying again and asked if they could throw in free Wi-Fi they wouldn’t come to the party, so we looked elsewhere.
Trip Advisor rated the Thara Patong Beach Resort and Spa reasonably well. Base level rooms are the Superior rooms, next up are the Deluxe rooms, with the newer premier rooms the most expensive. The Banyan Suite is the best deluxe room, doubled in size to included a lounge room, a kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge with limited freezer, a small kettle for tea and coffee making, but with no sink and only teaspoons. The double balcony is secluded from the view of most of the pool by a large Banyan tree. The bedroom has a king size bed and a room safe in the cupboard. The bathroom is generous in size and includes a double vanity, toilet, shower and a long very deep bath. It does take forever to fill and won’t foam up your bubble bath. It is on the second floor (Top floor, third floor for USA), at the end of the building, thus no passing traffic. The room rate was approx $150 AUD a night, rather than staying at Merlin for $200, where our friends were staying. Our room was actually 30% cheaper for a room twice the size. Thara Patong Beach Resort and Spa also includes 24 hour Free Wi-Fi; great for my wife who blogs.
The included buffet breakfast is more than adequate with the usual fare of hot breakfast, cereals, salads, eggs made to order, juices, fruit, a small selection of Asian food etc. If you like a particular tea, bring your own tea bag as it is one size fits all here. The coffee is very strong and my wife didn’t like it. Some of the breakfast staff need a large dose of personality and customer service as they really seem as though they don’t want to be there, but others are bright and chirpy and happy to help. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels and soaps etc. replaced as needed. Two bottles of drinking water are provided daily. The pools are clean and refreshing, but are mainly for dipping, not swimming lengths.
There are a lot of cats roaming the grounds that keep out of your way. I suppose they are there to deal with any vermin. The hotel looks a bit tired in places with loose power points in the room, some tiles either broken of missing in the pool and other general wear and tear, but it is more than adequate. You can hear the drone of the techno music played by the poolside bar during the afternoon as well as the restaurant entertainment and loud beach fireworks until about 11.30pm. But one advantage is you can also see the fireworks from the balcony. To the Banyan Suite there are no lifts (elevators) but in the newer wing there are.
Now for the big plus for this hotel, THE LOCATION!!!! If you walk out the back of the hotel through the TANTAWAN Restaurant, you come to what I would call the beach road. If you walk south along the beach road for about 7 minutes (If your wife doesn’t stop at every second shop to point and look at things) you are at Bangla Road, the main activity strip of the area. If you leave via the front hotel entrance, turn right and right again, walk for about 10 minutes and you are in JungCeylon Shopping Centre, which has lots of air conditioned shops, a Coffee Club (with no free hot beverage, just 10% off the bill for members), and a large grocery store called “Big C” out the very very back past the large model Asian Junk. Here you will find lots of cheap groceries and mixers for your duty free grog and even 6 litre bottles of water for only AUD$1 to take back to your room, because the tap water isn’t safe.
If you are thinking of staying here, spend a bit more money and get the Banyan Suite or one of the larger rooms. I hope the photos I have uploaded do the room justice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSingingDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear TheSingingDetective,
Thank you so much for staying with us in Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, also thank you so much for your so detailing description about our resort and share it at The TripAdvisor.
We do hope you had enjoyed while you staying with us. For any in detail problems that you bring out, I will bring it to the management and will see how we can improve it.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, we promise to serve you for all the best we can if you coming back to Phuket and stay with us again in future.
Thank you and hope to see you again, with best regards,

Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay here for eight nights. My room was on the third floor, and like all rooms at this resort, it overlooked the Pools and Gardens in the Courtyard around which the hotel is built.

The Trees and Gardens of the Courtyard area are the great feature of this Resort. They provide privacy from rooms on the opposite side of the courtyard, and they also remind you that you are on a tropical island. The gardens are well maintained and include a good variety of species for those who appreciate tropical palms and plants. The Resort has a number of swimming pools that are most attractively designed and well maintained.

The room was well designed with minimalist furniture. There was a night stand on each side of the King Bed in my room, as well as a desk adjacent to the TV. The staff were attentive to our needs, and quickly provided more tissue or towels, as needed.

There is not an elevator at this resort so it would be important for disabled guests to request a ground level unit. These units are most attractive.

The room fee included a morning Breakfast Buffet. The Dining Room and the Presentation was attractive; and the quality of the food was good. However, each morning at about ten minutes before 10:30 AM (Buffet Ending Time) the staff would implement an uncomfortable procedure in order to let us know that the Breakfast was ending. Many hotels that have Breakfast Buffets in this situation will send a staffmember to the tables, and let the guests know that the Buffet will close in 10 minutes. At this Resort there is no communication to the guests at their tables. Instead the Dining Room lights are turned off at 10:30 AM. In addition the Sliding Doors are all opened up - essentially eliminating the air conditioning in the Dining Area. I felt like I was being chased out of the Dining Room; and did not feel like it would be acceptable as a guest to linger over a cup of coffee for another 15 minutes to read the paper or such. Some of the staff members in the Dining Room at the Breakfast Buffet seemed to have a poor attitude about their jobs. One particular female worker seemed to be just going through her paces every morning, and couldn't wait to turn off the lights; open the doors; and get rid of us all. Many of the workers at this Buffet did their jobs well, and it is unfortunate how one or two unhappy workers can affect the entire environment.

The staff at the Front Desk were outstanding. All of the workers there seemed eager to assist me with my questions about Directions, and helping me arrange transportation and other needs. The Bell Staff were also most helpful.

Phuket is a large Island and Patong Beach is the largest commercial area along the beach-side of the island. The Thara Patong Beach Resort and Spa is very well located. You can easily walk to most places in the Patong area within ten minutes.

Room Tip: This Resort is ideal for those who wish to be in the "Center of all the Action" yet feel a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Endurant,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are happy to hearing that you had enjoy staying at our resort.
Your detailing description about our room and location will bring a lot of helpful to The TripAdvisor members, and we sorry about any little inconvenience problem that bring it to you, but we promise we will improve it in the future.
We do hope to see you again and you are welcome to stay with us if you are coming back to Phuket in the future.
Thank you very much, with best regards,

Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great rooms/bath area, no elevator but bell boy help is needed to carry luggage. Staff was warm. Spa was great. The lady masseuse I had (Nat) did a great job. Very polite and accommodating. Pool area was very nice and restaurant was clean. 400 baht for breakfast. Breakfast included rooms are better way to go. Bargain when shopping, for taxis, and sight seeing. Some places look good from outside but are not so good when you get the real view. Thai people are warm people.

Room Tip: Stay in the lower section of the hotel with great view and pool is right there.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Prem L,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to leave your lovely review. We are also happy to hearing that you like our facilities while you stay in our resort.
Thank you also for your praising about Ms.Nat at our Spa, she was so happy when she knew that. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
With best regards,

Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed 10 nights at this hotel in October and we were very happy with our choice. The first room we were in, had a very noisy air conditioner, but after we complained that we couldn't sleep, we were moved to a beautiful room which made our stay just perfect. The staff are wonderful. Breakfast buffet had everything we could possibly want. Two beautiful pools set in beautifully manicured gardens. Thank you to all the staff at the Thara for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clarkstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Clarkstravels,
Thank you so much for staying with us and share your comments at The TripAdvisor.
We sorry again about the air-conditioner at the first room that we arrange for you, our management was acknowledge and will avoid about this happen in the future and please accept our sincere apologize again from us.
Regarding to your gratitude, Thara Patong Resort & Spa Management and Staff would like to say…”Is Our Pleasure To Serve You.”
Please don’t hesitate to contact us in the future if you planning to come back again to Phuket, we promise to serve you the best we can.
With best regards,

Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a relly good time. It was our first trip in Phuket and if we will ever go back we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was very good. They have a buffet for breakfast- you can find everything from cereals to bacon and egg, thai food, fresh fruits. There are two big pools with nice sunbeds and umbrellas. The garden is beautiful also. The location of the hotel is perfect - close to everywhere. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andysek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Andysek,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to leave your comments. We are happy to hearing that you enjoyed your holidays also you like our resort buffet breakfast and the facility at our swimming pools while you stay at our resort, of cause also our resort’s location made your vacation more comfortable.
We hope to see you again in the future and we look forward to providing you with an even more enjoyable stay with us.
With best regards,
Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

i have been too phuket numerous times, and this hotel is by far the best hotel i have stayed in. 5 minute walk from Bangla road (main night attraction) which is great and about the same distance to Jungceylon (shopping mall). breakfast is good with omlette and pancake stations. fantastic cocktails at happy hour and a pool area for everyone (kids and adults). the staff are very friendly and helpful. reception is beautiful.
I would definately recomend the hotel for all types of holidays, things for kids to do, close to entertainment for the younger crowds and relaxing atmosphere for older demographics. overall a very hotel and i WILL be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutytharapatong, Duty Manager at Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Erin B,
Thank you so much for staying with us and share your positive review and recommend our resort to other TripAdvisor members. We are glad that you enjoyed during your stay with us.
Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if you coming back to Phuket, we always welcome you and promise to serve you the best we can.
With best regards,
Duty Manager @ Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#60 of 328 in Patong
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
The Bloc Hotel
The Bloc Hotel
#85 of 328 in Patong
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
Poppa Palace Hotel Phuket
#66 of 328 in Patong
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 328 in Patong
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 328 in Patong
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#37 Spa Hotel in Patong
#40 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $67 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa is prominently situated on Patong Beach offering a superb combination of service, value for money and location. It is just a short stroll to the Beach, the bustling shopping and nightlife areas. It is approximately 42 km. to Phuket International Airport (about 55 minutes drive) and about 30 minutes drive to Phuket Town. The Resort offers 180 accommodate rooms in Superior, Deluxe, Premier, Premier Pool Access, One/Two Bedroom Suite and Grand Tamarind Suite; each room looks out on the serenity of the tropical gardens and pools from their private balcony. All rooms are fully furnished with finest materials and facilities include satellite TV, IDD telephone, mini bar, hair dryer and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thara Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Thara Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing