We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed September 20, 2006

This resort really worth every cents, in fact, it seems too good to be true with this price. Other hotels with similar price that my travel agents quote are simply uncomparable. I love the fact that it is in the middle of Patong Beach, one road away from the sea. The hotel staff were all very friendly, they even left us a good-night note with orchids on our pillow while delivering our new towels when we were out for dinner. Really thoughtful of them, it feels so comfortable, doesn't feel like a hotel, more of a service apartment feeling. Upon returning to Singapore, i called up my agents and tell her what a nice hotel it is and even show her some pictures that i took. Would recommend it to every one.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No in-house movie/videos,
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring more sunblock
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank peanuttoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    746
    246
    85
    85
See reviews for
406
979
68
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

I chose to stay here over the Novotel because it was rated number 6 on the Trip Advisor list at the time I booked it. Novotel was lower. Just goes to show you how the numbers will fluctuate. In retrospect I wish I had stayed at the Novotel because it is on the outskirts of Patong, as opposed to Banthai which is dead center in the middle of it. You cannot beat its location if you want to be close to all the action. What I mean by action is shopping, massage, restaurants, beach, bars, etc. If you want a quiet get away, this is not the place to stay, although once in the hotel area, and by the pool (which is gorgeous), you do feel like you have escaped the craziness. I would easily go back to Phuket but not stay in Patong for 6 nights which I did in August.

  • Liked — The pool, the buffet breakfast, the comfortable room
  • Disliked — The strength of the drinks were weak
  • Tips/Secrets — Consider if you want to be on the busy main beach street or further out
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Patong beach is fabulous! hotel is very new and clean, rooms are clean (infact they cleaned ours twice a day for the wk we were there), pools are beautiful, staff are lovely, breakfast is the best ever (egg man makes the best omlettes!), great value for money!!!! highly recommend!!!

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — cant think of anything really?
  • Tips/Secrets — great hotel, i highly recommend and am going back their soon!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Slk918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner of Earth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

I was trying to find a reasonably priced hotel/resort in Patong and booked Banthai after reading fabulous reviews about it in TA. When I book it was rated within the top 10 or 15. After booking however, it's rating slipped tremendously due to many complaints and naturally I was worried. The feedback about the noise is especially worrying as I have a tiny tot with me.

After staying there from a Thursday night to Sunday (that's the weekend and the pub should be at it's noisiest) this is my experience:

Noise: I was allotted a 4th floor room facing the beach and pool, on the left side of the receptionists. The pub 'Port' is on the front and right side of the hotel and you would need to walk out of the main hotel block, go past a driveway and their cafe before reaching the open-air pub area. The pub itself is really loud but I hear not a whimper in my room, even when my balcony window was open. Those who complained may have stayed at the right-hand side of the hotel and closer to the main road. Ask for one facing the beach and left side of the hotel and I think the noise should be non-existent.

Cafe: It is air-conditioned but as the drop-floor windows are left open for a more relaxed feel surjoining the terrace, it is not very cooling. However, when I was there very early one morning it is a little chilly. The heat starts to come when it hits about 9am. But that is due to the sun. I like the terrace and it is actually quite soothing when the falling waters is tuned to low and the noise is softer. The food is alright considering the room price. But one will probably get bored after one day. But I don't think it's really bad. Just not that great.

Bathroom: small and sink is located outside the bathroom. I suspect the shower hose did not have it's outermost showerhead attached. It is a Grohe and no Grohes come in that design. The water is real dirty looking. But i come to accept that Phuket water is like that - this is my 3rd trip to Phuket and it happened to all the hotels I stayed in.

Service - Not friendly but I did not get much friendly service at all anywhere during my weeklong stay in Phuket. Even when I moved to a top resort reputed for its service after the stay at Banthai, the service was not significantly better. Better, maybe, but not a lot. The room price is, though.

Facilities: I only realised that the kettle made the water smells like ciggy and that was after making milk with it for my little one for about 5 rouunds! Really upsetting but upon request to change another, it was replaced immediately and everything was fine after. We also needed to use the net and was directed to a 'internet cafe' that was quite cheap. One inconvenience is that pool towels are placed in the room and you need to bring it down.

Is Banthai top-class? No. But for the price per night, it is extremely good value for money. It looks new and design is modern. The location is great if you want to be in Patong. If the showerhead is fixed and sink is in the bathroom I'll probably up another star. will I stay there again? Yes of course as long as the price remains. You can't pay this kind of price and expect a Sheraton. But if you do some research about hotels in phuket, you'll realise this is a lot better than some similar classed hotels in Patong. I would like the service to be better, but that applies to the whole of the service industry I guess. The generally feeling is they are having 'tourist fatigue'. The charm I experienced more than a decade ago has largely disappeared.

  • Liked — The price and relative 'newness'.
  • Disliked — The bathroom and unclean balcony window
  • Tips/Secrets — choose a sea facing room on the left of the reception.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Smelltheflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We spent 3 nights at Banthai beach and were delighted with the hotel and its services. The room was lovely, brand new and the pool was fantastic. It was definetely the best value for money hotel we stayed in during our 3 week stay in Thailand at 20 GBP per night including breakfast. The problem is that Patong beach is not a great place to stay. We would definetely come back to this hotel if is wasn't in this location

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — have dinner at the holiday inn down the road...the have a seafood buffet for about 700THB
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank susta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 321 in Patong
1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 321 in Patong
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 321 in Patong
1,638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing