We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Serivice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Staff were fantastic, the pool bar boys were very accommodating and always made sure that the ice buckets were topped up with ice and ensured nibbles were always provided, popcorn and pineapple and water melon slices were yummy. The pool rooms were a bit of a let down, as they are very dated and very small, could be cleaner. The pool leading out from the pool rooms needed cleaning as the pool tiles were slimy and slippery. Also was swimming with a few wrigglies :(
The breakfast room was fantastic and the egg chef was the best, he was so funny, does eggs anywhich way. recommend the omlette with everything yummo.
The Fridge wasnt icing the ice cubes so we had to call the technician to fix it once fixed was working a dream. Also the airconditioner is very noisy make sure you get them to fix that, I didnt because I was enjoying my cocktails in the pool, slime and all :)

Room Tip: Delux pool rooms are no bigger than a small motel room, so definately wouldnt stay in them again, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shushpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

+
Location is perfect, just off the beach but not right on the noisy street.
Nice pool area.
Great coctails.
Good size rooms.
Friendly stuff.
Nice firm bed.
-
Slightly used up - we had squeaky bathroom door, and veneer peeping of the bad (we needed it fixed since we had a baby with us).
We asked reception to address the issues above once and it wasn't fixed. We didn't ask again.
Pool bar table was always slightly dusty, when we asked to clean it, they just wiped the area around our seat and not the whole table.

So the place could do better with a little more love by personnel, but anyway I would stay here again, for the good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the 6th time we have stayed at this hotel, when we travel to Thailand we normally start in Patong Beach for a few nights, head elsewhere and then come back to finish off in Patong and we always stay here.
The best thing about the Banthai is the location, it is a short walk from Bangla Road but it is set back from the beach which is perfect as it gives you a bit of a reprieve from the madness (you walk down the short driveway from the main beach road). You can walk out of the hotel and cross the road and you are on the beach with a choice of 1,000's of sun lounges to relax and people watch all day. Each sunlounge is 100 Baht per day (all day) and I recommend you tip them another 50 and they will take good care of you.
The foyer to the hotel is lovely, but the standard rooms could do with a bit of an update.
Rooms: Size is fine, more then you need. There is a wardrobe with a safe and mini bar. There is a lounge and a ledge next to it for your bags. The biggest downside is the size of the bathroom, it is tiny and the vanity is in the room itself (not the bathroom). It isn't a biggie. All the balconies to the rooms face each other so privacy can be a bit of an issue, each balcony has 2 wooden chairs and a table so its more then enough but the balconies are quite small.
The beds are hard.
We have never tried the breakfast but if you are hard up for a coffee there is a Starbucks right outside the hotel. Reception staff can be a little hit and miss, some are lovely and some are quite short and curt. Concierge and the pool staff are awesome.
Request a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor and make sure you specify if you would like a King Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had an incredible experience at the Banthai and out of all the hotels we stayed in throughout Thailand, the Banthai was by far the best. Fantastic location, off the road with guards, fantastic staff and plenty of places to swim, eat and drink. Amazing buffet breakfast!! It's right in the thick of patong beach so no need for tuk tuks. Truely impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveyaguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just returned from 10 nights stay at Banthai - reading recent reviews I was quite excited to stay at this resort (not that it is a resort) when we arrive after 8pm I was quite impressed. The hotel appeared really nice, room was ok & location was excellent.

We thought as it was our first night we would just stop out side at The Port (we was not aware at the time that this was part of the hotel) we sat down - the singers were so loud & not the best I debated if to leave! We ordered a starter, 2 mains & a rice with two cokes. Cokes took 20 minutes to arrive, starter arrived with main. The curries were full of oil ! We couldn't eat them so we paid our bill & returned to our room.

~ good pool size
~ good location
~ good pool staff - great service
~ cold air con
~ nice room size, good decor & cleanliness average
~ good house keeping (towels , toilet roll & water)

~ poor breakfast
~ poor hotel food
~ noisy hotel, music from port
~ noisy staff early hours in morning
~ fire works until early hours
~ small bath room/ not cleaned in whole 10 days
~ noisy ac - sleepless nights
~ hard bed - really hard!!!

There's probably more .. This is just a few things. This is about a 2.5 star hotel ! There's better hotels that are cheaper, have better breakfast, hotel food & that are quite! We was happy to leave & return home.

Room Tip: Ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Banthai Beach Resort was recommended to me by my travel agent who has spent time there herself. I was not disappointed at all with the place.

Patong Beach is the dirtiest and busiest of the beaches in Phuket but the Banthai was a nice quiet slice of peace amidst the chaos. Set back about 150 feet from the main road along the beach, the place is still nice and quiet all day and night long. The hotel seems to be shaped like a square W with the lobby in the middle and one pool on each side of the lobby complete with their own rock waterfall and swim-up bar. The pool water was quite cold but it was always empty and you could easily find a lounger at any time of the day.

We had arranged a pick-up at the airport through the hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel forgot to send the car and we ended up waiting a very long time. I was very disappointed we weren’t refunded a little bit considering we waited over an hour to get picked up (after traveling almost 40 hours!) and we had to rely on nice locals to call the hotel and driver for us to figure out what was going on. It was the only negative of our entire stay. Check-in was pretty quick and smooth and we were quickly shown to our rooms.

The room was nice and big and the bathroom had a wicked deep bath that was awesome for taking baths. The beds are pretty hard which was great for us but may not be for everyone. There was a neat little pad between the two beds on the coffee table that controlled all the lights as well at the temperature and strength of the A/C unit and fan. It was really handy for turning lights on and off at night without having to search for switches. The TV had a few English movie channels but mostly Asian/news channels. The room also has an in-room safe, two bath robes, slippers, beach towels and a beach bag as well as an umbrella.

The breakfast was epic! Everything you could want and more. Egg/omelette stations, cappuccino makers, fresh squeezed juice (you could pick your own fruit!), waffles, pancakes, sausage, bacon, pastries, noodles, rice, veggies, fresh fruit, dumplings, yogurt, smoothies and tea. We ate so much for breakfast we rarely ate again until late evening!

We loved this hotel and it had a fantastic location. You can walk to Bangla Road in 2 minutes and the place is surrounded by everything you could want including Starbucks, Hagen Dazs, McDonald’s and the beach is across the street. There was also a great cheap pizza place just across the parking lot. The activities desk had a lot to offer but if you want cheap all you have to do is walk out front and there are vendors everywhere offering whatever you want as trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volcanogrrl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Right on Patong beach a step away from Bangla road ,numerous eating joints,bars,Pizza place is in the hotel only. For Indians good eating places in the street behind .The Patong area is a one way for vehicles so it might take you 10 minutes walking
The Hotel rooms are cozy comfortable well furnished only negative points are the washbasin in the room instead of bathroom and the Windows placement. The windows must have curtains drawn at all times or the person in opposite wing can see everything in your room.
The housekeeping does a pretty good job and the toiletries are of good quality.
There is no free Wifi as many have pointed and the hotel does not bother about it .
The breakfast is served in hall opposite the main building and is a vast and lavish affair.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akshattyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#15 of 331 in Patong
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 331 in Patong
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#31 of 331 in Patong
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $68 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing