We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 10 days in June 2012 at the Banthai. We had an amazing time. The staff at the Banthai were so friendly and helpful. If you get a chance visit the pool bar, we spent most of the time in the pool bar through out the day relaxing and being entertained by the lovely staff. If you are lucky enough you will meet Jump who runs one of the pool bars and he was awesome and so friendly. It was my birthday whilst I was staying there, so the staff arranged for a birthday cake to be delivered to our room and the staff came in and even sang me Happy Birthday, it was great. The room was nice and tidy and cleaned everyday and the price of drinks and food were very reasonable. The buffet breakfast every morning was excellent and such a variety. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to have a nice relaxing holiday with friendly people around you and only a short walk to the beach and night life. All in all was an awesome place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicpurkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Banthai for 6 nights, and we enjoyed our time there.
The location was not necessary the most important factor, but when we realised how central it was, there were no complaints!
Attached to the hotel, officially, is a restaurant that we really enjoyed the thai food, a StarBucks, a Pizza restaurant, a McDonalds, an icecream parlour, a bar, a stake house and Mexican restaurant.

What we didn't understand the first night is that in Thailand you can pay 10% tax on top of a meal, and in some places, particularly Bankok, you may be charged an extra 7% tax, unless you have a visa, which entitles you to the 7% refund at the airport when you leave, and presumably show your receipts.
By staying at the Banthai, we were given 10% discount on most of the Hotels' restaurants (although not likely Maccas or Star Bucks), so effectively, the tax, when we put the meal on the room to pay once we checked out.
10% might not be a huge discount, but if your meal cost you $10 Aus or Aud, then you save yourself $1, which adds up.

While I would not automatically call it a "child speciality" hotel, there were 3 pools, with slides at the end of the pool.
A lot of Australians travel to thailand, and we were in Thailand just before Australian School holidays, so there were not many children there. So if you're looking for a hotel without screaming children, I would happily suggest the Banthai, although I cannot make promises when the school holidays come around.
The hotel had a drive way that was about 20 metres long, and then there is one street to cross and you are litterally on the beach! So the location was pretty fantastic!

The rooms were clean, we received complementary thongs (flip flops) and beach bags to keep as well. We were given a cocktail on arrival, and there were also beach towels as well as normal shower towels in the room.
The pools were clorianated each night, and we were in the pool at 7am when they first opened. There were fragipani trees in bloom in August/September, and while this meant there were the flowers floating in the pool, the pools were cleaned each morning.
The hotel was airconditioned, and there are safes in each room. I would say each room looks onto a pool, and if you do not have a balcony, then you are probably on the ground floor, so it's literally 5 steps from your door into the pool, if not less!

The hotel is around 20-30 years old now, and that's demonstrated more by the structure of the hotel, rather than the actual feel of it. The staff were lovely, and while we made a conscious effort to speak Thai, most spoke English to some extent, and the pool boys would talk to you all the time, even if you were sitting on your balcony several floors up!

The breakast each day had so many things available, we didn't know what to choose, although I was happy to eat waffles and pineapple, and danishes all day!

All in all, I liked the hotel, and would encourage people to stay there, if they like staying on the beach or sitting by the pool

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jenslev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just arrived home after spending a lovely holiday in Phuket, this was our fourth trip to Phuket normally we stay at Le Meridian, but wanted to be right in Patong this time so picked the Banthai. The Banthai resort is very good, we had a pool access room, very nice but unfortunately no privacy at all with us being opposite the pool bar, which at times can be quite noisy with the music cranked up to full at times, the staff were wonderful though and couldn't do enough for you. In fact all of the staff at the Banthai are just great especially - Mr. Eggs, in the breakfast foom, he does his job so well, joking and being very friendly to everyone. We treated ourselves to a massage in the Spa which was fantastic. The housekeeping staff also did a wonderful job.
The only complaints that we have are the fireworks on the beach going off all night and in the early hours of the morning every night and the late night drunken revellers coming home in the early hours. This has probably turned us off staying right in Patong again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in a deluxe room with the pool 10 steps from our bed. Close to all facilities and nothing was too much for staff. Always cheery and polite. Breakfast was great, rooms cleaned spotlessly daily, with bed turned down each night. Friendly pool bar staff who are always happy to chat. Was some renovation work, but did not disturb us greatly. Our room had been renovated, so temporary inconvenience is only going to improve the place. I understand it is almost over now. Will get back for sure.

Room Tip: Recommend ground floor rooms on the southern end of the complex. Close to pool, away from beach, bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Banthai for 5 nights and had a great time. We had a deluxe pool room which was great. The room its self is small but we spent so little time there it was not a concern to us. The doors open straight onto the pool so you generally keep you shades closed when inside as everyone can see in but the convienience of being able to come in from a hot day out and jump straight in without having to find beds and bring all your stuff pool side was great. The pool bar people are also brilliant; they bring drinks right to you...bliss! The pool area closes at 7pm which i thought was great as there's no disterbance from late night partiers! Its a large resort so if your looking for a personal touch you wont find it here but the staff are very efficient and friendly and sort out your every need. Banthai is right in the middle of Patong beach but you hear nothing of the nightlife in the resort, its very quite. Bangla road is in easy walking distance as are all other bars, shops etc. The are hundreds of resturants and bars around Banthai, even a McDonalds if thats what you like! I'd recommend Sabi Sabi, Patong seafood, the Steak house right outside Banthai...the choices are endless. Check out the Beach Bar at the left top end of Patong Beach, Bonnie, Pon and Hon will keep you well watered! its a great area but not really a beach holiday destination, its really busy and the beach is a bit dirty, otherwise, lots of fun, lots of shopping.......hire a motorbike and go explore! We where here middle September, its hot and showery and generally cloudy but nice.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool was was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickiLoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

the rooms are a little tired, but clean with good bathrooms, the pool is great, especially if you get a ground floor room, worth the extra money cause they're a few steps to the pool with comfy chairs outside your door... the staff is absolutely fantastic and will bend over backwards to help you....beware of some noisy construction near by

Room Tip: put your towell on your chair if u pop out for an hour and no one will take it while you're gone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 8 nights at the end of August in a pool access room. These rooms are on the ground floor and straight off your patio are steps into a private pool that you only share with 5 other rooms - however we only saw 1 lot of neighbours once during our stay!
Straight from this pool is a step ladder which allows you into the main pool where the pool bar is. You receive a cool towel and welcome drink in an air-conditioned room on arrival which is a nice touch and even though we arrived before the 2pm check-in time, our room was ready without hassle.

The room itself is quite nicely decorated with a large bed, bath tub and shower with a large showerhead which was lovely. Also in the room is a mini-bar fridge, long lounge, wardrobe with safe and wall mounted flat-screen TV - and all the lights are controlled by a touch panel next to the bed which was really convenient!! I'm not sure why people complain about the beds in their reviews as we found the bed and pillows very comfortable. The room is cleaned and made-up every day with a turn-down service every night that you're not in your room.

Tim and the pool bar staff are amazing and we spent alot of time drinking at their bar and playing bar games with them - watch out for Tim and his toothpick puzzles...they're super tricky! The staff will even bring your food and drinks to you whilst you're around the pool or on your patio which was great. The pools were safe and clean with nice landscaping and very refreshing after walking around in the heat.

We didn't have any issues with any of the staff and found them all to be very friendly and they often initiated conversations or just waived hello as you walked past. It's also very genuine as everything is charged back to the room so they're not doing it for cash tips etc.

Another staff member to point out was the duty food and beverage manager. He was just a really friendly and awesome guy who my partner ended up drinking with and chatting with a few nights. Even when we passed him during the day, he'd invite us to sit with him at the inside bar for a chat and ordered free mocktails for us - a really genuine guy!

We both got a massage at the day spa and whilst the prices were expensive compared to the local Thai massage shops, it is very cheap compared to Australian day spa prices. I had the hot stone massage and it was the best one i've ever gotten! The treatment room was beautiful and the staff were very lovely and respected your privacy - my partner even fell asleep!

The resort is across the road from the beach and set back from the road down a security patrolled driveway which was good. It's about 5mins walk to Bangla Road and about 10mins walk to the main Junceylon Shopping Centre. As there is late night trading every night, the shops and stalls don't open until about 11am so don't plan an early morning shopping trip. There are many taxis and tuk tuks at the end of the resort driveway so there's never a shortage and they all offer to take you to various tours and attractions around the place - it's alot cheaper to book tours this way than through the hotel and/or travel agency. Just outside the resort is McDonalds, Starbucks, a currency converter place, ATM, ice-cream shop and a chemist which are all handy.

A great tip is to make sure you get breakfast included in your package - it's totally worth it and was delicious with a huge variety. Mr. Egg the eggman was great and entertaining and makes a mean omelette!! As per people's complaints about the small breakfast glasses - yes they are alot smaller than normal glasses but you're free to get up and refill as many times as you want!

As the check-out time is 10am, make sure you pay for a late checkout if you have a later flight as you'll appreciate being able to use your room until you have to leave. We paid for the room until 5pm which obviously they charge for and found it to be a bit on the pricey side but would have hated not having it.

You can hear the fireworks being let off on the beach from the rooms at the resort however you can't really escape that anywhere in Phuket. If you're still out and about whilst they're letting fireworks off, you'll enjoy the free fireworks show and they also often release lanterns which is really beautiful. If all you have to complain about is a little bit of noise from fireworks - you don't really have it too bad!

We would stay here again without hesitation for the rooms, location, facility and the staff. This really is an amazing place!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Pool Access room and always ask for a room away from the entrance hall as that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 329 in Patong
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 329 in Patong
1,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 329 in Patong
1,701 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#35 of 329 in Patong
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $41 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing