We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay, despite the weather” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, despite the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was my 3rd trip to phuket but the first time staying at Banthai. First impressions last. We found the front desk girls to be extremely rude and their english very poor for such a large hotel. We had booked a deluxe direct pool access room, and as it was unavailble for the the first night we were upgraded to delue pool villa for one night. Rooms were amazing however, if i return to banthai i wouldn't waste the money on having direct pool access, you only end up going into the main pool area anyway where the pool bar is. My sister was staying in just a deluxe room and they seemed very similar for less money.

We experienced bad weather on this particular trip so we didnt use the pool much at all, however despite the poor weather the guys around the pool bars still make your days enjoyable. Special mention to Tim and Jack...

Breakfast is amazing. Mr Egg man has a secret draw with vegemite for us aussies! We had in fact taken over our own jar which we left with him, he was so greatful. So if your an aussie planning on staying here be sure to take him some.

I would definatly choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    719
    240
    85
    84
See reviews for
391
956
64
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

My stay at Banthai was perfect , the attention to detailing , the food , the coziness of the room over looking the pool , great staff and the best part is the location. Its bang in the middle of patong but still secluded. Great for a couple get away and the best part is that it is free from sleaze and very tourist friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing with the Kind size bed, the other wing is older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

After reading the the great reviews i choose to stay here in a deluxe room which was nice but the bathroom looked dirty the tv didnt work even know telling them 4 times and they still couldnt fix it! Breakfest was awesome tho but next time i think i'll stay else where

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleann81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a deluxe ground floor pool room. Very nice. I agree with other reveiwers,dont pay extra for a private pool entry.The room has a control panel at the bed side for the aircon and lights etc. We had fruit on arrival in our room. A treat to eat fresh delicious bananas as the price is so high here still.The bar fridge is stocked and is quite cheap, about 35bht for a can of beer, but dont forget the ++ gov tax and service charge. This adds about 20% on everything in phuket!! The pool bar was great but the prices were a bit exy, 210bt ++ for 1 cocktail, it ends up enspenive even after a couple. The staff were very freindly and helpful. The toiletries are lovely, they have nice lemon grass smell. we had a few problems with towels not being replaced, and toiletries "disapearing" but that was rectified quickly with a call the houskeeping. There are reno's happening but it diddn't bither us at all. The breakfast was very nice, Mr Egg was funny and would offer us his "secret stash" of vegemite every morning. There were about 6 different juices, tea coffee, milo and smoothies. My husband and brother inlaw had about 6 of these each morning, they were dlicios. There was always bacon, sausages (although they looked like rubber sticks) rice, noodles, potatoes of some soret, fish and beef. There were also pancakes, waffles and chocolate and maple syrup mmmmmmmm.
They come to the room in the afternoon and turn down the bed and place a beautiful orchid on each side for you.
We had a free meal with our booking and weren't very impressed with it at all. It came out cold first, and then they took food off out table before we had even started eating it!!
The bands that played at the restauant at the front were fun. they invite the audieance to participate and really enjoy themselves.
We were very close to everything, wether you walk to the left ot the right of the hotel, you will be amazed at all the shops and the amount of "Tiffany" they sell. We were bombarded with people trying to sell us DVD's and suits.
Across the road at the beach, there are hawkers selling large paper lanterns. They light the candle at the bottom and this makes the latern fill with hot ait like a balloon. Once it starts to float you can let it go. Its very pretty. We saw people letting them go as a memorial.

Room Tip: Stick to the standard pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Firstly, I booked a Supirior suite as our pool access room was overbooked being the fault of the hotel, they still made me pay the extra.
After a long exhausting flight in, we were taken up to our room and to our surprise were right next door to the renovations(where on booking and checkin we were told we wouldnt be bothered by it) I asked to be moved to another room as we are on holidays and dont want to be woken by noise, the only room she showed us was another suite that had just been freshly pained that same day. as soon as the ldy opened the door she started coughing by the strong smell of paint. She said very bluntly these are your two options............I was like no human can sleep in this rooms due to the fumes unless you want a law suit against you and the inital room was going to be an inconvienience.
We were exhausted and hot and she was like take either room or find yourself another hotel, then went off to speak with the other workers in the Thai language and were giggling. They were so intimidating!!!!!! I was shoked by the way we were treated and that was by the on duty manager, I told her this treatment by a manager would not be tolerated in Australia and would have her fired straight away!!!
They didnt care and that was such a burden of the trip! She mentioned renovation work doesnt commence until 9am, where every morning they started at 6.45am!!!!
They have one lift for the whole resort and the resort is HUGE, we found ourselves walking alot to get in and out of resort and to the pool/breakfast room etc.
There are plenty of fabulous resorts in paton to stay in that are in a great location as the Banthai so DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie85Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location was perfect, far enough from then noise but still close enough to the activity. Pool bar was awesome and staff friendly. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonrademan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandurah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

we stayed for 25 days july aug 2011
thank you for a wonderful stay
Even with the renovations there was no problem
Your staff are a credit to the hotel
everyone we met was very helpful and respectful
when we got to our room we found our bed had been done up with petals
it looked so beautiful we felt very welcomed. it was very nice of the staff to do that for us

with my injury everyone was so helpful
i used the electric car to go to and from breakfast and to and from the front of the hotel. the staff were most helpful in getting the car for me the security guards at the front of the hotel would call for the car for me which was very good of them they would get me to sit and wait
they were wonderful.

the breakfast team was great and looked after us very well Meli(think that is her name) the supervisor would get my breakfast for me as i couldn't walk very well. the other staff would help out as well it was good that you have great staff that will help out someone who is injured.
we know a lot of your staff now which is very good they are all fantastic.

we did have dinner at the port restaurant this time the food was good the staff were great. we know 4 or 5 of the staff very well and they always take very good care of us. We love to see everyone each time we stay. it is good to catch up with everyone including the secruit

on our 30th anniversary i was blown away with what the hotel and staff did for us.
first of all a table at breakfast had been set for me and my family it was a wonder surprise, the cake and wine was lovely.
later that day we were given another cake and when we went back to our room late afternoon we found that our bed had been made up again this time with a heart with petals and 30th anniversary writen in leaves it was so nice.
all i can say that that day and evening was so wonderful very much appreciate what the food and beverage team did and the house keeping staff did.

The pool staff are fantastic and take very good care of the guest
as we spent most of our time at pool c i would like to let you know the staff at pool C is great.
Jump (waranon) is the best he took care of us very well and made sure our sons had a fantastic time as well.Coco (sakda) also took very good care of us and our sons.
I think your hotel has the 2 best pool bar staff in patong probably phuket.
That is JUMP AND COCO

I love being at the hotel and being around the staff
the best part is that we feel like family there and look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: building 2 and pool is the smaller of the 3 buildings very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#23 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing