We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not authentic Thai Kickboxing. A waste money !”

Bangla Boxing Stadium
Ranked #12 of 58 things to do in Patong
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is not authentic Thai Kickboxing. A waste money !”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been to 2 other Kickboxing stadiums and events in Phuket and this was poor.

All fights were mismatched and over in the first minute or so because the fighters were unfit or poor fighters.

It was advertised as real fights but they were far from it. Even the person I got the tickets off said it was not authentic.

Advertised fighters also did not fight and to allow drunk patrons into the stadium and in one case into the boxing ring was pathetic and made a mockery of the national sport.

Do not waste your money and go to a more traditional older stadium if you want to watch competitive fights.

If you really just want to tick it off your list then go to this stadium.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank storm_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    230
    97
    26
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An interesting event to watch.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my wife after being told Muay Thai is the national sport and a must see when here. Local tourist office sold us the VIP tickets which meant nothing more than being right at the front. When we got there we were both told that the event did not start for another 40 minutes why not go to the bar for beer? I shrugged my shoulders said was not going to their bar, walked to market across the road and got a beer half their price. Whilst there filled my rucksack with more beer and smuggled it in. Realised pretty soon that stopping us going up was a sham to get us into the bar. Others just ignored them and walked right past. All advertised fights were for adults, therefore surprised to see children as young as 7 taking to ring. Even more surprised to see them wearing no protection but we are in Thailand. Majority of advertised fighters were not there and the final event just before midnight was between two 6 year olds. On plus side the adult fights were very entertaining, totally real and both of us loved it. My advice take a rucksack with your own beer and nibbles, get cheapest ticket which is tiered at the back, plus side to this is you won't be hassled by the bar tenders and you get a uninterrupted view of the ring, I was so close all photos have the ropes across them, the place is that small even tiered your practically in the ring anyway and be a bit open minded to children fighting. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun Night”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A must see for any visitor to Thailand.
Don't be afraid to go a couple 100 on Red or Blue.
Thursday night is normally a better night I'm told. So we had lucked out?
Stadium view is fine but a little steep. And its far from crowded. All up a really good atmosphere and not too loud.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Gone”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I believe this stadium has closed down and the fights now all take place at the New Patong Stadium. Bangla road is now home to bars and shows and the like.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bangla Boxing”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Tonight! Tonight! Tonight! Great action packed night and definitely worth the spend. Ask for a better price at the door. Enjoy a cold beer ringside; give a little tip to the person that fetches the beer and you will never be empty. A great way to dovetail into a nights clubbing on Bangla Road with the fights starting at 9pm and finished by midnight.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussiePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangla Boxing Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Bangla Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing