We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tres Bon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

The Place
Ranked #36 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Tres Bon!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wonderfully manage, good food, clean and fair price. The owner, Yan, is great and customer orientated. Food is great and good as back home. Nice brochettes and wonderful view of the sea on the higher terrace. Will be back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    119
    39
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First time in this bar”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in Banthai Resort & Spa many times and this bar and restaurant (upstairs and open air) is jus outside the hotel next to the hotel seafood restaurant. Passing by it so many times and never patronize it. This late afternoon for the first time come to this bar for drink. This is located along the beach road with hustling and bustling traffic especially after office hour. It is quite enjoyable to enjoy your drink and watch the crowd here. Should have done this before.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yanntastic - this is the PLACE to be”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went to the Place on our first night in Patong after a really hectic day of traveling, We wanted to go to a laid back, relaxed bar to get our bearings in the madness of Patong and we found it here. We met the owner,Yann, at the bar and he was a really cool bloke, even sent his barmaid (who was lovely) down the road for some red bull so we could have jäger bombs. We didn't eat on this occasion but on a different visit we turned up really late and although the kitchen was shut he reopened just for us and we had the best steak we had in the whole of Thailand. In a nutshell this is a really cool, relaxed restaurant in a great location on the beach with great staff, great food and a great patron (for a frenchman hahaha)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great crowd watching bar”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice place to sit drinking ice cold beer hile watching the beach and the passing parade. Good happy hour prces too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevstanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty average meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to "The Place" after reading some of the reviews onTA and as it was right out the front of our hotel expecting a good meal. A bit disappointed to say the least, had deep fried squid but the oil was not hot enough so the squid just tasted of oil, also had a tomato, Parma ham and what was supposed to be rocket pizza but not sure what it was.
Prices were reasonable for Patong and as always service was great, overall a fairly average meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceynCharlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing