We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Hard to Find and Service is Ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Mango Bar and Grill

The Blue Mango Bar and Grill
Ranked #19 of 548 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please follow the directions on how to get to us on our website. Please tell your driver that we are next door (before) to the Merlin Beach Resort.Blue Mango Bar & Grill offers a quality Thai and Mediterranean dining experience in a quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. When giving directions to your driver, please mention we are located in the Twin Sands Resort, just before the Merlin Beach hotel. We provide courtesy pickup service for prior dinner reservations between 6pm and 9pm within the Patong area.Opening Hours: Monday - Sunday 7:30am - 10:30pmPlease check our Facebook page for regular event updates - search for Blue Mango Restaurant in Patong.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food, Hard to Find and Service is Ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hard to go wrong with anything on this menu. We had Thai, Italian, and French and all was beautiful (hard to do in my opinion). Not sure why people complain about the ambience, it was fine. Yes it is a bit modern and very BLUE but other than that it was relaxing and the music was pretty cool. The prices were not too bad, and considering the quality of the food I would consider it a bargain. My only problem was the service, and it wasn't really a big deal. We had to repeat our order several times and they got it wrong several times. No big deal, they were very nice about it and we are on holiday so what's the rush and problem anyway? Just would have been nice to have been served a bit quicker, and to have some good quality instructions for drivers. That was a hassle as no one seemed to understand where this gem is. Great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LorindaH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear LorindaH2

Thank you for dining at Blue Mango and for posting a review here on TripAdvisor. Your nice words about our food and decor are greatly appreciated.

We have taken your comments about our service to heart and we have passed them on to our waiting staff, and since your visit we have taken measure to improve the service in places where it is lacking .

Hope you had an enjoyable holiday in Thailand

Best wishes
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    131
    43
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a slightly hard time finding the restaurant but after we did we loved the look of it. Its attached to a hotel and the restaurant is in the back. The lighting and decor are very nice and contemporary. The only thing better than the decor was the food. The food was excellent both in taste and presentation. Staff was friendly as well. The only grip was the area music. They played a lot of Celine Dion and other Adult Contemporary music. But other than that the food and look of the place itself made up for that easily.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawdeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Hawdeez

thank you for your recent visit to our restaurant and for taking the time to write a reveiw.
We are very thankful for your kind words and positive comments and are pleased that you enjoyed our food. We hope that you had a pleasant rest of your holidays here in the beautiful island of Phuket,

Best wishes

The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

After slight confusion with the complimentary pickup, we arrived to be extremely pleased with the quality of each of the meals. Delicious! We were also given a complimentary bottle of wine and a birthday cake to top off the night. Very happy with the food and it was very reasonably priced considering the quality. The location is a bit out of Patong and the restaurant does lack a bit of ambience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Jenna B

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Blue Mango Bar & Grill.
We apologise for the confusion with the pick up, and we are pleased that you have decided to come despite it. We do try to make special occasions of our customers even more special when we can, and we thank you greatly for your nice comments about the quality of our food. and the pricing. Offering affordable quality may just become our new motto !

We hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in Phuket and we hope to see you again in the future,

best wishes

Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As many things in Phuket, this restaurant wasn't easy to get to, but once we did, it was absolutely beautiful! The food, in one word, was superb. Probably the best food we had in Phuket. If you're around Patong, definitely stop by the Blue Mango Bar!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Joey F

Blue Mango thanks you for coming to dine to our restaurant and for taking time to write a review. The location of our restaurant is a little out of the way, but it does make up for it by great tranquility and views. It gives us immense pride when we see our customers leaving us happy and satisfied, and we are so greatful for your amazing comments and your recommendations.

We hope we made your holiday even more memorable and that you will come again sometimes in the future.

Best wishes

Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb food, zero ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was high on my list, as the Tripadvisor number 1. Therefore I was slightly confused on arrival - was I checking on to a flight in a provincial airport?
However, the Eighties neon lighting and the appalling decor was completely forgiven after the food arrived. Italian food as it should be, with the best ingredients at the forefront, and the pasta in the background.
And if you don't mind your wine being priced at the same level as a small family hatchback, please try the Verdicchio, it is worth every penny.
Thanks for a memorable night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JON475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear JON475

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and for taking time to post a review.

We appreciate your comments about our decor and lighting - we recognise that it is quite a subjective matter and therefore we accept that our interior design may not be to everyone's liking. Our utmost important priority, however, is to serve our clients a great quality food using only the best possible ingredients we can find on the local market and, of course, to provide a fantastic customer service. Therefore we are very pleased that you have found our food to be of a high quality and that you considered your dining experience with us as memorable. We thank you again for your visit, It is our pleasure to serve such appreciative and knowledgable clients as yourself and we hope you will pay us a visit again soon.

Best wishes,
The Blue Mango team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing