We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best italian food outside italy”

The Blue Mango Bar and Grill
Ranked #16 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Please follow the directions on how to get to us on our website. Please tell your driver that we are next door (before) to the Merlin Beach Resort.Blue Mango Bar & Grill offers a quality Thai and Mediterranean dining experience in a quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. When giving directions to your driver, please mention we are located in the Twin Sands Resort, just before the Merlin Beach hotel. We provide courtesy pickup service for prior dinner reservations between 6pm and 9pm within the Patong area.Opening Hours: Monday - Sunday 7:30am - 10:30pmPlease check our Facebook page for regular event updates - search for Blue Mango Restaurant in Patong.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Best italian food outside italy”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are 3 chefs from Austria travelling through Thailand. We have had lots of amazing thai food so we decided to have an western style dinner in a more classy restaurant. Due to Tripadvisor we found the Blue Mango Bar and it was worth it to search for it, it´s a bit outside of Patong Beach. We looked up the menu and the manager claudio recognized really fast that we are interested in different dishes. So he gave us the possibility to eat a surprise-menu which he and his chef from florence fixed for us. It was really amazing - my aunt lives in Florence since 42 years and is one of the best cooks i´ve ever seen in my live - but this was really typically tuscan food right here in thailand. We also got some new dishes which are going to be on the card in a few weeks and the chef wanted to hear our opinion about it. I can only say all the food was really good, but i think the pasta and the pork belly were my favorites. I´ve never eaten pasta like that outside Italy. They also offer great cocktails and a well priced wine list. We had a big menu, some drinks and two bottles of wine and the bill was round about 6000 baht - if you compare this with restaurants in europe where you get this quality it´s really worth it. Thanks for a wonderful evening!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you very much for visitiing Blue Mango and for writing a review. It is an honor to hear praises about our food and service, and especially from fellow professionals such as yourselves. Your kind words give us great motivation to carry on in what we are doing and to strive to become the best restaurant in Patong. Our two Italian chefs Antonio and Davide are very passionate about their profession and between the two of them they have fifty years of experience in the field. Davide is an excellent pasta chef who hand-makes most of our pasta himself and and was very pleased to hear your praises about his creations. It was an honor to serve you and your friends; we hope you had great time travelling, and that you will visit us again if you return to Phuket.

Best wishes,
The Blue Mango team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    132
    43
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food heaven!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at the Blue Mango for my birthday after having read rave reviews about this restaurant. The food was excellent. I enjoyed the sesame encrusted goats cheese salad with roasted tomato and beetroot, and my husband particularly enjoyed his garlic charred pork with mustard potato mash. The staff were attentive and friendly, the restaurant clean and modern with a view through a glass partition into a professional and well-run kitchen. We'd definitely eat here again if we return to Thailand and highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

On a final note, we found the manager to be polite and willing to both recommend items on the menu and organise for the cooks to make dishes that are not listed on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Public Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jo B,

Thank you for coming to our restaurant for such a special occasion as your birthday, and also thank you for labeling us as Food Heaven! Our manager is always happy to please particular tastes of our clients and our chefs are willing to cook even unusual dishes and the dishes that are not on the menu. We were really happy that we were able to make your special day memorable, it was a pleasure to serve you and your husband. We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in Thailand and please visit us again if you return to Phuket in the future.

Best wishes,
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional food (and service) without the price tag!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Trip advisor is my bible for travelling, eating...everything really :) ...and because of this I found this great restaurant!
It was my partner's birthday and I wanted to surprise him with a lovely dinner whilst on our Phuket holiday...I emailed the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the excellent (and ever so prompt) communication with Darren who was more than happy to help me with my plans!
The gorgeous Claudio picked us up personally from our hotel and drove us to the beautiful location of the restaurant.
We were greeted with complimentary cocktails, shaken and served by a very lovely, extremely happy and very entertaining bar tender with great bottle tossing skills! :)
We enjoyed a lovely meal and my partner was pleasantly surprised with a delicious "Happy Birthday" chocolate fondant filled with sparklers and surrounded by the wonderful staff singing happy birthday.
A gorgeous restaurant with great staff, a lovely ambiance and beautiful food! Will definitely be back!
Trace & Steve

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Trace B

Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant for your partner's surprise birthday based on TripAdvisor and we are extremely pleased that you were not disappointed. We thank you especially for your kind words about our Thai bartender Honny, who was very proud and moved to see his newly acquired bar-tending skills praised on the internet. It makes it very joyful and effortless for our staff to serve such pleasant and polite people as yourselves! We hope that you had a pleasant stay in Phuket and if you ever return we would love to welcome you and your partner back.

Best wishes,
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was good but Manager ignorant/rude”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate lunch there and were in a window seat looking over the view. A Russian speaking Absolute salesman and two Russian people stood over us while we ate and peered out the window. Not even an acknowledgement or a smile or a sorry. RUDE. Then manager was asked by nice friendly male waiter to assist with a cash register issue. I said hello to the (Caucasian) manager who completely ignored and snubbed me. RUDE. We were so offended that despite staying at Twin Sands Resort, we decided not to eat there again no matter how good the food was reported to be.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea K, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Mango Bar and Grill, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear M_Tucson 69

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our establishment and we are very sorry to hear about your experience. On the first point we have no direct control over outside sales personel and their clients, however we have passed on the comments to the senior Management of Absolute. What we are endeavoring to do is to prevent any "walk-arounds" from stopping within the restaurant, just merely pass through for a look without interrupting the enjoyment of our patrons.

Secondly, we are very surprised to hear about the attitude of our Manager. At the moment we have outside contractors finalising the installation of our POS system and this might have been the individual, however, this does not excuse the attitude you experienced, and also we also cannot be 100% sure this was the individual. We can only state that this is an unusual review for us given the positive feedback about our Management and waiting staff in the past both verbally and on the TripAdvisor. We are, as a result of your feedback, actively telling any contractors working in the restaurant to be friendly and polite, and in addition we have made all of our staff aware of your review and re-emphasized our expectations of their relationship with our customers.

Despite your dining experience, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Phuket and that in the future, if you return, you will visit our restaurant and receive the courtesies you expect. We are positive that this truly was a one off occasion for us and we thank you for your comments as it helps us to constantly improve our standards.

Best Wishes
The Blue Mango Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Phuket”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

During our stay in Phuket, we had food here twice, which speaks for itself. They make some excellent cocktails and the atmosphere is very lively and cool.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capriisland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing