We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait until resort is completed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived to a fairly friendly un organised reception. The staff friendly enough but lack of english was an issue. The room is very modern and very new. We had a room on a busy road but noise level was ok, night noise stopped about 11 ish. My husband enjoys his cups of tea so when he discovered that we only had two tea bags in room he was not very happy. Requested a bottle of milk and was told that he would have to go into patong to get that for himself - 4.5km away. They did supply some sort of powder cream that I believe over here is equal to milk. Was unpacking bags just about to set up our laptops using main power when the power went out. No TV or Air con, went to reception and was informed due to the rain this occurs a lot during the day ..Lucky as it would have blown both our laptops up so we charged with laptops turned off. The resort is not completed and has approx 40 rooms , 1 pool, gym, spa treatment , reception and restaurant so walking around it takes 5 minutes. NO BEACH access as promised and the resort next door is starting to pull everyone up and telling them that they can not use their access to beach. Bored after 2 hours we decided to head into patong to discover their complementary shuttle bus only runs every 3-4 hours even though the bus was parked out the front being cleaned by driver we still had to catch a taxi . Understand its complementary shuttle bus but if you were 4.5 km off on an island would the shuttle boat be complementary ?? so bring extra $$$ for taxi fee's approx 200-300 baht for two people each way or wait for shuttle every 3-4 hours. Internet is very slow so expect delays and also drops out like power. The beds are rock hard so if it's a comfy bed you are after this is not the resort for you. The lift is not used all the time due to black outs so just pray you are not on the fourth floor and its stairs all the way. We had room 105 and continually got phone calls for house keeping as their number is 1105. Ok during the day but at night was an issue....customers wanting more tea bags and questioning why their air con stopped working ( black out again) . My advise wait until resort is finished. Good resort but not finished. While we booked in two other couples booked out due to the above issues and went into Patong to other resorts. Staff friendly enough but lacked communication skills .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperSal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I'm sorry that during your stay that many of these incidents occurred. It is our intention to look after all our guests to the best of our ability.

It is quite usual in Thailand to have electricity power cuts specifically during the rainy season, Absolute Twin Sands resort does have a generator which provides an alternative electricity supply during these times.

Our lift is operating fully and is maintained regularly without any safety risk. Once in use and if there is a power cut the elevator will drop you at the nearest floor and opens its doors.

We are looking to extending the frequency of the complimentary shuttle service but currently it operates on the advertised timetable.

Our rooms provide medium hard mattresses but on request we can change this with a softer one.

In respect of the room number and housekeeping number then is the first occasion that this has arisen and we have taken measures that this will not happen again.

Thanks again for your comments, we take on board all that our customers say to enable our service to be constantly improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Best ( 5 star) restaurant at very reasonable prices is a great part of the Twin Sands Hotel and Resort.
Great place to stay with a lovely pool and spa, gym , etc.
Both my husband and I had the best massages of all time
Frequent free transfersto and from Patong Beach available
Mr Chai, Absolutes own taxi diver will escort you anywhere in Phuket at an extremely fair rate.
He takes you to the NON tourist areas if you wish

Room Tip: They are all great with own kitchen and very well serviced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on the special mention for Mr Chai. So glad you had an enjoyable stay at our new resort and also managed to squeeze in a few visits to the Blue Mango Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon when you have the opportunity to visit Phuket again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My fiancé and I have just spent a week at Twin Sands and would definitely stay here again. We purposely chose a hotel away from the main drag at Patong, so the location was quiet, nearby to a beautiful beach and high on a hill with beautiful views of the water -- we were lucky to be on the top floor. The room was much bigger than we anticipated (and really modern, with very stylish bathroom, sizeable balcony and efficient AC), and given there was a kitchenette with a full size fridge, we took the opportunity of grabbing some groceries in town and preparing our own breakfasts some mornings so we could laze in bed a little longer.

The free shuttle service was useful, and on the one occasion we didn't want to wait for it to return to the hotel we easily got a tuk-tuk to bring us up the hill.

The Blue Mango restaurant is brilliant value and had a really good range of dishes. The staff were friendly and keen to assist. I highly recommend the pumpkin risotto, and the grill menu was impressive.

Free wifi was available all over the hotel, and the reception was good! That made a refreshing change from hotels we've recently stayed in across Southeast Asia.

There is construction happening all over Phuket, so we weren't entirely surprised to see some going on next door from the hotel - it's a new development, so to be expected. The noise was not bad, and never occurred early in the morning or in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi_Mac_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review - I will pass on your comments to the team here and also to the Blue Mango where it sounds you had some very pleasant evenings. We are trying to extend the shuttle bus services so those can only improve over time.
As you noticed there is construction work going on adjacent to the existing site. This is the second and third phases of our development and we do try and make it as less intrusive as possible with our existing guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Twin Sands Resort was a disappointment. The rooms were excellent 5 star, however the level of customer service and feel of the place was cold and unfriendly.

From the moment we checked in, the feeling was awkward and cold. We stayed a week and thought/hoped it would improve. But other than a very nice male waiter smiling in the restaurant at lunch and a nice male porter who helped us with bags, all the other staff we met were either cold or downright unhappy. The level of English spoken by staff was quite basic which may have contributed to the cold feeling. In the week we were there the pool bar was out of order for no apparent reason. If one wanted a drink, one had to get out of the pool, walk all the way around to the bar near the restaurant and through the air conditioned check in foyer.

TIP: If the pool bar is not operating or out of order indefinitely perhaps it would be good to have a waiter/waitress stationed at the pool bar to go get the drinks from the other bar.

But by far the worst thing was the attitude of some of the Absolute Sales staff who were showing potential time share investors through the place. Not once in the many, many times they walked past us at the pool or stood over us whilst eating lunch in the restaurant admiring the view, or stood waiting for the shuttle bus, did they smile, say hi or excuse themselves for interrupting. Nor did they ever offer us a ride to town in their Absolute cars with vacant seats returning to Patong. That only increased our feelings of coldness (despite the oppressive humidity) of the resort.

The other major draw back was the location of the Absolute Twin Sands resort, high up on a steep hill about 4.5km hard walk from Patong beach. The resort had a shuttle bus which was totally inadequate and the times it ran conveniently ensured you were at the resort during Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Basically no buses to Patong until after 10am, none during lunch and none for the 3hour period during dinner.

After our check in experience, my wife went into the spa and gym area to have a look. When she said hello to the girl at the desk she was given a grunt and a disinterested look as a greeting. Cold, bordering on freezing! Obviously she didn't use the services of the ispa after that.

We ate lunch at the Blue Mango Restaurant early in the week and the male waiter was very smiley and attentive to our needs. However, the (Caucasian) restaurant manager/supervisor, was required by the waiter to help with a cash register issue. No worries, except that he totally ignored us and was basically cold/grumpy and completely unfriendly despite me saying hello to him. He did not even acknowledge us with a nod or even a smile. Not good enough buddy I hope you read this review.
We were so offended, we decided not to bother eating at the restaurant again for the rest of the week. Sadly we had read some trip advisor reviews of the restaurant saying how great it was and were excited to try it.

However, we quickly found another nearby resort restaurant (Merlin Beach) where the staff were happy to see us and treated us like kings and queens during dinner every night. Even serenading (Spanish/Mexican style) us on the last night for about 20 minutes with a great guitar duo. Merlin also had a band playing music every night in the bar until 11pm. We met friendly and happy guests. I know where we'll stay next time!

The nicest person we found at the Twin Sands resort was the resident cab driver, Peter Chai. He was very nice and helpful. Due to the lack of transport we used his cab into town daily. Due to his friendly personality, later in the week we decided to get him to give us a tour around Phuket Island. He was very informative and a great tour guide. Thank you.

The resort was very noisy during the day with lots of building work being carried out and heavy machinery making noise most of the day. There were also a bunch of dogs floating around the gate of the resort that were quite hostile and tried to bail us up everytime we walked outside the resort.

Another disappointing thing was the amount of rubbish we saw lying around outside the resort surrounds. It could have been a pretty place but everywhere there was rubbish either dumped in large quantities or just thrown and strewn just outside the bounds of the resort or along the footpath on the long walk to the resort.

I spoke with another guest at the resort and he was of a similar opinion that the staff were poor in English, unhappy and a bit cold.

TIP: Smiles are free and give guests the feeling they are wanted and valued. Maybe some training in effective customer service communocation strategies could help.

Room Tip: Room was excellent. 5 star. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I'm sorry that the standard of customer service was not up to the standard you would have expected. Please note that the room you booked online is independently owned and as such not part of the hotel inventory. We only provide the room key, any additional service will be provided only on request.
In respect of your comments regarding the pool bar we have made this request several times to the Blue Mango restaurant, which together with the iSpa are independently owned and run.
The shuttle bus offers transportation to Patong Beach (Absolute SeaPearl), Bangla Road (Absolute Bangla Suites), Jungceylon and Nakalay Beach Resort. This service is free of charge as per advertised schedule. Guests always have the choice of calling a taxi, which our reception is happy to assist 24 hrs a day.
We are always trying to assist our resort staff with English speaking skills and whilst all have a basic understanding many have now moved to an advanced level and continue to receive training in both this area and general customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were staying at the Sea Pearl and went to the Blue Mango at Twin Sands for supper one evening. Awesome place and wonderful service. We had a young hostess/waitress who was absolutely awesome. Really had a good time. We can't remember her name (wore braces), but thank you young lady. I would go back. Food also fab!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words which I will happily pass on to our team at the Blue Mango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from Phuket at Twin Sands resort and I must say it was wonderful. Located tantalising close to the madness of Patong but far enough away to offer blissful and peaceful sanitary.

Across the road you are at Tri Trang Beach, the best beach in Phuket. The resort itself offers beautiful apartments which are so much better than hotel rooms. Tasteful decor, spacious balcony and all the beautiful pools and all the facilities you need.

The real treat was the Blue Mango restaurant. My husband and I are vegetarians so we are used to being under catered for and approach 5 star restaurants with trepidation. We were delighted this was not the case with Blur Mango. Quite the contrary. The fantastic chef taylor made dishes off the menu to our vegetarian requirements. The food and service was nothing short of sensational and we ended up choosing to eat there most nights. Thoroughly recommend the saffron leak and potato soup and the mozzarella salad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mctranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words which I shall pass on to our team and to the wonderful Blue Mango. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our resort in the very near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this resort with my partner only for two nights but would of loved to stay a lot longer, the swimming pool is amazing and the rooms are 5 star have everything you need for a very comfortable stay, has a free shuttle service to patong and there are many quiet lovely beaches nearby,on both nights and mornings we used the restaurant which was excellent also would like to thank the general manager Stefan for being very helpful

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyBristow, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words which I shall also pass on to Stefan. Hopefully next time around you will be able to spend a bit longer with us so we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.7 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#72 of 337 in Patong
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
0.9 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#18 of 337 in Patong
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 337 in Patong
828 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#87 of 337 in Patong
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 97 Mueang Ngoen Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#29 Family Hotel in Patong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $195 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa is a stunning resort with panoramic ocean views, contemporary apartments and five-star service, all in a spectacular peninsula setting on the tropical island of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing