We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor expensive one”
Review of Cairo Restaurant

Cairo Restaurant
Ranked #232 of 549 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
5,321 reviews
3,464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,728 helpful votes
“Poor expensive one”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I tried this arabic restaurant. But
I did not like
Also itried. Thier take away menu
But as amatter of fact i like the ad
They are doing in the car roaming
Around phuket streets

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    84
    32
    22
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
742 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food but everything else was rather average”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I hadn't been back to Patong for many years but there appeared to have been a proliferation of Middle Eastern eateries. Convenient location, this establishment was part of a strip of restaurants located a block off the beach and a few minutes' walk from our hotel. Interesting decor outside - had the weather been less humid during the day, we would have preferred to have had lunch at one of the tables facing the main road. Having said that, the air-conditioned section inside (popular with Middle Eastern families) was only slightly cooler but still rather stuffy at times. Not much of an atmosphere to speak of during the day but would probably be more comfortable at night, where like other similar restaurants, shisha smoking is available.

The waiting staff didn't speak a lot of English, so we had to resort to a bit of pointing at the menu to get our orders across. For some reason, nearly everyone's orders arrived before ours even though we had placed ours first. Nevertheless, the waiter apologised for the longer than normal wait. This being Thailand, the menu offered Thai as well as Middle Eastern favourites, We found the portions of kebabs and felafels quite tasty and very filling. Many dishes also come with rice, so go easy on ordering additional bread. Overall, not very cheap but I guess the days of cheap food in Patong are long gone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good Egyptian food...”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really good food and quite reasonable price, loses a point because there is no alcohol allowed but really tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rude, uninterested staff...nice food.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our second time we visited Cairo. The first being about four years ago and we recalled it as full of interest and good food. This time it was a shocker. The middle eastern male staff were dismissive at best and downright rude and in attentive. They couldn't really be bothered with us (even though we were the only other table in the otherwise empty restaurant). The drifted off while we were ordering, clearly too bored or self important to take our order. Sadly for them, other than the clearly stale bread, the food was lovely. They couldn't wait to get us out the door. The Thai female staff were, as you would expect, really nice. They didn't make up for their culturally inept bosses who clearly don't want to make a success of this business. Give it a miss.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martini465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We first went to this restaurant in 2011. We were greeted by an older gentlemen who was obviously the owner as we were treated like royalty, the food and service was great. This time around things have changed. It seemed as though we were in the way, a hinderance to the wait staff. We ordered the mixed grill, which was dry and tasteless. I would avoid this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cairo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing