We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Hostel :) Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kool Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #40 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked Kool Backers via Hostel world for a few nights whilst visiting Phuket. This was my first experience of a hostel and can safely say I would without a doubt return. Not only were the rates cheap but the people who run this are lovely and will accommodate you in any way they can. There was 5 of us on check in and we were unable to all be in one dorm however the second night they moved us all into the same dorm, Everyone is friendly, as there was 5 of us we didn't mix much however if you were travelling solo it seems the ideal place to make friends from all over the world. The rooms are spotless, freshly painted and all come with a quote on the wall on each room. There is an area in reception with a large table, a fridge to buy drinks, a plasma tv and chairs and leather sofas for those looking for a bit chill time. The only negative thing I found was in the second dorm in the front corridor it was noisy as this is located bang central in the middle of Bangla Road and directly opposite the immense Tiger bar so if your sleep is precious maybe note this at the time you book.
The showers / toilets and bathrooms were always clean and spotless. Showers are individual curtained cubicles and toilet paper is provided (not always there but not often it wasn't). There are also lockers provided but you do require your own padlock. Over all a fantastic hostel and would highly recommend as location is fantastic as is the service!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if sleep is essential :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vixyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 181 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hostel is spot on if you want to enjoy phuket nightlife. Its on Bangla street where you can expect all sorts of things happening till the sun rises. The rooms were great (we stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm) and the corridor had plenty of place to sit and relax. The restrooms were also very clean! The hosts are great; They helped us in finding the tours, directions. I strongly recommend this place if you don't mind the rush outside the hostel. Inside it is very quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostroadwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was so lucky to have found the place just walking by on Bangla Road. The rooms were very very clean as were the bathrooms and showers. The price was very reasonable considering it had air conditioning. Also the host, Bee was really nice. Will definitely be heading back there next time I come to Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

hahah this place is amazing if you are done looking at temples and being a tourist... The location is right in the middle of it all. Great for young people looking to party... very clean... great accommodations... and you will love the staff.. if you are between the ages of 20 and 30... stayyyy here. You and the other 30+ guests will have a great time together.... Oh bring bathroom stuff.. like a towel, shampoo, and soap... its above a supermarket.. so if you dont have it dont worry just walk downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pp213208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The first time i arrived...i really doubt it, because you must go to the hostel through the alley..
but when i at the hostel..it was amazing..

clean, cozy, and have a friendly receptionist..
have a home theater kit and DVD...and TV cable programs
but not just that..

i booked a dorm with 6 people capacities, it was so comfy.
it has powerplug beside each other bed, so you can use it without fighting with your friends,hahahaha..thats a plus for me, and air conditioned
like the shared bathroom, clean and neat.

the position is right in the middle of bangla road, so strategic for me.
if you want to have fun go mad, just climb down from your hostel, and the party is waiting for you..

this is the hostel that i want to book again if i go to phuket for another trip
best treatment and facilities for a cheap price..nothing like it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When I first arrived to Patong I was not a huge fan, but thank goodness I found Kool backpacker hostel. The staff is FANTASTIC! They remember your name, they help you, chat with you whenever they see you, and they make you feel at home. The place is pretty new, but things run very smoothly. The rooms are clean, and I like how theres separate bathroom/shower rooms for men and women. The lobby has comfortable couches and a TV, and many guests hang out there. Wireless works in the lobby areas and in the rooms too.
One of the reasons why I was not a huge fan of Patong when I first arrived was the extent of partying in Bangla Rd. It is like the Vegas of Phuket. However, it was very easy for me to meet people in this hostel, so we went out to the bars together and had a fantastic time. The location of the hostel is great too! So if you're too tired or whatever, you can easily go back to sleep.

I spent new years in this hostel, and they offered free food and played music. I'm telling you, the staff is amazing. Wish I could go back just to hang out with them :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you looking for a backpackers in Phuket and you want something with hot showers, friendly front of house, western toilets, wifi, chill areae, lockers and rooms of 4 - 6 people (that big which is nice, cause you will sleep) , center of Bangal road, airconed rooms and mattress that are actually real mattresses then this is the place to come, it costs a little more but its cheaper than any of the hotels or 'rooms to rent' and it is deffs worth it.

It's new and its setting a whole new standard for the backpackers, come and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Patong Backpacker Hostel
Patong Backpacker Hostel
#32 of 241 in Patong
172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fin Hostel Phuket
Fin Hostel Phuket
#6 of 124 in Karon
222 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hao Hostel
Hao Hostel
#10 of 14 in Talat Yai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#2 of 14 in Talat Yai
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balcony Hostel
Balcony Hostel
#15 of 241 in Patong
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
BearPacker Patong Hostel
BearPacker Patong Hostel
#3 of 241 in Patong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kool Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kool Backpacker Hostel

Address: 31 Bangla Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kool Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the middle of bangla night life road just second to walk to patong beach frontcentre of all entertainment in patong beach the best location of Within the Kool backpacker hostel you will find yourself at the heart of the action of PatongÂ’s most vibrant street Soi Bangla, yet just two minutes from the beach. Inside, we've captured the electrifying with modern and exciting finishings, quirky lighting design and music systems. Up on the roof sits Climax, one of PhuketÂ’s most ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kool Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Backpacker Hostel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing