We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, party location, perfect design for backpaskers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kool Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #34 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, party location, perfect design for backpaskers”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When I first arrived to Patong I was not a huge fan, but thank goodness I found Kool backpacker hostel. The staff is FANTASTIC! They remember your name, they help you, chat with you whenever they see you, and they make you feel at home. The place is pretty new, but things run very smoothly. The rooms are clean, and I like how theres separate bathroom/shower rooms for men and women. The lobby has comfortable couches and a TV, and many guests hang out there. Wireless works in the lobby areas and in the rooms too.
One of the reasons why I was not a huge fan of Patong when I first arrived was the extent of partying in Bangla Rd. It is like the Vegas of Phuket. However, it was very easy for me to meet people in this hostel, so we went out to the bars together and had a fantastic time. The location of the hostel is great too! So if you're too tired or whatever, you can easily go back to sleep.

I spent new years in this hostel, and they offered free food and played music. I'm telling you, the staff is amazing. Wish I could go back just to hang out with them :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
11
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you looking for a backpackers in Phuket and you want something with hot showers, friendly front of house, western toilets, wifi, chill areae, lockers and rooms of 4 - 6 people (that big which is nice, cause you will sleep) , center of Bangal road, airconed rooms and mattress that are actually real mattresses then this is the place to come, it costs a little more but its cheaper than any of the hotels or 'rooms to rent' and it is deffs worth it.

It's new and its setting a whole new standard for the backpackers, come and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

excellent hostel, they are still finishing it, so there are still some parts that need work.
the common area is very nice, big tv, great speakers, always a film going on, and if don't, you can either put one available yourself or buy one dvd on the street and bring it to the hostel.

air conditioning in the rooms kinda compensated for the lack of windows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi22ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in December 2012. It is still an up and coming hostel but once everything is finished this place will be great. The staff is very helpful and has a lot of convenient bookings available at the front desk for great prices. The lounge area is great- always playing great movies and its really easy to meet fellow travellers from all over the world. The bathrooms are super clean !!! Great water pressure in the showers, and the bedrooms are clean as well. Its in a very convenient location, although it is on a popular night life street so plan on getting to bed early ! Its a quick walk to the beach and there are great restaurants, bars, and shopping literally right downstairs. Overall a very ideal hostel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, Dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is brilliant, the staff can't do enough to help you,, facilities perfect, location perfect, great value for money,, easy to meet other travellers, spacious lounge area,, cannot fault the place, booked 2 nights,, ended staying for 8,, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my friend were recomended to stay at this hostel by some other friends who were staying there. It is newly opended and the rooms and shared bathroom are very clean and air con is always a bonus. Great location on Bangla road if you are there for a party and near all the bars, the beach and the mall, and the plus side the rooms were not noisy at night time. The best part about this hostel is the staff. The couple and staff that ran it would help you with anything, help you book things, have a chat with you and even put got friend dinner and put her to bed after a few too many. Its a shame we could only stand patong for 2 nights as we would have stayed longer if this hostel was in a different place in thailand. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I loved my stay here! The brand new facilities were awesome and really clean. Staff were really friendly and willing to help with everything as well as have a friendly chat! The hostel is in the perfect location. Less than a minutes walk to the beach and the vibrant nightlife experience of Bangla road is right outside the door! Also really close to the Junceylon shopping mall. Great place to meet other travellers. I'd definitely recommend this hostel for anyone wishing to visit Phuket! 10/10 :-D

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narnie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.1 mi away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#109 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patong Backpacker Hostel
Patong Backpacker Hostel
#24 of 221 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balcony Hostel
Balcony Hostel
#9 of 221 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wire Hostel Patong
Wire Hostel Patong
#14 of 221 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#1 of 12 in Talat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lupta Hostel
Lupta Hostel
#3 of 221 in Patong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kool Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kool Backpacker Hostel

Property: Kool Backpacker Hostel
Address: 31 Bangla Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the middle of bangla night life road just second to walk to patong beach frontcentre of all entertainment in patong beach the best location of Within the Kool backpacker hostel you will find yourself at the heart of the action of PatongÂ’s most vibrant street Soi Bangla, yet just two minutes from the beach. Inside, we've captured the electrifying with modern and exciting finishings, quirky lighting design and music systems. Up on the roof sits Climax, one of PhuketÂ’s most ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kool Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Backpacker Hostel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing