We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option in Ao Patong”

Phuket Paradise Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Paradise Hotel
Ranked #206 of 406 Patong B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget option in Ao Patong”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated, and although the room was not very spacious it was not uncomfortably small. The breakfast in bed was a delight to start our day. Also, the staff is really helpful on booking transportation around the island, and they rent scooters that you can pick up right outside the hotel. However, not all the information was equally helpful, as they recommended that we purchase the gas sold at small stalls and that proved to be much more expensive than going to a service station. There are perhaps cheaper options if you branch out of the hotel but this is very convenient.
The hotel is centrally located, at walking distance from the beach, the lively bangla road and the mall. If you want to move out of Ao Patong, a scooter is a reasonably cheap option that will give you more independence that taking several taxis or tuk tuks.
You will find fancier and more glamorous lodgings in Ao Patong, even an the beach front, but if you are on a tighter budget the price difference will be substantial. We would definitely return to Phuket Paradise Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Das_AnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Thanks for your kind words.

We get asked advice daily, and it is just a matter of our own opinion. You are correct about the fuel situation. The petrol station is definitely cheaper by 10 Baht (~USD 0.30) cheaper per liter. But the reason we don't recommend it is because there is only one petrol in station in all of Patong, and it is on the opposite side of town. We just look at the opportunity cost of the time spent to buy 2 or 3 liters for a rental scooter and encourage guests to just buy what people sell on the side of the street rather than take the time and navigate through two sections of road construction and a busy area (near the mountain pass) to save about a dollar for fuel that would last a day or two. Most guests are anxious to get to their beach destinations or nightclub activities. But you are correct about he street-side petrol being more expensive per liter. If one was going to circumnavigate all of Phuket and burn a lot of fuel, a visit to the petrol station might be better than buying road-side fuel.

Advice from me or the staff more often than not what saves our guests time and money. But we also look at opportunity costs. We often tell guests where to find the least expensive food or clean massage. We explain where the more beautiful beaches are located and what day-trips or excursions are more value for their money. But yes, it is only our opinion.

Thanks for the feedback. We hope you visit us again.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
32
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I went there with my girlfriend. 1st time in Thailand.

Everything was great! From the breakfast to the great service. Staff were always at hand to help or answer questions. Special mention about Louis. He gave us the low down on all there is to know about Patong and the best places to go party, eat, get massages etc.

The rooms were always clean and the bed very comfy!

The balcony is a must for some fresh air and the top floor is great for relaxing!

They organised us a scooter as soon as they could, even during the peak season between 25/12 till New Years. We stayed there from the 28th of Dec 2013 till the 7th of Jan 2014 and I would recommend it to anyone.

P.S if you go, Ask for Hack. He works front of house and is a very nice guy to chat to if Louis is unavailable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseMachill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your kind words...

I was surprised to find out you work in the travel industry. We try to keep on our toes for professionals like yourself.

We enjoy you as guests. We hope to see you next year. And yes, just ask for me if you don't see me at the front desk. I live in the hotel so usually if you just ask, staff can find me within minutes.

Thanks again,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we stayed for christmas for 5 days and we are VERY unhappy with this hotel booked on mainly the reviews we seen on trip advisor. every review i read mentioned a so called character 'louis', tis 'louis' character is the ghost of the hotel who we never had the so called pleasure of being introduced to. when i actually discovered who louis was, not once did he make one effort to acknowledge us, help us or offer us any service or tell us about our free scooter that was available for our use or our free elephant trekking trip which we did not get to go on. other than louis the rest of the staff were helpful and friendly. the wifi was was the worst i have ever come across, one bar if you stayed still on a good day which was very inconvenient for me. one good thing i will say is that the breakfast in bed is lovely. would not recommend and I am not that picky, usually very happy with hotels!

Room Tip: we stayed in the so called best room and that was like a box!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Emma,

We have run many packages in the past. Some included island trips, motor scooters, and yes, elephant trekking, But we have never offered a package that included all the items to a guest. No one has ever been denied a package they booked. (Our free scooter package ended last 30 September, although people who booked during the promotion are getting their scooters to this day.) A quick look at your booking from Booking.com only says "Breakfast":

Room Name ........: Deluxe Double Room with Balcony - Non-refundable - Breakfast included
Arrival Date .....: 2014-02-21
Departure Date ...: 2014-02-26
Guest ............: Emma Nolan

You had one of the nicest rooms in the hotel, with a balcony, on the quiet side, away from the noise or the tuk-tuks and motorbikes. I don't know what you mean when you say your room was "like a box." Yes, your room is square, but it is exactly as pictured online. We are only a 3 star facility, not a 5 star villa with suites.

WiFi is hit or miss here in Thailand. Our hotel pays for the highest and most expensive Internet package. During the high season, the local infrastructure is somewhat lacking in a developing country. Phuket has regular power outages, and it seems that if it rains a single drop, the Internet fails. I watch movies and listen to live streaming in the hotel on a regular basis, but yes, sometimes the Internet on the island is less than best.

You mention I "didn't offer you any service." I am not sure what service you though you were entitled to from me. I also don't quite understand me being the "ghost of the hotel." I own the hotel, but am not hotel staff, per se. I see and orient many guests to the Patong area, but during the "super peak" Christmas season it is possible I missed you. I am sure if you had asked to see or meet with me, I would have gladly set a time to meet help orient you to the area. Your writing seems a bit of a personal attack, which I don't understand if you say that you had little or no interaction with me.

At any rate, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. In retrospect, I wish you would have put in a request for whatever you felt was lacking. We strive to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Was just 2 days, but was a good stayed.
Staffs friendly, good breakfast; served right on time the order and calm even being in Patong.
The wi-fi is very good!
Clean room, nice bed.
I forgot my jacket and they kept to me! Just wish they post, but my friend should take there.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. Your jacket is at the front desk.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very good location near beach and most facilities. The rooms are neat and tidy and you definitely get your monies worth. The breakfast is good. We were very pleased with our choice and would stay here again.
The down side would be poor internet signal, but not the end of the world.
For families with baby prams etc, the hotel has no elevator.
Staff very nice and helpful.
Important info if you take the minibus from the airport is to check you are dropped at the correct hotel before the bus leaves. We just saw Paradise and got off but it was another hotel. The lady on reception told us it always happens because the drivers cant be bothered to drive into the very center of Patong. We had to pay another 300 bahts to get a tuktuk to the hotel 3 kms further into center of Patong.

Room Tip: Dont get a room towards the back street behind the hotel. Every night a pack of wild dogs turned up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We love repeat visitors. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The room is exactly as it appears in the pictures on the website. Clean, modern and provides for all your needs.

The breakfast in bed is also a great touch and adds a touch of luxury to your morning.

Location wise - the hotel is on one of the back streets from the beach in Patong. However you can easily get to the beach via the numerous motorbike taxis or your own bike If you hire one. I personally recommend to get one as the beaches are a lot nicer elsewhere on the island - however Patong allows you to have a great night out and is a good base.

There were some road works along the road from the hotel - however it wasn't something that caused many issues. And I'm sure things will only approve as the year goes on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We hope we see you again.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hi I stayed at the Phuket Paradise hotel in December and stayed in one of the single rooms. Everything was great the hotel was always clean, the staff were always lovely and the location of the hotel was perfect away from the noise, however near enough to walk to beach and shops. The price of the single rooms are unbeatable and the air condition in the room worked well.

Room Tip: Please note that you have to share a bathroom if you have a single room and breakfast is not include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis L, Owner at Phuket Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I remember you well, Sarah. You were one of our more gracious guests in a long while, riding patiently with all the bumps and challenges of a developing nation during it's peak period, experiencing about 9 million visitors a years. I could tell you are an accomplished traveler.

I thoroughly enjoy chatting with you. I hope you visit us again. I have plenty of stories to tell.

Thank you for your kind words. And yes, while the single rooms are the cheapest way to stay for long term guests, you will be glad about a couple improvements we made since your stay. I added 46 plants to the roof terrace, lining 2 sides with Oleanders,and I added a bathroom caddy for guests to carry their soaps to and fro their rooms so they don't leave their bottles in the bathroom.

Please come again when you find the time. We will have a lot to catch up on.

Cordially,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The SR Residence
The SR Residence
#260 of 321 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Patong Hotel
Forest Patong Hotel
#146 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Squareone
Squareone
#144 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Yim Siam Hotel
The Yim Siam Hotel
#35 of 406 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backstage Inn
Backstage Inn
#104 of 406 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cocoon Patong
The Cocoon Patong
#43 of 221 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Paradise Hotel

Property: Phuket Paradise Hotel
Address: 178/16-17 Pungmuang Sai Ko Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phuket Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new budget hotel that offers clean, quiet rooms. Our hotel is walking distance to the beach, Bangla Road, and Paradise Complex. We offer a stay unlike others: FREE breakfast-in-bed ), FREE use of a local handphone (to stay in touch with each other or locals), FREE wi-fi, and many great packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Phuket Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Paradise Hotel Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing