We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel Patong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Hotel Patong
Ranked #49 of 389 Patong B&B and Inns
Parnu, Estonia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You certainly can't complain about anything. We stayed 3 nights and got it with 13 euros per night through agoda. For this money you really get a great deal, probably best. We stayed before in a different hotel but when we decided to change the hotel, we walked in to different hotels nearby. The rooms were similar everywhere, but star hotel was cheapest and it had a lcd tv, while others had an old tv. So it was even nicer and we also got a room overlooking to the street so the view was better than in some places where you can see just the wall of a next hotel trough your window.
Rooms are clean, cozy, spacious and nice.
Area is also good, not so much noise and the same time near to everything, beach and main street.
Definitely recommended.
And as for last two comments, I can't really imagine that you expect more of a luxury for just 13 euros or you think it is too simple. It is aiming to be a budget hotel, not five star residence.
Amazing value, one of the best budget hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriliis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    22
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
24
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed there for 8 nights in February - everything was okay but there are definitely no luxuries. The location is excellent if you want to be close to the beach / restaurants but not stay in the noisy Patong center. To be fair no place in Patong is totally quiet, and if you have a room on the street side there will be some loud music during the night etc. There's a receptionist downstairs but they really don't care if someone is making noise in the corridor and sometimes they seemed to be more interested in watching tv anyways. So all in all a good hotel if you're looking for a simple stay but nothing more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be a bit noisy but on the other hand the rooms on the "quiet side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah_12189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were at this hotel during Songkran. It's a budget hotel in Patong area, very very basic. They do have a pool at the roof deck but you won't dare swim, it's dirty. I don't think they have enough staff to maintain the pool, so you won't see guests going up that part of the hotel to enjoy the pool especially after a long day at the beach.

The receptionists are very helpful, they can pretty much help you with anything. But during our first night, I called the reception and the owner of the hotel was the one who handled my call, I asked if they have an adaptor plug 'coz we need to charge our phones, and he said flat-out, no we don't have! That kind of tone that says, that's the answer and you can't ask me anything more, that's as far as you can get! So I just said, oh ok then thanks. But I do think they should provide their guests with this basic necessity, the fact that their guests comes from all parts of the world, it's a common knowledge that power plugs are different in certain countries and it's important that guests charge their phones!

Overall it's a pretty decent place, room is clean, a bit loud that time we stayed there considering it's Songkran, that's a pretty big event in Thailand. Hotel is about 10-15 mins walk from Patong beach, lots of places to eat too. But i'll prolly try another place to stay in when I go back to Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesTamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennebont, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

i stayed here 5 night... good place for every people ( young and old), quiet when you would like sleep, is not same everywhere in patong , elevator , swiming pool, and safety because the receptionnist stay here all the night, so if you have any problem its okay!motorbike for rent too. the staff are nice, given that place and option the price its okay ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romanocry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We hired a car (in advance) that I drove from the airport to this hotel. It is about a 50min drive. It is the far end of the Patong strip. I got a little lost at the very end and the lovely receptionist talked me in and went and stood on the main road waiting for us. We could always find parking outside the hotel.

Check in was very easy. I booked a room without a balcony, and my parents had a room with a balcony. Both rooms were identical, with the exception of the balcony, which my parents loved.

The rooms were very spacious, super clean, with air con, a fridge and TV. The fridge had items in for sale that were priced almost the same as the minimart around the corner, very reasonable. Basic toiletries were provided, as we're 2 bottles of water daily.

My Mum cannot walk without a stick and struggles to balance on her feet. The first day she found the bathroom floor a little slippy however next day the owner saw my Mum and gave her a non slip shower mat, still in its wrapper. Now that is excellent service.

There is a lift that was always super quick, and the free wi-fi worked throughout the hotel.

On the roof is a lovely pool. Not quite big enough for lengths but big enough to cool down in. There are plenty of sun lingers, and very comfortable too. The hotel reception provide towels for the pool.

Reception were always so helpful. They can arrange tours, at no more than the street agents, they can drop your laundry off at the place across the street if you go out. They would do anything you required to make your stay as good as possible.

It is about a 10min walk to the Patong strip and the start of the beach, or grab a tuk tuk. The benefits of being off the strip mean you don't have noise at night when you wish to sleep.

I could not fault anything. Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a gem. It's super clean with large rooms comfortable beds large bathroom with good shower,air con and free water daily. The hotel is a few mins walk from the beach and in a perfect location that is quite with nice restaurants with night market up the road every 2nd night. The hotel is such a reasonable price for the quality you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great value, big rooms, clean, new, air conditioning working, not far from the beach.
Swimming pool which doesn't close at 20:00 like most of them in Patong. Perfect if you would like to chill your body later at night (particularly after sunburn) .
Staff extremely helpful and smiley, you can feel that they are here to help you.
Maybe if they have a bar - that would be a 6 stars - but I didn't find it inconvenient.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#60 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#78 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
FunDee Boutique Hotel
FunDee Boutique Hotel
#102 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lemongrass Hotel
Lemongrass Hotel
#8 of 389 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renoir Boutique Hotel
Renoir Boutique Hotel
#18 of 389 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gallery Hotel
The Gallery Hotel
#17 of 389 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Patong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Patong

Property: Star Hotel Patong
Address: 34 / 103, 34 / 104 Prachanookhro Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Patong 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new hotel is furnished in a modern style and is ideally located. It's placed at the junction that connects, in few minutes walk, to "Patong beach", the Jungceylon -the biggest shopping center of the city- , and the street that leads directly to the most beautiful beaches in the south of Phuket.The "Star Hotel" has 28 rooms and is suitable for family holidays, single vacations or time off with friends. This is due to the proximity of the major night-life attractions and the absolute value of rooms sold at reasonable prices. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV, telephone, free wifi internet access, safe deposit box and minibar. Third bed is on request.Other services available to our clients are: swimming pool, elevator, Free Wifi, breakfast available, solarium, motorbike rental, elevator, free parking in front of the lobby, laundry, night watchman, 2 internet stations, taxi service, tour service. The reception is open 24 h.Our smiling staff will be glad to welcome you and will be at your disposal to make you spend a great, relaxing holiday in Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Star Hotel Patong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Patong Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing