We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere !”
Review of ELLA Bar & Bistro

ELLA Bar & Bistro
Ranked #72 of 583 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: ELLA Bistro is a new, concept bar, restaurant, and boutique hotel.Aimed at tourists and locals alike who want more than the average fare, ELLA serves fresh, inspired cuisine in a setting to match. We look forward to serving you.Raising the Bar in Phuket's Patong City.Form follows function at our beautiful minimal design ELLA Bistro.Concrete truly lays the foundation, softened by reclaimed wood, reinforced by industrial steel finishes.We have serious coffee, and we truly love food.We have created a constantly evolving and changing menu.Music is as important to us as breathing.We don't want the ordinary.Our menu of Breakfast and lunch is served all day and evenings are about experiencing the other side - the cocktails matched with the atmosphere!Our ideas, thoughts, inspiration and ingredients come from our collective journey.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to Ella Bar on the recomendation from RK Tailor and tried their cocktail buffet..Very nice music and a great atmosphere..Friendly staff and a quiet place from all the bars outside.

1  Thank greta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks!

Yeah we pride ourselves on being an oasis in the chaos as I've said before somewhere here :)
I recommend RK Tailor at the end of the street too!

Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for ELLA Bar & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 179 of 227 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here as we were impressed with the online reviews and menu.

It was a little tricky to find so after walking more than we needed to we eventually found it. We were happy with the setting and the feel of the venue. It is modern and clean and feels very different to the noise and sometimes dingy feel of Bangla.

I was expecting high quality food and was disappointed that my fish and chips looked suspiciously like a frozen ready meal. My husband's Thai soup was average but better than the fish and chips. Overall, this is a good place to have a few drinks with a good atmosphere, but the food does not reach the standards that you would expect from looking at the menu and it was in the end an average bar meal.

The service was also poor, after being served promptly on our inital arrival we struggled to order more drinks or get our bill, in the end we cut short our evening and headed home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 825Lisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello,

Yes we are a little tricky to find at the moment. The end of street signage should be going in this week or the next.

Upon reading your review I ordered the fish & chips.
I must agree that it wasn't well above par like the rest of our menu - so I have reworked the dish to include a different cut of fish and a much lighter beer batter.
As for resembling a frozen meal, well to the best of our knowledge none of us here really eat frozen meals, so we'll have to take your word on that.

We have an open kitchen so all are welcome to observe anything at all times.

As for the Thai 'soup' more detail is required I'm afraid, as we have several soup based Thai dishes, but I've let my acclaimed Thai chef know that you weren't impressed.

As for the service lacking, perhaps it was a mis-communication, perhaps they were lacking on the night, or maybe they had the impression that you were both ok, and didn't want for anything more, etc. It's hard to say, although I do know my staff pride themselves on prompt attentive service so, apologies our there.

May I make a suggestion?
If you feel something doesn't measure up during a dining experience why not simply let the owners/manager know then and there??
You may find the item is promptly taken of your bill, as well as providing the establishment a chance to rectify any issues on the spot, be they a one-off, or an area that needs further improvement.
Saves a good establishment from suffering for a perceived sin forevermore due to the permanence of an unforgiving internet review/opinion based on what may have been just a one-off?
The web is a fantastic tool and has empowered the consumer greatly, but it's worth remembering that with power comes responsibility.

thanks again - The ELLA Team. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ella Bar Bistrot Hotel is a very Design Bar Bistrot Hotel. 150 m from Patong Beach. Good Location. Nice All Day Breakfast Menu. Very Good Cappucino & Fresh Juices. Good Food all Day Long. Nice interior. Hotel Rooms Design. Nice Place To Stay. Very Friendly Staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you!
we are glad you liked ELLA, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A must go in Patong if you like a real 5star breakfast for a great price. fantastic 'non-Thai" style breakfast! lol
nice relaxing atmosphere with great decor
air conditioning
Quiet
friendly staff

Dont miss it
thanks ELLA!!!

2  Thank Gem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello,

Good to see that what we strive for being appreciated!
Yes we do a real breakfast, regardless of Thai or Western food. The rest of the menu is up to the same standards too.

We like our quiet oasis in Patong, glad you did too.

P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a pre-dinner drink & had a great time. The drinks were fantastic & the atmosphere was relaxed. A nice break from the hectic vibe of Patong's main strip. We met the bar's owner who ensured that we had a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rcjh4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for the review!
Always nice to hear good feedback. Hope we see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ELLA Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ELLA Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing