We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a drink but the food and service are disappointing”
Review of ELLA Bar & Bistro

ELLA Bar & Bistro
Ranked #73 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ELLA Bistro is a new, concept bar, restaurant, and boutique hotel.Aimed at tourists and locals alike who want more than the average fare, ELLA serves fresh, inspired cuisine in a setting to match. We look forward to serving you.Raising the Bar in Phuket's Patong City.Form follows function at our beautiful minimal design ELLA Bistro.Concrete truly lays the foundation, softened by reclaimed wood, reinforced by industrial steel finishes.We have serious coffee, and we truly love food.We have created a constantly evolving and changing menu.Music is as important to us as breathing.We don't want the ordinary.Our menu of Breakfast and lunch is served all day and evenings are about experiencing the other side - the cocktails matched with the atmosphere!Our ideas, thoughts, inspiration and ingredients come from our collective journey.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place for a drink but the food and service are disappointing”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here as we were impressed with the online reviews and menu.

It was a little tricky to find so after walking more than we needed to we eventually found it. We were happy with the setting and the feel of the venue. It is modern and clean and feels very different to the noise and sometimes dingy feel of Bangla.

I was expecting high quality food and was disappointed that my fish and chips looked suspiciously like a frozen ready meal. My husband's Thai soup was average but better than the fish and chips. Overall, this is a good place to have a few drinks with a good atmosphere, but the food does not reach the standards that you would expect from looking at the menu and it was in the end an average bar meal.

The service was also poor, after being served promptly on our inital arrival we struggled to order more drinks or get our bill, in the end we cut short our evening and headed home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 825Lisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello,

Yes we are a little tricky to find at the moment. The end of street signage should be going in this week or the next.

Upon reading your review I ordered the fish & chips.
I must agree that it wasn't well above par like the rest of our menu - so I have reworked the dish to include a different cut of fish and a much lighter beer batter.
As for resembling a frozen meal, well to the best of our knowledge none of us here really eat frozen meals, so we'll have to take your word on that.

We have an open kitchen so all are welcome to observe anything at all times.

As for the Thai 'soup' more detail is required I'm afraid, as we have several soup based Thai dishes, but I've let my acclaimed Thai chef know that you weren't impressed.

As for the service lacking, perhaps it was a mis-communication, perhaps they were lacking on the night, or maybe they had the impression that you were both ok, and didn't want for anything more, etc. It's hard to say, although I do know my staff pride themselves on prompt attentive service so, apologies our there.

May I make a suggestion?
If you feel something doesn't measure up during a dining experience why not simply let the owners/manager know then and there??
You may find the item is promptly taken of your bill, as well as providing the establishment a chance to rectify any issues on the spot, be they a one-off, or an area that needs further improvement.
Saves a good establishment from suffering for a perceived sin forevermore due to the permanence of an unforgiving internet review/opinion based on what may have been just a one-off?
The web is a fantastic tool and has empowered the consumer greatly, but it's worth remembering that with power comes responsibility.

thanks again - The ELLA Team. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    68
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ella Bar Bistrot Hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ella Bar Bistrot Hotel is a very Design Bar Bistrot Hotel. 150 m from Patong Beach. Good Location. Nice All Day Breakfast Menu. Very Good Cappucino & Fresh Juices. Good Food all Day Long. Nice interior. Hotel Rooms Design. Nice Place To Stay. Very Friendly Staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you!
we are glad you liked ELLA, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST IN PATONG!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A must go in Patong if you like a real 5star breakfast for a great price. fantastic 'non-Thai" style breakfast! lol
nice relaxing atmosphere with great decor
air conditioning
Quiet
friendly staff

Dont miss it
thanks ELLA!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello,

Good to see that what we strive for being appreciated!
Yes we do a real breakfast, regardless of Thai or Western food. The rest of the menu is up to the same standards too.

We like our quiet oasis in Patong, glad you did too.

P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great drinking venue”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a pre-dinner drink & had a great time. The drinks were fantastic & the atmosphere was relaxed. A nice break from the hectic vibe of Patong's main strip. We met the bar's owner who ensured that we had a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rcjh4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for the review!
Always nice to hear good feedback. Hope we see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Yao Noi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food !”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spend a night in Ella Bar & Bistro a few weeks ago and was surprised to find food with so high quality in the middle of Patong. Everything was perfectly cooked in the open kitchen.

Ella also have a different and interesting interior which gives the restaurant a special ambience and great sourandings for a good dinner.

We also enjoyed the live music with a cocktails in the cosy chairs outdoor after our dinner.

Ella can be a little hard to find, but if you want to have a great night out with good food and a different setting than you normally get in hectic Patong - use the time it take to find it. Its worths it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLA2555, Owner at ELLA Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. It means a lot coming from folks who own a successful restaurant themselves! Yes we are a little hard to find - signage going up this week!

Glad you enjoyed it, and looking forward to meeting again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ELLA Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing