We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to far not to close ”
Review of The Senses Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Senses Resort
Ranked #12 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not to far not to close ”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the senses for 7 nights before leaving for koh samui.

Amazing hotel, rooms are new, large and modern. Stayed in the deluxe sea view room.

Short walk to shopping mall and bangla rd only 10 minutes, it's not worth catching a taxi or tuk tuk, save the money and walk, there is also a senses shuttle for free.

Staff are friendly and polite.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Onepowerball01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Onepowerball01, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

It was pleasure having you with us and we are delighted you all enjoyed with our Deluxe Sea View room with the great location in the natural mountainous setting with a short walk to the shopping mall and live entertainment venue.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    234
    69
    26
    21
See reviews for
113
409
36
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cesky Krumlov
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I chose The Senses as a place to "gather" ourselves after island-hopping, and before our big 25-hour flight back home. I booked this place as a small last "splurge."

Please note that The Senses is nestled in a hillside, about a 20-minute walk to Patong Beach. It's a bit of a misnomer that they call themselves The Senses, Patong Beach. They do offer a free tuk tuk service to and from town throughout the day, but it's only a 200 THB tuk tuk ride at any time from the beach. I don't recommend walking into town, especially with children, as a lot of the road is without a shoulder and a little bit dangerous.

The hotel staff was wonderfully accommodating with our requests. Upon arrival, we were greeted with some lovely jasmine/orange juice, check-in went smoothly, and we were taken to our rooms. We were upgraded from city view to ocean-view rooms, and it was lovely to watch the big oceanliners pull in to Phuket's harbour. The rooms had everything you would expect in a 4-5 star hotel: slippers and robes, good TV satelite, free coffee & tea making equipment, hairdryer, free wifi, excellent shower with good pressure, excellent pool with poolside service & free towels, great pool bar (with excellent, attentive staff), and there was always some sort of live entertainment or event while we were there. (Band at the Love Lounge our first night, Seafood Lover's Special Poolside with Bad on the second evening).

Beds were the best we experienced in Thailand and all the amenities were perfect. Our special discount rate with agoda didn't include breakfast, so we paid for breakfast, which was a wonderfully laid-out spread with dim sum options, Thai options and your typical American/European options. We were fine with paying for this, as this was the best breakfast we experienced in Thailand. But if you are going to book through agoda or booking.com, make sure you pay a little extra for the booking with breakfast, as it cost us about 20 dollars per person extra when we had to pay for it out of pocket.

We had a late flight out of Phuket, and at most hotels or B&Bs, you are SOL if you need to have a place to loiter before you go. This was not the case at The Senses. Without any extra prodding, the staff offered to hold our luggage for the day and let us use all the pool facilities at no extra cost. This was an incredibly kind gesture and very much appreciated, as we were tired of Patong Beach's hustle and bustle and just needed to soak up those extra rays of sun and get the kinks out before folding ourselves into an Airbus A380.

Thanks to The Senses for making our last night in Thailand memorable and so so comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms (a double and a twin room) on the first floor above the pool. They were both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolynZukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Rayzahara, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

It was pleasure having you and your family with us and we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback especially your compliment on room along with the most comfortable bed and our staff service as well as your appraisal on the best breakfast that all are motivating us for the best of your service again.
We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Once a year at least we like to go somewhere exotic....we chose this hotel on reviews but I would never recommend it to anyone.
We were not given a king as booked we were given a twin...with a 7 month old that's really tough and no fun. We were promised a room move the following morning....no one bothered to contact us till day 3. We were out so they assumed we would change rooms. Came back at 10pm with baby only to be found our room not made. Receptionist could not communicate in English and was rude. We were not happy at all.pizzeria down the road superb!!!!

Room Tip: The higher you go the more lifts you need to take...it's a pain...especially if you have a pram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayzahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Rayzahara, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

We are deeply regretted that our service were unable to meet your expectation and offer sincerest apology for any inconvenience caused your side. For your valued feedback, we thank you and are grateful for and we attempt to refine our service and communication in order to avoid any misunderstanding that would lead to the dissatisfaction. We trust that in the future you will not have any occasion to have this unsatisfied experience again.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned from a ten night stay here, the hotel is stunning, clean, modern and safe. On our first night we took a walk around Patong and we were very concerned and not impressed due to the hive of activity, dirt and constantly being asked for a "massage", however, after another go at walking about we came to get used to it, at no point did we not feel safe. I must admit Patong is not our kind of holiday but thankfully we had a beautiful hotel to relax in which was quite bazar considering the madness that is happening with a three minute walk from the hotel, it was as if you were in a different place altogether. The staff are very courteous and polite, the food in the hotel is excellent (breakfast was just ok), we enjoyed lunches and dinners. The pool is contemporary and really cool place to chill, there is also a poolside bar which is great to. The rooms are very spacious and modern, (they did have rooms at the lower end of the complex which wasn't near pool etc try and avoid those rooms) prior to arrival we asked to get up-graded to a deluxe sea view room, don't think that your getting a sea view, well you can see it but you've to look for it, it is a considerable distance away, in saying that the rooms are superb. There's not a lot of entertainment in the hotel but this didn't bother us as we went out every evening and sought our own entertainment. I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend it. We went to James Bond Island (booked literally outside of the hotel and it was 50% cheaper!,), we also went shooting, this will only last about fifteen minutes as it is very expensive and you only get ten bullets per gun, the place is only a short drive from hotel, we booked through hotel who arranged the transport. We also went to Katong beach which was breathtaking. I recommend going to Tiger Kingdom, again we booked through hotel, unreal, you get inside the cages and pet/play with tigers from newborns to pack leading adults#frightening. There is a shopping centre within walking distance called the Big C, some really really beautiful restaurants, one on the right as you go in, (first South American steakhouse in Phuket) the nicest food you'll ever taste, highly recommend the nachos to start! And there steaks are a real speciality. You can arrange for the hotel to collect you in a private car for 1000bht very reasonable. If you're going, book this hotel, you won't be disappointed, it's truly amazing.

Room Tip: At the least book a deluxe sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GARETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear GARETH H, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

Thank you so much for having stayed at The Senses Resort and we are glad that your hotel overall experience is great and your recommendation on our deluxe sea view room that can be assured of having the breathtaking view of Patong whilst enjoying the most specious room with the modern in-room facilities.With it proximity to the shopping mall and the Famous street of Patong, we are delighted that you enjoy the combination of the colorful nightlife and the tranquility and ultimate relaxation during your stay in the resort.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights and this hotel is very good ,it's is at the back of potang and I would not recommend this hotel if you have walking difficulties . What makes this hotel special are the staff ,,what a pleasure and always a smile from them. The rooms are very modern and clean ,this hotel is a safe heaven around the madness of potong.Try to see the surrounding beaches to get the most of your holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Michael W, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

Thank you so much for having stayed at The Senses Resort and we are delighted that the resort regard as your safe heaven whilst enjoying the very attentive services that could complete your unforgettable holiday in Phuket.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Rooms r good .but service is worst i have ever seen .house kepping is poor nd room service even worst.front desk staff is ignorant .half of the electrical sockets in d room r not working.we have ordered fish nd chips nd they were worst we have ever tasted nd fish ws like maybe 3 days old nd when complained they dnt even bother to apology.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mohit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mohit N, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

Thank you so much for having stayed at The Senses Resort and that our resort accommodation makes you enjoyed your stay here meanwhile please accept our kind apologized regarding to the service and your dining experience that did not meet your expectation. Our management team will strongly focus on the issue pointed out for the instant improvement aiming for creating your better moment of comfort and enjoyment in a tropical oasis in Patong.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back for a more laid back holiday in Phuket. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!


Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is very trendy and chic! It sits quite high so you get a city view but the view at night is gorgeous when all lit up. It is quite hilly so if you walk from this hotel you will get a bit of a workout.... It was only 15 mins to the beach however there are some shuttles that will take you to the beach from the hotel 5x/day. It was also 15 mins walk to Bangla Road. The rooms are so large and the views are picturesque. The rooftop pool was the highlight as you feel you are in the mountains! The food unfortunately was average. If i were to go to Patong again, I would pick something close to the beach because it was more lively there however this hotel was clean and very modern! I would recommend this more for couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear shelly D, our valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from the Senses Resort & Spa Patong Phuket!

We are glad that your holiday was memorable and our rooftop pool is impressive for you. Our location is perfect for one who looks for the moment of privacy in the tropical oasis where you and other travelers will be assured of the breathtaking sea view on the rooftop and be surrounded by an array of the beautiful mountains and and nearby locate popular night entertainment venue with a short walk. Your comment will be useful for our prompt improvement and our chef and our management team is very thankful for your kind comment and your recommenation of our hotel for other travellers.

We wish you have a pleasant journey home and we hope to welcome you back in our oasis of Patong in the near future. Rediscover an indulgent Oasis that created just for you!


Warmest Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.9 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 328 in Patong
1,656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 328 in Patong
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.9 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senses Resort

Property: The Senses Resort
Address: 111/7 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#9 Spa Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#41 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Senses Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senses Resort offers a unique ambiance of relaxation, with supremely comfortable accommodation creating a haven of tranquility and wellbeing. With stunning views over the city and azure-blue Andaman Sea beyond, the welcoming resort is an ideal respite for romantic couples and families to unwind and be pampered, yet is only a short distance from the gorgeous tropical beach and colourful streets that Patong is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Senses Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senses Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing