We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, Bad location, and 3 elevators to get to room”
Review of The Senses Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Senses Resort
Ranked #12 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsey78
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, Bad location, and 3 elevators to get to room”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice and the internet is fast. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the beach and up an incredibly steep hill. The staff seems to have little interest in accomdating guests with luggage despite the treacherous conditions. The hotel charged us 250 baht for a 2 minute ride just past the bottom of the hill.

It also took 3 elevators and about 5 minutes to reach our room. Unless your planning on not leaving the property id stay elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ramsey78, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!
Thanks you so much for choosing The Senses Resort Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.

We are very glad to hear that our room and internet service met your expectations anyway we felt very sorry and apologized that the room location could not meet your expectation because our hillside location, the hotel has to construct on the hillside of Patong where it requires three elevators; one elevator links to another elevator on our three buildings and they would bring our guest to the higher tier of the resort. Your room is positioned on the highest tier of the resort for the most outstanding views of the city and Patong Bay and more privacy in your private sanctuary. In case for one who does not like the highest tier of the resort, you can request for the room close to the lobby.

In addition, the hotel intentionally provides you more choice of transportation such as the limousine; the complimentary shuttle bus hourly from 9-6 p. m. or you can find the local taxi down the street for more reasonable price.

However we ultimately regret the inconvenience caused to you about the luggage assistance. The issue would be investigated for the prompt corrective action and hope to impress you more for the next visit. Once again, we are very thankful for your constructive comment for the further improvement.

Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    234
    69
    26
    21
See reviews for
113
409
36
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had to checked in late because of our late flight from Singapore.Even so,we had one of the best holiday thanks to the stay in this hotel .Just down the hotel,there is massage..bar to hang out..food..The Senses is just 10mins walk to Jungceylon Shopping Centre and 15mins walk to Patong beach or the busy Bangla Road.But you do not need to go patong because just around the corner there is some shops basically similar as Bangla Road shopping district..They even have night market where you can get all type of food like noodles,seafood,crackers etc.If it's your first time like us,no worries,hotel provide free shuttle frm 9-6 to Patong beach.

Also our stay was a memorable one,because of the very down to earth and lovely staff of the hotel.They greet us and smile to us and ensure good service.The room and pool was amazing,overseeing Patong and they have a mini pool bar where you can just chill and have some drinks.The staff even ask if we want to get an upgrade to the swimming pool excess with a very good value.We even get a tour package which was more than worth it to Phi Phi Island at the hotel lobby itself.At that last day of our stay,we were just lazying so we ordered room service..It very good,good for value and delicious.

The only thing that I have to complain is the hill going up the hotel hehe but everything else was just superb.Theres more that I would love to talk about but let decide your thots bout this amazing stay.We will difinitely come back to The Senses.Thank you to all the lovely staff and memorable stay<3

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiffyErtyqah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear RiffyErtyqah, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

Thanks you so much for choosing The Senses Resort Phuket Resort & Spa and sparing the time to share your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very delighted to know that you had a the most perfect holiday experience with us and liked our resort’s facilities, especially pool and our staff service; room upgraded with a good value, favorable room service and tour desk service. Importantly, thanks for returning your visit and we ensure that we will proceed on this high service standard.
Additionally, It was a pleasure to provide you with the shuttle bus service and the shortcut to the lobby where we can show you during your stay here. By doing this, the hillside slope might not be an issue and it is our great joy to serve you and we really appreciate your valuable suggestion.

Rediscover an indulgent Oasis of Patong that is created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the senses resort in September and had an amazing time it's centrally located it's not right next to all the action in patong but its still very close to shops,restaurants etc. we rented a motor bike from a shop down the road so getting around from the hotel was really easy, only took us 5 minutes to get to patong beach but the hotel also has a shuttle that which I thought was a nice amenity. The room was very clean and spacious and had nice views of patong. All the staff were friendly and great we traveled with my 4 year old daughter and she loved the pool and the kids club! We'll definitely stay here again next time we come back to phuket!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onetrulove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Onetrulove, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort and Spa, the luxury resort in Patong Phuket!

Your review motivates us to continuously provide the high standard of service, offer the better facility and the most picturesque sea view scenery over Patong city. Our pool and kid club which are perfectly aimed as ones of the family friendly resort’s facilities are well preferred and we hope to welcome you and your daughter back next time.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

this is a new hotel, the location is ok, around 30 min walk to the beach (but quite a dangerous walk because of the road in front of the hotel) safer if you rent a motorbike nearby (but don't do it at the shop right on the left of the entrance road as their bikes are bad quality and cheat your money), the hotel charges 2 times as much - maybe walk around 5 minute and make sure you ask which bike for them to quote (around 200baht per day / motorbike).

back to the hotel:)
the washing basin water comes out from the bottom so it spills on the floor, lizards were in room (quite big so it was quite scary), our washroom couldn't flush a few times in a night had to ask them to come help which was a hassle... ive stayed in thailand a few times all in nice resorts and this one was one of the "bad" ones. it was clean with some spots on the bed.

oh and one thing, the start construction and you'll hear drilling sounds.. oh how much i hate that when i want to relax ...

the swimming pool had ONE DEPTH throughout... which was .. weird .. 1.5m .. for asian standard thats quite high for people just want to relax in the pool.. but the poolside restaurant was cool, sitting in the pool and eat pizza and fries. the fries was good.

maybe need some time to improve both the quality of their hotel and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Charling C, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort and Spa, the luxury resort in Patong Phuket!

Thank you do much for selecting to stay at The Senses resort Patong and we are thankful of your constructive comment which we seriously discuss and investigate the issue.

Please rest assured that your feedback regarding to the room and the toilet issue was shared with the management team especially our executive housekeeping and engineering team cooperates to solve the problem.

Please accept our apologizes for any inconvenience caused your side about the disturbing noise and hope that you will understand these drilling noise might come from outside the property as our main construction was already completed and some maintenance work regarding to the noise was always informed our guest in advance. Therefore, the hotel will investigate the issue and rest assured that this issue will not surely occur without notice.
Should there be anything we can help you during your next visit to Patong Phuket, please let us know, so we can personally take care of you. Especially, the pool bar can serve you the fries and pizza in your favorite spot at our pool area once again.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely hotel let down by a couple of easily fixed things:
Check in and check out is unbelievably slow!! Half an hour to check in/ out in a hot lobby - I saw people that looked like they had passed out waiting! Do they need more staff? More computers? Both? It leaves a poor first and last impression, when overall the hotel is very good.

Overall, the staff were excellent, apart from the woman that answers the service phone - we were looking forward to having drink on our seaview balcony, especially after our long hot check in, so rang to order ice and a knife to cut our limes - we were refused a knife on the grounds of 'safety', (how have I survived all these hotels all these years??) with rather rude attitude, and the ice never arrived. After 20 mins I just went and got ice and fruit from the bar. Lovely balcony, lovely sunset, slight nasty taste in mouth from poor service.

The hotel - large, clean, bright room - we had the deluxe seaview with breakfast, and would recommend. The breakfast was quite good with a wide range of foods, with friendly and helpful staff service. The hotel is quite an easy walk to Bangla road and perhaps 10- 15 to the beach. We got the shuttle back once, but most of the time just walked.

The gym - adequate but very small - not sure how it would go with more than two people in there. Nice new equipment - a bike and stepper, also a hydraulic machine that did most muscle groups - bench press, lats, rows, triceps. Free weights also available. Cold towels in the fridge, but no water! Had to go back to the room for a bottle of water. Although next to the pool, there was no one to ask for water at about 8 am.

The pool had a separate babies section and is one big pool. Beautiful view over Patong from the pool, but may be a little hard to do laps at certain times if people are just floating around or at the swim up pool bar, which is part of the pool. Also for me the water was a little deep - cannot touch the bottom through the length of the pool, which is perhaps 25m long.

Hotel restaurant - the food was very good, if more pricey (but OK) and smaller serves than elsewhere. Green curry was delicious, as was the duck in tamarind. Patong restaurants - we didn't find anywhere that was particularly amazing, in general OK food, read the TA reviews for guidance.

Overall, the hotel was new, clean and good value with both a good pool and clean new gym, and generally friendly staff. However, I would probably look elsewhere next time I stayed in Patong, perhaps closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sport_and_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sport_and_ Food , our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort and Spa, the luxury resort in Patong Phuket!

It’s very delighting to hear this constructive review on Tripadvisor on how we can deliver the service excellence to all guests, how you have the good preference on your Deluxe Sea View room and it balcony viewing the beautiful sunset, the pool overlooking the Patong view and the restaurant. Especially green curry and duck in tamarind are awaiting to serve for you!

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and our guest satisfaction is what we will always utmost care about. Please accept our apologizes for any inconvenience caused your side regarding to the pool depth, the speed of service upon check in and check out as well as the knife that would not be given as per safety reason but we could give the knife for peeling the fruit which is not sharp and not against the safety policy. We hope that you will understand these misunderstanding. Actually, we prefer to deliver everything you need but in some case, we care about your safety and the miscommunication among us might cause the discrepancy. Anyway, we have the training program for our staff to improve the better communication and service and hope that our service will be improved better for your next visit.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pros:

Amazing friendly staff, smiles, jokes and they even shake your hands! New hotel and everything looks fresh and modern. One of the best pools I have seen, nice pool bar also. Clean, modern and spacious room. Very comfortable. Good value for money. Location is a bit off, but it is calmer than being in the heart of Patong. Good breakfast!

Cons:

Patong is not our thing, it is messy, dirty, noisy and too big. Better stay in another part of the island. Location of the hotel is a bit off in a hill, it takes time to walk and the shuttle you have to reserve (nobody explained this) and it runs only until 18h. The first room they showed me it was not the one I requested and it was facing the road, I had to upgrade the room to a much better one but it wasn't free. Could be a bit more alive in the room corridors, bland cement and painting, no pictures or flowers. It looks like a prison. And please change the lift CD that it is playing the same Kenny G song in a loop.

Room Tip: Get the pool view rooms on high floors! Avoid the pool access rooms, more expensive and subject to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear LeonardoMG, our valued guest,
Greeting from The Senses Resort and Spa, the luxury resort in Patong Phuket!

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write this nice review regarding the nice hotel location and the great value of money. Meanwhile we also prepare all you need, and the best spacious room that you like, the infinity pool and the staff excellence service ready for your next visit.
In the meantime, our guest satisfaction is what we will always utmost care about. Therefore, your constructive feedback about the balcony decoration as well as the lift song will be seriously discussed among the management team and moreover, we are delighted that you enjoyed the upgraded room program in order to give our guest the better choice for the better room category, anyway, a very very small charge will be applied for the better comfort experienced.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!

Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

When we arrived here we were excited as it was a new resort, at first we were shocked they wanted a $7000 baht deposit for our stay, the room was great if you like to watch tv that looks like its never been tuned in, the wireless internet is almost non existent and slooooow.. the concierge staff were excellent Jacob, Tony and Son you guys were great and helpful and spoke English!! and were lots of fun
The reception staff were not helpful and could not understand English which was a surprise for such an upmarket resort!! we had drinks at the splash bar were we were greeted by a Rat! yes a Rat!! but the staff didnt bother too much and laughed about it, as it ran past..
The buffet breakfast was average served cold coffee and the food was more aimed at asian cultures,
The resort is on the side of a hill and has a steep driveway and would be helped if they had a shuttle bus running up and down as it is a fair way from the bottom to the top.
when we went to check out we were told we would have to wait 2 weeks for our $7000 baht refund to be returned, mind you we were not told this when we arrived and we were upset ( lucky we did not need it to get home!!) and the reception staff were just too rude to mention.
we wont be back to this resort
Dissapointed is not the word

Room Tip: dont bother staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomancurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Senses_Resort, Manager at The Senses Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Tomancurrell, our valued guest,

Greeting from The Senses Resort Patong, the most luxurious resort in Patong Phuket!

We do utmost apologized for any inconvenience caused your side about your refund and we seriously investigated the issue that unintentionally made you disappointed about the refund. In the meantime we already inform the bank to release the verifying amount of your credit card as prompt as your departed and we do rechecked again with the bank to ensure that the process had been done. However, the bank of each country has the refund process time differently; therefore, it might take more time than usual in some case. Once again, please accept our kind apologies for this great inconvenience.
Moreover, regarding to the rat which seldom appear as the hotel locates in the hillside forestry location; breakfast is mostly set with the international buffet that someday it may be combined with the Asian culture as the hotel also prefer to present the Thai cuisine; steep slope to the lobby which have the stairs as the easy shortcut and this can be seen during your stay here; reception staff service will be better improved with the training, the speed of internet issue were discussed with the IT team in order to solve the problem promptly. However, normally the speed of internet is very good here but this might cause by some area or some very short period of time that have to specifically focus on. Our IT manager will further investigate the problem.
Thank you for Jacop,Tony and Son that make your holiday the most memorable here and our team welcome back you soon.

Rediscover the indulgent Oasis of Patong that created just for you!
Warmest Regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.9 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#8 of 328 in Patong
1,656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 328 in Patong
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.9 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senses Resort

Property: The Senses Resort
Address: 111/7 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#7 Spa Hotel in Patong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#41 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Senses Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senses Resort offers a unique ambiance of relaxation, with supremely comfortable accommodation creating a haven of tranquility and wellbeing. With stunning views over the city and azure-blue Andaman Sea beyond, the welcoming resort is an ideal respite for romantic couples and families to unwind and be pampered, yet is only a short distance from the gorgeous tropical beach and colourful streets that Patong is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Senses Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senses Resort Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing