We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big bang for buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Ranked #20 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a hotel. My first visit to a budget hotel and boy was it good. Nice clean rooms, newly done up, great functional decor, ipod doc etc. The only drawback was I had to carry my own luggage in the trolley, but I guess that's how it is in hotels like this. The location is metres away from the beach and the local market. The famous Patong night life is less than a mile away. Good staff, free wifi and complimentary breakfast, wow, that's a lot for $80! This is definitely my choice if I'm ever in that part of the world!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voldemort_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “Voldemort_1979”

Thank you for our great review and I like your title “big bang for buck!”. Holiday Inn Express is absolutely about being in a great location in town and offer great value for money. To be able to offer this we do not have a bell boy team and have the luggage trollies like at the airport available for our guest convenience. This is saving money same as we do not have a stocked minibar and just have the fridge available in each guest room with two ambient bottle of water per day. We do not have swim up bar or dinner restaurant as we have many choices in close proximity of the hotel. With all of those savings we can deliver the big bang… (which includes automatically in the room price the complimentary Express Breakfast Bar and the free WiFi)

Please let me know when you are making it back to our hotel.

Stay Smart with us!
Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This property is excellent value for money. It is still reasonably new. The fittings are modern and clean and the whole place from the front reception area to the rooms has been very well designed.
The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The towels are white and fluffy. The water pressure is excellent.
Keep in mind that this is an "Express" Hotel. It doesn't come with all the extras. Eg: room service, toiletries etc. If you want that, stay somewhere else. That being said, it has everything most people need and delivers it to a high standard. The breakfast is more than ample. It varies slightly on a daily basis. There is a laundry complete with TV to watch while you wait. The machines cost 100 THB each to use. This includes washing powder. However, if you go to the front of H.I. and turn right about 100 metres there is a lady who has a small laundry. She charges 50 THB/kg to wash and 100 THB/kg to wash and iron. Her laundry is immaculate and her work is incredible! I highly recommend. Her opening hours are 9.00 am to 11.00 pm daily.
It is a good 15 minute walk to Jungceylon shopping centre. There is a food court tucked away down the bottom of the centre. A bit hard to find on your first visit but worth the effort if you are looking for affordable meals. We ate there (with our western stomachs) for four days. Tried something from most of the stalls and none of us got sick. Meals cost well under 200 THB.
There are plenty of chemists nearby. Opening hours until 11.00 pm or later.
It is only a few minutes walk to the beach. There is a night market along the beach every night.
Wi Fi worked well.
There is a small selection of alcoholic drinks available at reception. A drink machine and ice are available from a room near the laundry.
There is a tour desk who will also sort out a taxi for you.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelledTasmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “WellTravelledTasmani”

Thank you for your extensive and spot on review of what we are and what we offer as a Holiday Inn Express. I enjoy reading feedback from our guest about foodplaces too as there is so many of them around. I will search for the hidden gem you have discovered. My favorites are on the northern part of Patong such as “Wai Thai” and “Sabai Sabai” and guess as well because of the sunset on the beach but always great to hear about some other great and different places.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just loved this place right from the start. Extremely nice welcoming staff, lovely pool, great clean fresh room. The breakfast next morning was great with plenty of choice. Dominic the Manager is a gentleman and very approachable. The room got cleaned everyday to perfection. Great location...close to everything...walking distance to beach. We loved this place. Keep up the great work. Hope you maintain this top standard for others to follow. Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “Vishal”

Thank you for your great review and it was pleasure having you and your family with us. I enjoyed the talks and how happy you have been during your stay with us.

If Melbourne is getting too cold and you are ready for your next break in Phuket to tank up some sun, let me know.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for one night and will recommend this hotel for this budget. Its great value for money. 2 min walk from beach and 5 min walk from bangla road (walking street). Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable and a big pool. I was upgraded to pool view room (platinum member) and staff was very friendly and cordial.

We had a day tour booked so we checked out in the morning but the hotel gladly kept our luggage that we picked up in the evening. They even let us borrow a towel for the day, even though we had checked out. Very nice touch from hotel and reception staff. Very impressed.

Do not expect 5 star treatment or services (and the hotel do not aspire to be one). Its a great budget hotel for everyone with nice clean room, friendly staff, excellent location and affordable pricing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalroadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “globalroadis”

Thank you very much for your great review. You clearly define our hotel services and our concept. We are great value for money in a fantastic location in Patong. We are very open and clear of what our services are and if you are looking for the full service hotel with porter bringing the luggage to the room or have room-service delivery we are not the right hotel.

Our key focus is on great team delivery and offering value for money in a great location. This enables everyone to save money with us and spend it elsewhere. Great offers for tours, multiple choices for dinning or shopping experience available in Phuket.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights at the end of May. We were staying in Koh Samui for two weeks and decided on a trip to Phuket to see both sides. We were glad to have chosen this hotel.

The hotel is clean and modern with a really nice pool.

The one complaint that we had was the noise from a nearby event. We asked reception if we could move, which they did accommodate, however the music was still too loud and lasted until 2am. This isn't acceptable - we had a boat trip booked for a 7am pick up, so not a great night!

The breakfast wasn't great and we have had better in other Holiday Inn hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet-hopper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “Jet-hopper2011”

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did experience the noise impact from the public event at the beach and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. However I am happy that you like our very clean and modern hotel.

We are only the second Holiday Inn Express in South East Asia and more to come and our Free Express Breakfast Bar is certainly not the same size as a full service hotel but we get regular comment the people like the offering and the Grab & Go concept if you go on a tour or to the airport.

Please feel free to keep me as a point of contact when you are planning your next visit to Holiday inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central as I would be more than happy to help you with your arrangements.

Stay Smart with us!

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

There's an electronic safe in the room with a card that says hotel is not responsible for any thing missing from it, unless the guests use a safe box at the reception, then when one asks for a safe downstairs, they look astonished as they've never heard of it as there are NONE! This also happened to me also at the Holiday Inn Sukhumvit, Bangkok the week before. How ridiculous that the Management puts up such silly notices in rooms and they've never read any of them it seems. They've taken the limits of contradictions to new levels. Holiday Inn, you are slipping! Wake up and read what you preach.....

I only stayed here for 2 nights then moved in to a real hotel for a week as it's on the wrong end of Paton and too far to walk to where the action is. But the best thing in this hotel is their excellent pool. At least they got one thing right.

No decent bars or restaurants nearby (except just 1) this is very inconvenient as in their new "Express" re-invention of YMCA, there's no F&B at all after Breakfast in the hotel! You'd better take food with you before you check-in on the 1st night, then like me shop around for a good deal in better parts of town. Stay away from the Holiday Inn Resort in Phuket which is a rip-off for a mediocre old hotel. There are much better newer ones worth the try.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing the pool (all rooms look on to each other)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRN-GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear “GRN-GVA”

Thank you for your review and I have tried to contact you with the ask function on the Tripadvisor website but you are not accepting current messages. For the benefit of the Tripadvisor readers I would like to clarify the actual text in the electronic guest room safe container. The card with the provided text in the electronic safe container reads:

“This container is provided as an amenity for the convenience of the hotel guests. By providing this container, hotel management does not intend to alter the limits of liability set forth by applicable inn keeper’s law which governs compensation regarding loss of property nor does hotel management assume liability for loss or damage to the containers contents which are placed there in solely at the risk of the guest.”

There is no reference to any safety boxes at reception in our hotel as you state in your review.

The concept of “Holiday Inn Express” is standing for great location and good value for money. We offer great location 2 minutes across the road of the beach, 5 minutes to multiple local and international restaurants and bars, 10 minutes to the entertainment road which is same distance as from the other side of the town. Many guest write about our great location being away from the noise but in walking distance to everything.

Our food and beverage offering at the Holiday Inn Express is the “Great room” where we serve our Express Breakfast Bar and after breakfast we have the lobby which offers beverages and snack foods - available 24 hours a day on display. Additionally there is multitude of choices from restaurants and bars all in short walking distance. Mam Café the closest restaurant just beside the hotel and the Nap Bar just across the road.

We do understand that we are offering a unique product for our price ratio and fully understand for guests looking for services such as hotel restaurants, room service delivery, stocked minibar, swim up bars, kids clubs and luggage delivery to the room we are not the right fit. These guests should look for a full service resort hotel. Not having those services is reducing our operation cost which we pass on to our guests. This is where the price difference and our value for money come into place. We offer a great, nice and clean rooms, 24- our gym, This is “stay smart” @ Holiday Inn Express.

I appreciate whilst you personally do not like the location of our hotel you highlighted the lovely pool of our hotel.

Best regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location! 2 mins walk from the beach, 5 mins walk from Bangla Rd. Just nice, not too close and not too far. Clean room, looks exactly as the management's pictures. Stayed there for 3 nights only cost me RM 660. Environmental friendly. It's an express holiday inn hotel, so it does not have room service (except housekeeping) or and spa. However, it is located right next to a spa center. I did not try it myself, but it does look promising.

We arrived early and there was room for early check-in. We also requested for a late check-out at 2 pm. I have never slept so well in a hotel room before. Pillows was AWESOME!!! We had a smoking room. The only problem about the room is the sliding window to the balcony. The lock was broken but fortunately there's a hook to avoid wide opening.

The breakfast was simple. Very simple. The eggs are a little too cold. Porridge was nice. Fruits and toast are served too. Everything could be packed up for take away. Perks, Nutella is available!
The are snacks that you can buy for supper at the reception. It's those typical 7-11 microwave food but a little more expensive.

2 bottles of water is provided everyday if you request for housekeeping. If not, you can always go down to the reception to get them. Toiletries are provided upon request. Again, get them from the reception.

All and all, it is a really pleasant trip. The hotel was great! But I can't stress this enough but always remember this is an express hotel. So don't expect 5-star services even though for me the room is already a 5-star quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xtinel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicEgger, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear “xtinel33”

Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our great sleep experience with the signature soft and firm pillows. As you rightly say we are not a five star hotel but we really love when our guests are happy with our offering for our adventures and independent travelers.

We are a limited services hotel; we do not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner as there is so many choices around our hotel Thai, seafood, international you name it you find it!!!! We do not have a stocked minibar but the fridge is handy to have to be able to stock what you like. Vending machine and bar in the lobby, 7eleven around the corner. We do not have a kids club but there is a kids pool to have them entertained. All of this enables us to offer great rates in a fantastic location of Patong, just across the road to the beach, restaurants and shopping just around the corner.

We look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central and stay smart with us for your next visit.

Sincere regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 337 in Patong
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 337 in Patong
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.3 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 337 in Patong
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Address: 8, Hatpatong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#22 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $66 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Phuket Patong Beach.Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central is the smart choice for savvy leisure travelers, providing a relaxed, affordable and hassle-free stay all the time. Located adjacent to Patong Beach, Phuket's most popular and well-developed beach, we are within walking distance to a hub of shopping, dining and entertainment options. We are just a short 45 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 15 minutes from Phuket Town.Kick-start your day with our Free "Express Start" Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Enjoy our high-quality bedding, shower, balcony and swimming pool experience to recharge after a day of leisure activities. You can have a restful sleep on our comfy bed, away from the noise of Patong's nightlife.The hotel features 277 brand new rooms with easy access to the beach or laze by our pool for ultimate relaxation. Our rooms are well-designed for everything you need for a great stay. Have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a 3-head massage showerhead and a restful night with international standard bedding including 200 thread count sheets, duvet, a choice of soft and firm pillows.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including Jungceylon Shopping Mall, Patong Promenade and Beach Road Shopping. Value added benefits include Express Breakfast & complimentary Internet in each room. Consider becoming a Priority Club Rewards member to earn points towards free hotel stays, retail certificates or airline mileage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing