We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling restaurant and great food!”

Tropica Restaurant & Beer Garden
Ranked #467 of 550 Restaurants in Patong
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bustling restaurant and great food!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Just had a lovely meal at the Tropical restaurant and well worth TripAdvisor review!

Us: 4x experiences travellers aged 22-31

Them: Tropica Restaurant, right on the beachfront in Patong, Phuket.

We each had a full 3 courses with beers and spent approx B1000 each (roughly £20). I had a fantastic French onion soup followed by pork fillet in hunters style and finally a lovely ice cream dessert.

Service was great, prices are reasonable and it's right on the beach road so perfect location! Atmosphere was good and most tables had chatty customers who all seemed happy. The decor is great with al fresco style outdoor seating, lit up trees and great fans to keep you cool!

All in all 9/10!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    48
    37
    27
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
278 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Thai food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We did not like the look of this place, as it seemed to scream 'tourist trap'. However, the same applies to most other places in Patong and it was getting rather late. The Thai dishes appeared reasonably priced, so we ordered half a dozen different ones - and were pleasantly surprised! The salads had plenty of chilli in them and the spicing of the other dishes also was more or less spot on. The seafood (squid) tasted fresh and the portions were decent enough. A service charge was added automatically and I did not like that, but then the service had been fine. We wouldn't go back, because we vowed never to set foot again in Patong. However, if you have the misfortune of ending up in this place you could do worse than the Thai food here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCriticWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Thought the place looked good, but looks can be very deceiving!! Ordered american breakfast, got soggy toast, under cooked bacon, and I think it supposed to be ham, but not sure what it was honestly. Wanted eggs over easy, but they came sunny side up and overcooked. My Thai wife tried ordering in Thai from waitress, but waitress said very arrogantly I'm Filipino not Thai. Her order showed up 30 minutes after mine. Her rice was soaked in oil. I will never eat there again!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best thing about this restaurant is the location.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The food was not good. The staff was rude and took forever to wait us. Never again would I support this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't eat here!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

On our 2nd night me, my husband, along with my sister, her husband and 2 kids went to this restaurant, situated along the beach front. On first impressions this looks like a nice restaurant for the family. Boy we were wrong. The next day we were all struck down by the worst case of food poisoning ever! We had fevers and were stuck in our hotel rooms for days. My nephews were really disappointed because we were meant to be going to see the elephants the next day and had to cancel. It really ruined our holiday, and the food wasn't even that great. Terribly disappointed and I would suggest no-one should eat here. Ever!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selbelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tropica Restaurant & Beer Garden, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
"The next day we where sick", if you eat something bad, it takes not a night to feel sick, within an hour you will feel sick.
There are many reason you can catch something, in most cases it is ice added to drinks which is not safe.
Our Restaurant gets checked by the Authorities and we can not afford to sale bad food.
Others would have had the same problem, eating that night at our Restaurant, but you are the only one to complain, strange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropica Restaurant & Beer Garden also viewed

 

Been to Tropica Restaurant & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing