We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cosy”
Review of The Marq

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marq
Ranked #60 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel location is conveniently located away from the busy and noisy street. However, it is walking distance to convenient shops, food and bars. But, it is about 15-20 mins walk to the Patong Beach and Bangla Road. The room that was allocated to us was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped with all the necessaries such as basic toiletries and a hair dryer.

Although no breakfast was served, however, breakfast is easily available within walking distance from the hotel. There are free wi-fi available but the connection is unstable. Staff are friendly and helpful.

It was indeed a value for money for a budget hotel as everything you need are available.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and hence, you may want to request for the rooms located on lower floors unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleytyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked this place after reading great reviews. Stayed with family in a group room. First day checked in, but no free water. Staff was ok, not extremely friendly. Read previously some reviews mentioned coming down early for breakfast. Well, they don't serve breakfast. Was assigned a room on the 2nd floor. Spacious, clean room n toilet. But shower area isn't seperated from toilet with a shower curtain, just so you know.
Room walls and doors rather hollow, because we.could hear,neighbours trudging up n down the stairs after midnight and talking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay in Superior room for 3 nights, very comfortable room with A/C, flat tv and balcony with street view. Hot-water for making tea facilities can get it at lobby or upon request. Only let down is no elevator and noise from construction going-on at neighbour hotel. Free Wi-Fi but a bit slow, water from shower a bit slow. Less choice of breakfast option, walk to next-door for selection western/thai breakfast which start at 8am or sometimes 9am and another option are to walk around 10mins for local café for local foods at the main street on your left direction and right direction towards 15min walk to Jungceylon/Banzaan wet market if you are not too hungry in the morning. Otherwise stand-by instant noodles. Took a taxi from Jungceylon back to hotel cost us 150baht and if rain the fare will be around 200/250baht by tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandypearlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked through hostelworld but they didn't get my reservation for some reason, luckily they had room anyway. Other than that minor hiccup it was a great stay; the hostel is very nice, clean, spacious, plenty of sockets, lockers.. Everything a backpacker could need. I even got upgraded to the twin rooms for two nights. The location is a bit far from the beach (approx 15 mins walk, but this might be welcome if your not looking to party every night. Plus you can rent a scooter right next door for cheap as chips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 3 nights and 4 days. The overall feel is extremely good at this hotel. I reached early (before check in time), but the hotel management allowed me to use room from that moment itself at no extra charge... Especially Mr.Den (i don't remember his full name) and Marcus treated people with a smiley face all the time. Even though my tour was screwed badly because of bad climate over there at that time ... i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Will definitely book again in this hotel if i go patong again... i strongly suggest this hotel for any one who is looking for best quality hotel near patong beach, phuket.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in January, we would have loved to stay longer if our schedule had allowed. Rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. I didn't want to leave the room because of the excellent A/C- that was the coolest I had been during our entire month stay in Thailand! The staff was very attentive and friendly, the complementary breakfast was great, and the balcony was nice to have. There is a helpful travel agent right next door that helped us with transportation arrangements. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boarderchick_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Marq Hotel last May for 2 nights. The hotel was nice, close by to the beach, restaurants and a good massage place. The room itself was spacious, the bathroom was clean and the balcony was a decent size.

Service wise was excellent, the peoples were friendly and very helpful. The Thai lady was nice, her English was very limited but she tried to help out during my stay. The Thai Guy who worked over night shift from time to time, his English was limited too, he was also super nice and super helpful.

The Lobby was cozy and quiet. Def a nice place to hang out and chilled out.

As far as of price wise, it was quiet cheap.

I def recomend for other backpackers that are looking a good place to stay :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Colora Hotel
Colora Hotel
#28 of 411 in Patong
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Memory Patong
Memory Patong
#18 of 411 in Patong
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
#1 of 411 in Patong
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marq

Address: 78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range: $30 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marq Hotel is one of Phuket's newest and stylish establishments, catering to the modern lifestyle of vacationers the world over. Opening July 2012 join us in making your vacation memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Marq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marq Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing