We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marq

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marq
Ranked #55 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Shouguang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay at this hotel only 1 night. I pay for another hotel but they move me here. I am glad they did. This hotel are nice and clean and new. Only stairs but it is ok. I like my room very good feel, shower water is hot. I walk everywhere beach, food, bar, shopping 15-20 minutes. Everyone at hotel is nice. I only go to Patong for 3 days next time I stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jchien93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
35
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two different times in Jan. mainly because the owner went out of the way to help with anything he could. He when above and beyond letting me use his personal phone to call when I had a problem with my credit card. The staff were nice and eager to help.

The rooms were cozy, clean, modern, the beds in the deluxe and superior rooms i stayed in were the best in my 4 weeks in SE Asia.

Location- away from the noise of the town but close enough to walk to the beach or mall in 10-15 minutes and 15-20 to Bangla Road when I wanted a loud night.

The prices even in high season were well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stay for 10 day in Jan. The hotel was very clean and new. The staff is all friendly some have better English. But they always try to help. The owners were always helpful and gave us great suggestion for beach and restaurant. Location is good for the price. We hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

New build hotel three streets back from beach. Reasonable mid price option more like an up market hostel than 3 star hotel..
On the plus side..clean room with great hot shower, flat screen and dvd plus free bottled water. Downsides noisy on street side, rock hard bed and a good 20 minute walk from jungceylon,beach and Bangla.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a difficult review.
The hotel is a new place, the location is ok, cause you can walk to the beach (15 to 20 minutes)and is away from the noise.
I stayed in a double bedroom, and it was very nice and well decorated, with aircon, tv, balcony, frigobar, and toilet...here is one of the proble, the toilet was terrible smelly. We noticed, but the staff didn't do anything.
The owner is very nice and helpful, but when he's not at the place, things go very bad.
We decided to stay 1 more night, so we noticed a lady at the front desk.
What a surprise, at the next morning the guy on the front desk asked us "so you guys are finally leaving today?" ina very bad mood. We explained to him that we were noticed that, but he didn't receive the message, so he said that they lost custom, and he insisted many times that we hadn't notice as we were lying.
After that, we were leaving, so we needed to pay, and the same guy was asking for more money becasue he said that we eat more chocolates that we really did...you know how he supossed to know??? Because they check the rubbish bin, so he insisted again that we were eating more than we "wanted to pay"...so we were lying again...really horrible service.
And to finish, we asked him for his name, becasue we noticed that we'll complain, and he write in a card "boy"...I'm sorry, but of course it wasn't his name, so we was also laughing of us.
So, a message for the owner...this could be a very good place, but he has to choose better staff.
If you don't mind, and you stay here, go for breakfast to the next cafe, for the same price you get a wonderful breakfast and is running by the owners that are one of the nicer thailand people that I met.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Marq, Owner at The Marq, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First and foremost, I'm extremely sorry to hear about your experience!! I can confidently say the issues you mentioned have been resolved.

It was quickly apparent within the first month that I had made the wrong decision in the hiring process. The individual in question was let go Jan 1. I’m sorry you had the unfortunate experience of meeting him.

As for the toilets the building leasing company had to uninstall and reinstall all the toilets because they were not connected correctly during the construction. This problem was only first noticed during the high season with our high occupancy rate and has been then fixed.

Once again I’m apologize for your experience during your stay and I appreciate your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

New hotel clean friendly owners that are more than happy to help you. I found my stay a good experience and I would recommend this hotel to people. The beach I about 10 to 15min walk. We rented a bike next door at DDC. I managed to drop the the bike and it got a few scratches on it. I was worried that I was going to have to pay a lot of money to fix as I have heard some story's about Thailand and the scams. But to my surprise ploy the owner was more worried about me than the bike and didn't charge me anything. Thank the Marq and thank you ploy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was a nice quiet place to stay on a relatively new road. I enjoyed talking with Mark (the owner) and Brian over the four nights that we stayed there. The tea/coffee facilities in the social area were a nice touch and the rooms were nice for a specialty style lodging.

There are a couple of things that would stop me from giving this a 5 star review. One thing being that the service from the reception staff was a bit hit and miss.

Also, I do not recommend going next door to the Travel agent for booking tours. We paid inflated prices for a tour to the Phi Phi islands and that was mainly because we had the cash in our hands and the agent knew we wanted to go. She had us over a barrel and charged us what she thought she could get away with. We paid 1400 Baht for a day trip to Phi Phi and after speaking to other people on the tour, some paid 1200 Baht and we met one couple who paid 1100 Baht for two day trips. It's called DDC Travel. Please shop around for a better price!! Perhaps go closer to the town centre.

All in all, a very nice stay in Patong. Thanks Mark!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unknown3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Fruit Paradise Hotel by Simple Boutique
0.1 mi away
The Yim Siam Hotel
The Yim Siam Hotel
#43 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phuket Paradise Hotel
Phuket Paradise Hotel
#161 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
i-Kroon Cafe & Hotel
#2 of 396 in Patong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavender Hotel
Lavender Hotel
#90 of 396 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marq

Property: The Marq
Address: 78 / 4 Soi Nanai 8, Phang Muang Sai Kor Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 222 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marq 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marq Hotel is one of Phuket's newest and stylish establishments, catering to the modern lifestyle of vacationers the world over. Opening July 2012 join us in making your vacation memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Marq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marq Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing