We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in Feb 2014.

Firstly the good:
- breakfast buffet
- pools (and there was enough seating)
- the shuttle (we didn't have a problem getting on it)
- pasta meals in the main restaurant (the food was mostly good)

What could be improved:
- signage around the resort
- room design (wardrobe hanging space, shower water going under barrier into toilet area)
- staff service - we were not made to feel special

Overall it was good, just not great. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mykmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear mykmyk,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to note that you liked the pool, breakfast, shuttle service and food.

We take your feedback about the signage and room design and are working towards improving those areas. However, we also feel that the joy of staying in a hotel like this is in discovering new areas daily. Our guests do feel that they are in a maze on the first day but by the second day they would have discovered new areas which is a beautiful surprise.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Recently spent a week at the Avista Hideaway and loved it.

It is a beautiful property with new, well appointed modern rooms and really good facilities.
The only criticism I'd have is that the service for a 5 star hotel was not what it should be.

The staff were always friendly and tried to be helpful, but as an example, at every breakfast the waiters got our coffee orders wrong. Once or twice is understandable, but at some point you would expect them to use a pen and paper when taking orders.

We didn't utilise the spa as at was very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wary_trvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear wary_trvler,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to note that you liked the property, rooms and facilities and disappointed that the service did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and I have discussed this with our team. We will definitely work towards improving this aspect and put in corrective measures to overcome the issues mentioned.

Thank you again and we look forward to your stay with us to see the improvement suggested.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

from the moment you head up the mountain till you reach the resort, you treated to views like no other. the staff, the views, the pool, the meals, "happy hour" cocktails by the pool..everything about this resort makes you feel like you are in paradise! gentlemen by the pool named "Jacques" and "Alexander" made the visit extra special. i commend the staff and their class, forever patient and they go the extra mile to assist in literally anything!!!! the meals on the rooftop were truly out this world! i know that people say if you visit the same destination again, try something new....BUT...i have no hesitation going back to AVISTA. me and my girlfriend loved every moment. sad to leave. thanks Avista Hideaway!

Room Tip: try and get a room near the main pool, closer to the gym and breakfast in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianT269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear BrianT269,

We are glad to note you liked the Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback and recommending us.

It is pleasure to note that you liked the location, views, pools, food and staff.

Our rooms are truly a romantic haven for couples looking to spend that alone time together and enjoying each others company. All our rooms are built to provide the maximum privacy so even if the resort is fully booked you can still get those private moments and that is the reason we have ensured that one pool is for adult's only.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

Our rooftop restaurant, Sizzle, has been enthralling guests since we opened our doors in January. It is the most beautiful location in the hotel with a fantastic ambience, service and the best BBQ on the island. Chef Tim and his culinary team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great evening there.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile. Jacques and Alexander would like to thank you for your acknowledgement of their service.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

i was staying with friends in this hotel from 17 Feb to 21 Feb and it was great, the hotel is new and clean without any mousquito. Front desk staffs are very helpful, especially Christine who was very efficient while i did ask for room change.

nevertheless, the shuttle services (to the beach or shopping mall) need to be improved by increasing the frenquency and why not a shuttle service from the airport to hotel that won't cost a lot to the Hotel but it will make the hotel different from the others. Also, i think there is not enough restaurant and the breakfast is just average.

i will definitely come back to Avista this summer with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear PierreT123,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay with your friends.

We have noted your feedback about the shuttle bus and will look at ways of increasing the frequency. I am surprised to note that you did not enjoy the breakfast considering the amount of choices on offer and the variety in cuisines. Our breakfast has always been highly appreciated by our guests. However, we do take your feedback and look at ways of improving.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I had to write a review of this place. Not only is it a beautiful hotel but the staff and superb. Kudos to Ezra whom we dealt with that always greated and spoke to us with a smile. He is a great asset to the hotel!

Onto the hotel, this place feels a world away from the chaos of Patong but is only a 300 baht ride away. After a week of staying in the heart of Patong, it was a welcome change. We stayed in the pool suite and all I can say is WOW. The suite is huge and the attention to detail makes you feel like royalty. Upon check in you get to choose the type of mattress (soft, med, firm), pillows (memory, feather, hypo allergic, med, soft etc), time of housekeeping etc. The Avista goes out of their way to cater to your every need.
The pool suite is stunning. The detailing above the bed, massive lit up infinity plunge pool, outside shower and bath, the inside bathroom is exquisite. We received daily champagne and when we called for a buggy to take us where we wanted to go, we never had to wait more than 2 minutes.

The only CON I can think of is be careful of the rain. Parts of the hotel had flooded and some guests had told us their rooms had collected water. The staff though are outstanding and are on the ball and constantly trying to exceed patrons expectations.

Oh and I'm still missing that delicious Chang Mai honey at breakfast :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dimitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Dimitra P,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your wonderful comments.

It is pleasure to note that you liked the location, pool suite and staff.

Our Pool suites are truly a romantic haven for couples looking to spend that alone time together and enjoying each others company.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away. A lot of our guests avail the complimentary shuttle bus when they feel the need for action.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile. Ezra would like to thank you for your acknowledgement of his service.

I am surprised to hear about the flooding in rooms since this is not an issue faced in our hotel. Yes, due to us being on the hillside the rain does lash down but fortunately does not flood the rooms since they are built facing away from the rain.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Luxury hotell with the best service. Fantastic hotel with great atmosphere. Wonderful staff and excellent service. Best breakfast I've ever experienced in Thailand and some other hotel. Gorgeous room. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Mats P,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway and thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are glad to note that you liked the location, staff, service and breakfast.

Our location is our advantage as it allows the guests to enjoy the peace and quiet yet the hustle bustle of Patong is not far away.

Chef Tim and his culinary team will be glad to hear that you liked the breakfast, which we believe is one of the best on the island.

We are thankful for your acknowledgement of our service. Our staff is trained to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of the warm Thai smile.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights straight after 6 nights in their other nearby hotel (in Kata).

Absolutely loved the inclusion of excercise classes- found the yoga in the gym at 8.30am a wonderful way to start the day. It wasnt very busy (3 people in the class at one time) and the instructor did not work us too hard, maybe because it was a 'holiday' class!

I was aware of the location prior to booking, but it did take a bit of getting use to having to plan my day around the bus schedule to patong (jungceylon). This hotel will only be a good choice if you dont mind being away from the main area as you cannot just walk out whenever you like to go to a different restaurant, get a massage, go shopping or go to the beach- unless you are comfortable paying around 300B each way or do not intend to leave the resort much.

The hotel itself has a nice new modern look. The look within the room (we had 406) was also modern but seems some of the materials used for certain fixtures e.g. cupboards, doors & walls may have been chosen due to their cost and not quality.. not a huge issue but feel this will mean they will need to replace things regularly. They were also not very sound proof -we heard the tv next door and also when other peoples doors closed our room shook a little and it made large bang sound. Decent sized room and nice chair/lounge out on the balcony.

Can be a little hard to navigate your way around (many of the signs list the name of the block of rooms but you have to guess whether the way you take leads to the restaurant e.t.c or if it leads to a dead end!).

Paradise beach was a nice change to the crowded beaches of patong. kata and karon..

Highly recommend!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $144 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing