We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #5 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Wallaroo, Australia
1 review
“Great Family Resort”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent property and the staff were always polite and friendly. Our family of four dined in the resort for breakfast each day of our 10 day holiday and the variety, presentation and the quality of the foor was excellent. Coffee was great too! We dined for dinner only once at the resort because we were usually out exploring and that dining experience was first class with the staff friendly and well trained. Our room was a decent size and really nice and it was one of a few resorts with a king size bed and a queen size bed in the same room which served our family well. The staff even ask what sort of pillow you like on day one and the next day the pillow type of your choice was delivered. A nice touch. The infinity pools were fantastic and not overcrowded and the 'swim up bars' in both main pools were well serviced and drinks were reasonably priced. Kids games room had complimentary bottled water. Mini golf on the roof top was great with nice views to the sea. The golf simulator was good and at 700 baht an hour it was well priced and a lot of fun.Hard to fault this resort and if there was one small issue it would have been the layout which was a bit confusing. Being built on the side of a mountain, the check in area was on the 4th floor and everything was spread out below this level but after a couple of days we found our way round ok. The hotel complimentary shuttle service was alway well utilised and saves about 300 baht or $10 AUS each way in and out of Patong Beach area. Overall a quiet, well maintained and well serviced 5 star resort with eveything a family could wish for. We would happily return again.

Room Tip: No issues at all. Great staff and they always said hello and were always smiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBorlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear JJBorlace,

We are glad that you enjoyed the ideal place for a perfect ‘Hideaway’. Indeed, our location is our advantage as we are located on a hilltop just 5 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Best of both worlds is how we describe the location of the hotel since you get a quiet time with your loved ones and also can take the hotel shuttle to Patong to enjoy the night life.

Our facilities are designed in a very contemporary fashion and yet blend seamlessly with the surroundings o create that perfect Hideaway.

Ensuring our guests enjoy a perfect holiday is our prime motto and checking for and delivering your preference is just a small way to let you know that we care for you and would like you to be extremely comfortable during your stay with us.

All of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    411
    159
    45
    43
See reviews for
312
1,127
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic holiday in patong and the hotel,as others have said is a welcome sanctuary away from Patong.
We reserved two rooms,each for two adults and two children.Rooms are fantastic,we walked from balcony direct into pool.
Food great,staff friendly,plenty towels,scenery wonderful.If I was visiting the area again,without children,then I would recommend!
The disadvantages with this hotel,for me,are that children over the age of four are not properly catered for.
We were given one king size bed and one single bed for two adults and two children.We requested another single bed in each room and were told this wasn't possible,we ended up putting one child in the bed with us(the youngest is 7).Poor sleeping conditions for a five star hotel!
No activities around pool.There is a daily activity plan,but geared more towards adults.
Kids club is suitable for younger children only.
Nowhere for older children to play bat and ball,football,volley ball,water polo ect.Still didn't find mini golf,virtual golf door was locked every time we visited.
Childrens pool approximately the size of two snooker tables.
Both the swimming pools are small,so when the children were playing constantly had to be saying,not to splash too much.
My boys are 7,9,11 and 14.
If you are a group of adults only or a family with children under the age of 4,then go and have a fantastic time,but if you've got an older family then I really would think twice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear 1234emma,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Phuket!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests by delivering quality rooms and personalized service with a touch of warm Thai smile.

Our activities team of Tanya and Maya try to ensure that there is something for everyone to do by designing activities for kids and grown ups. As a hotel that is rated among the top 10 family destinations of Phuket we try to ensure there is something to do for everyone. If you fancy a round of golf we have an indoor virtual golf where you can practice your swing on any of the top golf courses around the world or you can spend a lazy afternoon in our library browsing through the number of books that we have collected. If lazing by the pool is what you are looking for then we have three beautiful pools to take your pick from. There is also the games room with options like darts, pool table, table tennis and foosball to keep kids of over 4 occupied. We do welcome your feedback and look at adding some more options for kids over 4.

Very we have also added another dining option in the form of a BBQ restaurant where guests dine under the stars enjoying delectable cuisine prepared by Chef Tim and his team of talented chefs.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Hmm where do I start from ! It was our first honeymoon and after wide research on resorts in and around Patong area we knew it had to be Avista , and we couldn't be any happier. Perhaps one of the most beautiful resorts you can stay at. Amazing architecture and location.

The checkin was very quick and the staff at reception was young and efficient. Just as we settled down in our room we realised that the AC in our room wasn't working, when informed, the receptionist immediately arranged a technician to check what the issue was. There might have been a major issue with the air conditioning system in the room which the tech couldn't resolve.

Let me tell you, the room was BEAUTIFUL, however non functioning Air con couldnt keep up to it. When the tech failed to repair it. They upgraded us to a Jacuzzi suite the same day. My wife loved the room and it was impeccable. Amazing and prompt gesture by the management.

Edward from the staff stood out , was very kind and helpful. The entire staff is young and lively.

The only thing which kills the beauty of this resort is the construction site of some other resort ryt beside it. I know there is nothing that they can do about it. But its a view killing zone for the resort.

I would recommend Avista to anybody visiting Phuket. They had made our stay outstandingly special. Already planing to go back this year. :D

Appreciation & love :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank has_ali55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear has_ali55,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Phuket!

We are delighted that you had a perfect honey moon and enjoyed the serenity of the resort and quality of our associates.

Edward will be delighted hear that he could play a small part in ensuring you had a great stay with us.

Our rooms are designed in a very contemporary fashion and yet blend seamlessly with the surroundings to create that perfect “Hideaway”.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Resort: Stayed in the club vista room. Was beautiful. Hidden away from the craziness of Patong beach. Great range of options at buffet breakfast. Staff were really lovely. We left early on a tour one morning and they were kind enough to provide a boxed breakfast. Room service/restaurant food is average, but not bad. Towel service at the pool and library were both handy. The shuttle to Patong beach/jungceylon was a godsend and we used it often. The only negative was our dealings with the concierge. She was not very helpful at al and somewhat dismissive. Bookings through the concierge are done in conjunction with the taxi stand directly outside the resort, quoted at double the price. When we asked the concierge about this, we were told that other taxis would not come to to the resort. Example, we wanted to go to Kok Chang Elephant Safari. Concierge quoted thb1000 for transport. We contact Kok Chang directly and they sent a car and charged us thb400 return. We asked about airport transfer and were given a ridiculous quote so we found Siam Taxi online and they were excellent, picked us up at the last minute. Use the hotel wifi to book your tours etc.not the concierge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanillavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear vanillavi,

Thank you very much for a wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the ideal place for a perfect ‘Hideaway’. Our location along with our associates is indeed our strength.

I am glad to hear that you could avail our complimentary shuttle service to head to Patong beach and Jungceylon.

Chef Tim and his team will be glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast which we believe is one of the best on the island.

My apologies that you did not find the concierge services up to the standard. We take your feedback and will towards improving the same.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived to this amazingly beautiful resort located away from the hustle & bustle of busy Patong for some much needed rest. Having travelled from east Asia following a business, we were shown to our room, a Club Vista Room @ 9,000 THB/Night.
The room itself was quite good, tranquil and spacious, however, the scenery was quite appalling to say the least. I had requested an ocean view room however, we were given a room that overlooked a vacant paddock, loaded with stray dogs that howled in the night & noisy tractors during the day.
We had a small issue with the shaving mirror light that we reported 4 times - on check out, this was still not fixed.
Initially booked for four days and decided to request to be relocated on the 3rd day and if the room was suitable we would extend our stay a further four nights. When I approached reception about this on a Sunday, I was informed that I would have to go back to my room and send this request by email. A shake of my head in disbelief, I trekked back to my room and tapped out the email. That turned out to be a waste of time as it was never responded to.
Based on the events above, it was clear that our business was not required so we decided to book another resort for the remaining 4 days of our holiday.
Hotel Upside:
Pools great but would not accommodate all guests if the resort was full
Pool staff friendly and loved chatting about local trends, things to do, etc.
Great gym with views to the ocean
Breakfast was fabulous - staff were very pleasant
Hotel Downside:
Inexperience front desk staff - very young
Housekeeping lacks attention to detail
Infrequent courtesy bus to Patong
Feral dogs surround the property

Summary - A 5 star feel when you first walk in but each day you stay, you soon become aware of the many floors this resort has. The inexperience shone through very clearly.

To be fair, we got a good hearing on our departure, all our grievances were listened to and understood. I token discount on our food & beverage bill was provided.

Room Tip: Avoid stay in the rooms facing the empty paddock to the left of the resort....horrible view, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

My apologies that you did not enjoy a great stay with us. Let me explain about the room type blocked. Though you did block a Club Vista with a request for a sea view, please note that all requests are subject to availability and the hotel cannot guarantee this due to various factors like the room requested not being available. I understand that the plot next door is not very pleasant to look at, however, we have absolutely no control over external factors. We are working with the local municipality to ensure the problem with dogs is controlled.

We thank you again for the feedback and will definitely work on it to improve our services.

We do hope that you will come back to stay with us to experience the change.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Oh my god - where do I start! I couldn't fault this hotel AT ALL!

Firstly, we arrived at 8.30pm after a 12 hour flight to be greeted by friendly staff, shown to a lounge and bought welcome drinks.

THEN we were told we'd been upgraded from the club room to the jacuzzi suite! OH MY GOD! This room was perfect! Two storey, with day bed and sun lounges upstairs, along with a servery for eating and an outdoor shower.

Downstairs the room was a great size as was the bathroom with bide. The jacuzzi was big enough for 3!

After we selected our pillows from their pillow selection and the firmness of the bed we were taken by golf cart to our beautiful room. While there are steep hills these rooms have access to golf cart transfer 24/7 and they arrive within 2 min.

Both pools we were able to get sun lounges at most times and each day we had free cocktails to watch the sunset to from 5pm-7pm. Breakfast was a gourmet selection that will fill your belly and we didn't have a problem ordering coffee we just ordered when we were seated.

The room was very dark with the blinds drawn so most days we were surprised when we woke to see the sun had been up for hours!

We had no problem with the shuttle and even didn't have to book in the end. Taxis back from Pattong were about 250-300 Baht and taxi to the airport from a booking made in Pattong was $1000B (hotel wanted $1500) We booked a cab from the desk at the airport to the hotel before you leave the airport for $950B

The staff were helpful and friendly and would do anything to help. This was one of the best holidays we have ever had and we hope to return to this hotel soon!

Room Tip: Opt for the jacuzzi room if you can afford it - it is awesome. Poolside rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kardykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Feralbrewing,

We are glad that your very first impression of the resort was the stunning and well designed lobby which is located on the hill side and affords great views. Our Jacuzzi suites are perfect for a couple who are looking to spend that special time together.

The location of our resort makes it perfect for every kind of guests whether you are looking for a quiet holiday or even enjoy the hustle and bustle of Patong which is just 5 minutes drive away. Our shuttle bus drives the guests to Patong and the Jungceylon shopping mall and the timing is designed to suit every guest.

Breakfast is a delightful experience at our resort with its wide selection of food, freshly squeezed fruit juices, bakery and a live Asian cooking station that allows you to pick your desired ingredient for a breakfast like home. Chef Tim and his talented team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their creation.

Our other facilities like the game room, kid’s club, activities and library are designed to help the guests make the most of their holiday.

We take great pride in announcing the opening of our new BBQ restaurant, Sizzle. Set on top of the lobby roof, this restaurant combines best of both worlds by way of setting and the most amazing food created by Chef and his culinary team. The guests dine under the stars while enjoying the most breathtaking sunset on the island.

We look forward to welcome you back at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa Phuket.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our stay was during January 2014. I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Firstly, staff were lovely and always greeting you when passing by. The hotel is stunning but strangely designed obviously to accommodate the hill it has been built on. It takes a couple of days to understand the layout. You have to be a little fit to tackle the many stairs, though a golf cart will take you to your room if necessary and there are a couple of lifts to some areas of the resort.

Everything is very modern, being a new resort, though there are design faults. We were in a family room. The bathroom very large with full size bath, separate shower and bath. A separated toilet would of been better when your travelling with children. From what I could understand, the only thing that made it a family room, was two beds. (Why did the maids only fold down one side of bed with turn down service?). The upper hanging space in cupboard was probably about 190cm high which was very strange considering the height of the average person. The bottom rack was also useless as you could only hang shirts. Too bad for our dresses. The digital electricity switch was hidden behind a hanging lamp which you had to move out of the way to press any buttons. If you are two people in a bed only one person is able to turn on or off bedside lamp. The air conditioning was good as long as you like the smell of sewerage. When we complained,the solution was to light an oil burner with some fragrant oil. This was good for about an hour. So we just had to deal with the smell. We did open verandah door for air though we had problems with closing it as door and fixed glass didn't line up.
The three pools are lovely, though in the 5 days there we never saw the advertised activities that were meant to be held there.
Breakfast was extensive and would please the majority of people. though coffee and tea service very slow. We enjoyed our dinner but for some reason the bottled water cost more than our chosen meals, though there was free bottled water throughout the resort.
Why do they have a cobbled drive way which you must walk up and down to access the free hotel shuttle? Difficult to walk on and that is without heels. It is interesting to fill out the questionnaire on arrival. Don't be fooled into thinking you will receive anything that is offered on it.
So,overall a beautiful place to stay if the negatives I have mentioned don't concern you.

Room Tip: We were in room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamakaz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing