We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Prefect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The room is huge with a large balcony which can see a pool view and beautify sunset. The lobby and restaurant is very style, and with friendly service. Breakfast is perfect with so many kind foods. The pool is large enough, there are with two pools, and size both are large. Hotel also service with a free shuttle van to go Patong area, so everything is fine to live far to Patong, and with a prefect room and view here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeannster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    382
    153
    43
    42
See reviews for
296
1,060
51
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked 4 nights on Dec' 13 (i'm writing this on our 3rd night), our overall impression of the hotel is very good, the room is impeccable, really new and clean with an ample bathroom.
Our room doesn't have any views tho, but it has a nice jacuzzi on the terrace and enough privacy to use it ;)
Only annoying thing we found so far on the bedroom is the surprisingly loud noise of the staff carts nearby while stepping on some metal grids on the road.
The facilities are quite good, modern and clean, the main infinity pool its quite nice, but there are not enough sun beds, so its fairly difficult to get a spot on some hours. There is another pool (riverside) which is not as nice, but you can have a swim there if you cannot find space on the main one.
If you get one room on the farthest blocks be prepared to walk/climb a lot of stairs to get to the reception.. its also not straightforward to find the right path.
The Breakfast is really good, well presented and of high quality. The pineapple juice is just awesome!!. I found strange that they didn't have any chopsticks available at all in the restaurant given that we are in Thailand after all...but just being picky here.

The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, top-notch service. We got several "freebies" from them, like thai massage, cocktails and some free laundry.

Note that this hotel is not really in walking distance from Patong or any nearby beaches, so you are dependent on taxis or the very handy Hotel Shuttle (reserve it in advance!).

Next time i come to Patong will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a Block close to the reception if you mind walking a lot. Ask for a room with pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent service and awesome dinner. I will choose again while I come here again.

Room Tip: Need to inform customers if the room close to pool or not. (My room type is family villa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4232Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Still so new that the roof wasn't even built yet. We got upgraded to a poolside suite which was well decorated in what seemed like and Arab-meets-Thai style and very well appointed. Easy to spend the whole day in the room and stepping right out into the pool. Main pool is actually the better one, with a gorgeous sunset view so it was rather disappointing when it was closed to guests one day for a private event. It seems an odd choice of location though as you'll be dependent on the hotel shuttle unless you hire your own transport - the single taxi stand outside the gates are obviously set up to fleece guests and will ask for higher prices than the hotel's car service. Don't stay here for the beaches either - Patong and Paradise Beach are two of the least lovely in Phuket. Construction was ongoing but never intrusive - of more concern would be what looks like another building site next to the Avista - when and if the heavy machinery moves in there it could make poolside relaxing much more difficult. It's also just as likely to remain unworked though so as always when forewarned, seek assurances from hotel directly before booking. Breakfast was excellent and the Vista restaurant is a great setting for it and dinner too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomPerignon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My new husband and i were wanting to stay at this hotel for our honeymoon and we were quiet excited as it looks beautiful. We wanted to spare no expense and this hotel has it all by the looks of it. However when emailing Juthamard Somapong the Reservations manager we quickly decided to stay elsewhere. I asked a few simple questions like, Can you beat this rate I'v found, Transport questions and also if club vista room has pool access and if i was even lucky to receive a reply it was a once sentence, rude, reply. It left a bad taste in my mouth and we are staying at another hotel now. This is the first impression a lot of guests receive and it brings the whole hotel down. Its a pity because we were so excited however it is our honeymoon and i don't want to be disappointed by rude staff when we arrive and if this is the standard of the reservations manager/first point of call then i hate to think what the rest are like.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We came here after reading the reviews and checking on their website that it was disabled friendly with lifts etc. I was recovering from a broken ankle and could only hop about on crutches. A wheelchair was given to me for my stay and everywhere I hopped the staff tried to help and were always pleasant asking how I was etc. The staff made this resort. I could not fault them for trying so hard especially as it was a challenge for me to get about. The club room and the bar was lovely as was the main restaurant but that was the limit of my hopping. I wanted to keep fit and what made my holiday was Toll who looked after me for 2 weeks helping me train and teaching me so much. My comments are now for the owner of the resort. The layout of the resort is not for anyone who has limited mobility as there are too many steps and not enough lifts to get about. This also goes for anyone with poor sight as there are numerous small steps that are not marked. The main one being in our room in between the hallway and the bathroom, same coloured tiles, an accident waiting to happen.To get into the room you have an obvious step, but this is a real problem in a wheelchair, which could be resolved by a temporary ramp used for wheelchair access. Maybe one room could be allocated for disabled persons with ramp, rails, shower stool etc. I will be back next year to see the rest of the resort and swim and hope you have the same staff!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Clare G,

Many thanks for your comments it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I do hope you are feeling better now and have completely recovered.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa and that we lived up to your expectations. It is always important to us to ensure our guests have a memorable holiday experience.

Our associates are our biggest asset and they will be glad to hear about the small part they played in making your holiday special.

I understand your point about the layout of the resort which can hamper movement for any of our guests with limited mobility. However, we do have one room close to the lobby which has wheel chair access and our guests can order In Room Dining the whole time they are in the hotel. Our associates are also at hand to assist the guests in case they wish to access any areas of the resort.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future to explore the areas of the hotel that you could not access during this stay.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The moment you enter the hotel, the view from the lobby is breathtaking beautiful. (However I wonder how did the reception staff manage w.o. an AC or a fan). The lobby is magnificent and very well done and so is the rest of the hotel. Although the rooms are far apart and can be a bit of a walk. I did not like the walk to my room at night. It was too secluded then. We had a Club Room but pool the rooms looked really attractive and worth the extra money.

The staff is very courteous and helpful and make each guest feel special. Our room was very comfortable and the view from the Balcony (the best part of your room) would give you a view of the two pools, the sea at a little distance and the open trees and the hills.
This resort is a little secluded up on a hill but there are other resorts nearby like Amari and some more. Also they provide you shuttle service upto Patong Jaugcelyon mall. Its a nice mall and has many shops and eating joints. Not bad for your first day there.
The last shuttle to the hotel is at 11pm so if you are a party animal get a tuk tuk or cab. (300 bhat) on the way back from Patong. Hotel also gives you a shuttle service to Paradise Beach. The beach was bad, only the view was good. Small and cluttered. A lot of rocks. Waste of time compared with other great beaches in Patong. Shuttle service available only to Patong and Paradise. But that serves the purpose.

The rooms are beautiful and clean. The TV can have some more channels though. The bathroom is big and beautiful but I feel there was some scope to improve it further.The property is new and well maintained.

The breakfast menu is elaborate and the food is good. The room service is also quick and efficient. Staff are really nice and polite.

Only drawback is if you want more action, and want to go here and there, it can be a little secluded and expensive to do back and forth. However there is no smell or noise and a lot of peace. The Hotel even has a small library.

Overall I loved my stay at Avista. Would like to visit it again.

Room Tip: 1. Shuttle to Paradise Beach can be easily missed. 2. Hotel is huge, if you don't want too long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kanu1515,

We are glad that your very first impression of the resort was the stunning and well designed lobby which is located on the hill side and affords great views. Our Club Vista rooms are perfect for a couple who are looking to spend that special time together.

The location of our resort makes it perfect for every kind of guests whether you are looking for a quiet holiday or even enjoy the hustle and bustle of Patong which is just 5 minutes drive away. Our shuttle bus drives the guests to Patong and the Jungceylon shopping mall and the timing is designed to suit every guest.

Breakfast is a delightful experience at our resort with its wide selection of food, freshly squeezed fruit juices, bakery and a live Asian cooking station that allows you to pick your desired ingredient for a breakfast like home. Chef Tim and his talented team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their creation.

Our other facilities like the game room, kid’s club, activities and library are designed to help the guests make the most of their holiday.

We look forward to welcome you back at Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa Phuket.

Warm Regards,
Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing