We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort and excellent service from all staff. We received a great deal which included breakfast which was fit for a king. There is mini golf, virtual golf, kids club and a gym plus 2 large pools. We only had one evening meal at the resort which was lovely but was expensive compared to the restaurants in patong. It is not walking distance to patong but the resort provides lots of free shuttles.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bainygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Bainygirl,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thank for such positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to provide a wide choice of food options in terms of style and price and have tried to ensure we remain competitive compared with other establishments of similar standards. We offer a range of light meals from 200 Baht to our full A La Carte seafood dishes with steak and lobster for between 750 and 1500 baht. We appreciate we have a varied range of guests and our Executive Chef has tried to include a number of Thai, Western and Indian dishes to accommodate as many tastes as possible.

We thank you for your feedback and do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,524 - 1,530 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having just made a return trip to the Avista I was intrigued to see what improvements have been made since we stayed at Easter. Overall the improvements were great, unlike the weather, and its clear from the amount of water in or around the hotel that it wasn't designed for wet conditions. Lots of grubby towels lying around to absorb the water due to what can be described as bad design of the hotel itself. Apart from that it is evident that the staff have now settled in and the service level had improved dramatically from when we first stayed. The staff are attentive and very accommodating. Nett in particular in the restaurant. I would also like to say that the food and presentation has gone up a notch and that's great credit to Tim the Exec Chef. Well done. Overall the hotel will go from strength to strength and may well be worth one more visit before we leave Asia in a few years time. The bad points are that spa as very expensive for poor treatments and please if it is raining do not have the disco in the restaurant its not in keeping with the style and also diners want to be able to talk to each other whilst eating. I do understand that this only happened due to the poor weather but my view and one i'm sure would be shared by many of the diners on Saturday night, if its raining then cancel the disco.

Room Tip: If you have children then choose a room that is close to the bottom of the hotel as the hotel is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bellejames300667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear bellejames300667,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa,

We are delighted that you returned to our Resort and noticed the improvements since last time. We are constantly looking for ways to make the guests experience better and do value all feedback we receive.

Chef Tim and his team are thankful for the recognition, they have certainly worked very hard on new menus and special dishes to provide a wide and varied selection and we glad you appreciated his efforts.

Our property does have lots of open spaces and we do agree that this is challenging during the rains, Much of the property is designed to make the most of the sunny weather and we are looking for ways to include some rain protection in the open areas without ruining the open design. In Thailand we have far more sun than rain and even during the rainy season the downpour only "normally" lasts for 1-2 hours.

I also agree with your point regarding the Disco, we tried to hold off moving the event inside as long as possible as we thought the rain would stop however it didnt in time and as a last resort we moved the event inside. In future we will be looking at holding the event somewhere else as not to disturb the main restaurant.

I do hope you return again before you leave Asia and am sure you will notice a lot more improvements.

Thank you for all your comments which we have shared with the team. Nett is also very happy for the mention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had 11 great nights at Avista from the 15th to the 26th of September, we decided to stay there based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

The check-in procedure was quick and very welcoming with cold towels and drinks, we were treated to room 825 which has direct access to the Riverside pool. The room was excellent, spacious and nicely decorated, as it was our anniversary a cake and champagne was waiting which was a very nice touch.

Breakfast was included and yes its as good as everyone here says it is. There is simply nothing more you could ask for in a breakfast and if you are not happy with the Avista breakfast you wont be happy with any. After about 9am it does get busy but even so the room is plenty big enough not to feel crowded and service is fast and friendly. In fact all the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times at Avista, even the security guard on the front gate was friendly !

There are 3 swimming pools to choose from, all 3 are great and nice and clean. There was always spaces to get a lounge and towels were provided each day as well. You cant swim after 8pm, however every night some people did. If they were too loud they were asked to get out, but if you are discrete you can take a dip to cool off I found.

We did make use of the resort shuttles to Patong and Paradise beach a number of times. We were always able to get a seat and never booked more than a day at the most in advance. Pick up and drop off times were adhered too and we enjoyed the service. You can of course take the taxis out the front of the resort which some reviewers refer too as the 'taxi mafia' . I always found these guys very nice and helpful myself and the costs reasonable. A trip to Patong was 300 baht which was about $10 Aussie, i thought this was ok and dont really know why so many people have an issue with this ? We went to Tiger Kingdom and the taxi trip there was 550 baht return, once again i thought it was reasonable as he also waited there 2 hours to drive us back.

Not everything at Avista is up and running as yet, there will be further restaurants added in time as an example. We did eat there however a few times and each time the food was very nice, the Saturday night BBQ was great by the pool and id recommend this for sure. Costs of the food were ok, id say about correct for a 5 star resort, not cheap but not crazy either.

There were some small things that could be improved for the future and i mention them not as a negative but only so that the management may improve them to make Avista even better in the future.

The hair driers as others have mentioned are far from great and dont work in the bathroom.
We were advised the Virtual Golf is open at reception but once we found it were then told that its not operational as the license for it had expired.
The free video and popcorn in your room is a great idea, however there were only about 20 old dvds to choose from and i would have thought a big upgrade for the video library was a must. Also the popcorn was not fresh.
We had dinner one night by chance in the resort and there was a Elvis Impersonator singing in the dinning room, he was really great and it was fun but there were only 4 other people in the entire room having dinner. Im sure if this event was advertised at the resort more people would have attended and the atmosphere would be better. Perhaps a notice at breakfast with the days activities would be something to consider ?
The spa and massage services are overpriced, in fact during our entire stay we never saw or heard of anyone using them. You can get the same treatments in Patong for less than half the costs at Avista.
There is a small counter by the reception that offers day tours etc, however lacking in any kind of helpful information other than 2 blue folders with flyers of various tours. This needs to be better staffed by someone with tour knowledge and who can at least communicate reasonable English.

We loved the king size bed in our room, it was very comfortable and we miss it now we are home. The pillow choices are great too and sleep quality was excellent. Curiously the bed was made twice a day which was very nice indeed and un expected. We always wondered how they knew we were out of the room as often we go to dinner, come back and the bed is made again :-)

The buggy rides to the room were great and handy, we did walk a few times and yes there are a few stairs to navigate so keep this in mind. But it helps burn off some that great breakfast you feast on each day.

We loved the Avista location, far enough away from busy Patong but close enough should you want to go there for the day or night. The views are very good from the resort and pools and we really did not want to leave. Id recommend it for sure to anyone, im sure we will also be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akjager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear akjager,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for leaving such positive comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we managed to meet all your expectations.

It is also an honour that you chose to stay with us on such an important occasion as your anniversary and we are glad you enjoyed the Champagne & Cake.

Chef Tim and his team are glad you enjoyed the food, they have worked very hard on providing a wide and varied selection to try to cater for all tastes.

We apologise if there was some confusion over the Virtual Golf system. It is all up and running and it a fantastic facility. The system was being updated with the latest software however this does only take a short amount of time and I am not sure why you were informed the license had expired. Eveything is fully operational and I do hope you can have a chance to use this in the future as the comments we have had from Golfing guests is fantastic.

Our new BBQ restaurant should also be fully operational from the end of October so all outlets are up and running.

We do appreciate the issues with the Hair Dryers and this is currently being addressed, we are now in the process of changing the bathroom sockets and improving model of hairdryer.

We do also try to put special events on throughout the year and this includes our Pool Party BBQ, Thai Cultural Evenings and special Elvis nights which are held occasionally, sometimes these events are well attended however we do find some instances when guests have gone outside the property instead. We will certainly continue to have events and will look at ways to promote more and more within the property.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Avista Hideaway still wasn't quite finished (official launch is 2014) so there were a couple of conveniences not available but the service, facilities, amenities and food is A1.

We stayed in the Avista Room and it was great. The overall decor, lighting, and ambience made the difference. We didn't stay long enough to use the full size balcony but it was certainly a feature with two day beds and enclaved by lush garden. It did say ocean views, but like previous TA reviews, it's only a glimpse of the sea. It's not a big issue, but if you're sole reason for picking a room is for the sea view, then you may be disappointed. The bed was perfect. The deep bath was luxurious and there's LOTS of storage space, cupboards and drawers so your belongings aren't strewn all over the place.

The service was also 5 star. I made a comment on the review sheet and within 24 hours, these issues were addressed. It was like day and night. They also had a manager talking to guests asking questions about their stay, and we had a problem with out air-con and by the time we finished breakfast, this was being attended to. Almost unheard of in Thailand (smiles).

The food was 5 star. Breakfast buffet had everything you'd expect and catered to different nationalities and you can have your coffee ANY way you like. That's a first for me at any 5 star buffet. We also ate at the same restaurant for lunch and the food and staff are superb and it wasn't overpriced as you might expect.

Each wing/group of rooms had their own pool, so you didn't have to walk far for a quick dip or share the pool with the entire resort. If you don't like walking to reception due to the hilly walkway, they have golf buggies so you can just ask them to pick you up.

The location is not walking distance to Patong and so you MUST BOOK to get the shuttle. We didn't bother, the taxi was 300baht so considering the amount of money you spend throughout the day, it's not that much in the scheme of things. However, if you have an early flight or have an appointment to be somewhere (as we did at 7.30am one morning), do not expect to just walk downstairs and get a taxi. We are unsure why we couldn't get one, but I have read elsewhere that some hotels only use one taxi company so if they're not available at the time you need one, then you just won't get one. They won't call another one. We were late for an important appointment. Bottom line, book a taxi day prior if you have to be somewhere at a certain time - and best to reconfirm.

Overall, this place was something special and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FulfillingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear FulfillingLife,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do try to ensure we look after each guest as best we can and are always ready to solve any issues people have while at the Resort, our staff are always available to talk to guests and make sure everything is perfect for them.

Chef Tim and his team are glad you enjoyed the food we try to provide a wide selection of dishes in all outlets to cater for most tastes.

We apologise if you had trouble getting a taxi, this is something outside the control of the hotel. We do offer our own shuttle and car service which is available 24hrs and if a hotel car is not available then there is a public taxi stand right out the front of the property and we are more than happy to call taxis from here for guests. There are normally plenty of taxis available however it does depend on their workload and unfortunately this is the only stand in the area.

Thank you once again for your comments which we have shared with all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We got room number 402 that have view to the 2 main pools.
I would suggest to take the room with direct exit the pool (even though young children is not allowed there due to risk that they might fell in to the pool).
Pros: The hotel is new, well furnished with big rooms. The bed is big enough for 2 adults and a baby.
Baby cot was fine and equipped with nice blanket (in contrary to other hotels that a towel was used as baby blanket…).
In the pools there are bars you can sit and relax with a drink.
The chef came to us in the restaurant and asked politely what the baby likes and made her special meal.
2 complimentary bottles were given each day for free and you can take additional drinking water if you need from the game room equipped with pool and soccer table and also darts.
The Hotel equipped with games room with employee that should take care of your children and plays with them (open until 5 PM only).
In check in you being asked what type of pillow would you like to get and other personal preferences which makes the stay for personal.
Hotel staff is very helpful and kind.
Cons:
The food in the restaurant is good but overprices of course – they charge us 250B !! for 1 bottle of mineral water (more they 10 times as it cost outside).
Hotel area is very steep and big so it’s quit hard to wandering around with baby stroller or for elderly.
Taxis from and to the hotel are expensive.
Hotel is far from beach area and you can’t go by foot. The goods thing is that you have shuttle service for free to Patong beach and to Paradise beach (100B entry fee).

Room Tip: I would suggest to take the room with direct exit the pool (even though young children is not allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Nir L,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to provide the best service we can and make every guest feel as comfortable as possible.

The Family Vista rooms located around the riverside pool are ideal for people with Children as you pointed out you can exit the room straight into the pool which also allows you to sit nearby and keep an eye on them while swimming in the pool.

We do realise that it can be difficult travelling with small children and do try to provide as much assistance as we can, this includes our babysitting service, kids club and games room. Our chef is also always happy yo prepare items not shown on the menu to ensure the children can eat well.

We do provide free water in the rooms and other outlets around the Resort however branded bottle water is available to purchase from the bars and the prices are higher than outside, however we have tried to keep our prices in line with other similar properties.

We do realise that as we are located on the side of the mountain there are a lot of steps and we do provide a complimentary buggy service to make moving around easier.

We have shared your comments with the team and thank you again for leaving valuable feedback. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Where do I start my wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and after a lot of research and both having worked at 5 star hotels in Melbourne this by far and away surpasses it. Right from checking in you are welcomed with professionalism and warmth. The place is impeccable and clean and very new. The attendant who checked us in and made sure we were well looked after Long is an absolute asset to the team. The rooms are fantastic and housekeeping does an amazing job even folding clothes and making sure the room is spotless and set the way u like it. One thing is there are a lot of steps and it is quite steep but well worth it and there are buggies the hotel provides. The Buffett breakfast is the best we have seen. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is far enough from patong town to be peaceful and quiet but not that far where it is an effort to get anywhere. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus with plenty of times to patong and also a private beach. The pool Vila is an amazing room which needs to be stayed in to understand. Because of this experience we will now be returning on our anniversary every year. The only minor criticism is in the pool Vila the Tv is far to low for the height of the bed and for the places that are closed or under renovation to have a note placed in the room and if there could be iPhone 5 charger point on the docking system but apart from those minor personal criticism everything is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesbeninati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Jamesbeninati,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your recent comments and we are delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to provide a high level of service in all areas and it makes us proud to know we have achieved this.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, our Executive Chef does try to ensure we have a wide and varied selection each day to cater for all tastes, we do realise breakfast is such an important meal so really try to get this right.

We do appreciate there are a lot of steps as we are located down the side of the mountain and as you pointed out we do provide buggies on call 24hrs to transport guests.

With regards to the Tv in the Pool Suite we will certainly look at how we can improve the location. We also hope to be able to provide an Iphone 5 adapter in the future.

We have shared your comments with the entire team and are honoured that you spent your honeymoon here and look forward to seeing you next year in your anniversary.

Kind Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful hill view and sunset, nice afternoon tea at the roof top bar
Breakfast quite nice, wide range of food and drinks

Hotel staffs are polite and helpful, they are willing to help and serve you

You need  reserve seats earlier for the shuttle bus from hotel to Patong and return, otherwise you have to pay for 300B for one way taxi, it's relatively expensice

As a new hotel and got the 50%off offer in the brand website, i highly recommend it

Room Tip: can choose pillow what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keebaby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Keebaby C ,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, Patong.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the future.

We do offer a complimentary shuttle service to Patong and the Beach which runs every hour, we have also now increased the service and added more vehicles to cope with the high demand at peak times.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we have passed on all your comments to the team.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $144 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing