We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing haven away from the hustle & bustle of Patong but close enough to shop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A great welcome when we arrived with welcome drinks combined with views over the pools to the ocean. We had a family room, again with great views & more comfortable beds/ pillows than the normal Thai firm examples. So easy to relax on the comfortable sun beds surrounding the 3 pools, good entertainment for our children in the kids club & games room. A fantastic breakfast with excellent coffee and we had a few dinners which although pricey were of good quality. Staff very friendly including the lady who would talk to the guests at breakfast & the chef who spoke with us all & arranged a great Easter egg hunt where my son found the golden egg!
Only drawback for us was the shuttle, it didn't have very family friendly return times for dinner & once didn't show up at all until we rang & then arrived with no explanation. Also our transfer to the airport arrived very late making for a very rushed finish to a a peaceful stay. I'd give the 'beach club' a miss, the rocky wall & dirty water not a patch on the 5 star pools in the resort. I'd love to come back and snooze on those sun beds again! We also took a recommended tour to Phi Phi with Asia Dolphins which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: The family rooms are good as they seem to be difficult to find online in Phuket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Scarey69

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we met all your expectations. I am glad you noticed the quality of our beds. We know that a good nights sleep is crucial in a Resort and spent a long time searching for the perfect bed to sink into....

We are also glad you enjoyed the Easter Egg hunt, the staff also had just as much fun as the children! Ellen and Tim thank you for the comments as do all the other staff.

Since your visit we have looked at the shuttle bus service and now run extra services to ensure we meet all the demands.

For the Beach Club we are also offering Paradise Beach as an alternative which is a very nice beach close to the Resort. There are actually 4 beaches near to us. Patong Main beach, Tri Trang beach, Paradise beach and Freedom beach. All of these are under 3 KM from us so we can certainly provide several options. We run a complimentary shuttle to both Patong Beach, Paradise Beach and Tri Trang Beach. Freedom Beach is very secluded and can only be reached by boat which leaves from Patong pier but it really is worth a visit.

I also apologise for the airport transfer. All our limousines are provided by an outside company and we have taken this up with them to ensure they improve on the timings.

When booking rooms the family rooms are also known as the "Family Vista" so I hope you are able to find these next time.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back again soon. We will make sure we have extra large Easter eggs for you all next time but will hide them better :-)

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was there with my family for 3 nights and 4 days.The resort is beautiful as it is located on top of the hill. breakfast was good but kind of boring after 3 days.

Our trip was marred by these small incidents: -

(1) There was leakage of water near the lifts and we got wet.
(2) The metal bar in the wardrobe is too high to reach.
(3) Cable for hair dryer is too short and it kept falling off the socket.
(4) Too many uneven steps - I fell off as I overlook the step.
(5) Swimming pool has no clear demarcation; my niece fell over the deeper pool without realizing.

Overall, place is not so child friendly. Great experience though I wont be staying there again as commuting to and fro Patong is costly between 300-500 baht depending on many people. Resort has not enough buggies as the steep hill makes it tiring for children and elderly people to walk up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsJKYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear MrsJKYong

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you found our Resort so beautiful and it is a shame some of the other areas did not meet your expectations.

I am a little surprised by your comment that the breakfast was boring as we do try to offer a wide selection of dishes to suit all tastes. We have over 100 items on the buffet which range from traditional bacon, eggs sausages etc to Asian stir fry, salad bar and pastry section. We also have 3 live stations for fresh juice, fresh cooked eggs and crepes. I am not sure if you noticed but we also change each of the hot items on a daily basis. I will certainly discuss with the Chef to see what else we can do.

Regarding your other points I would like to comment as follows.

1. The water leak near the lift was due to the excessive rain we had and effected a small area. We have repaired this and I apologise if you got wet. I am not sure if you walked under it without noticing but we do try to put signs out to warn guests of any small leaks.

2. We do realise the metal bar in the wardrobe is high and are fixing this by lowering it and adding extensions to the coat hangers.

3. We do recommend guests use the sockets in the room near the tables and we will certainly look into how to fix this.

4. Unfortunately as we are built on the side of the mountain we cannot do too much about the steps. All stairways are even and we do try to light all areas to make it clear.

5. We have a total of 4 pools (3 infinity pools and 1 dedicated children's pool) The swimming pool you are referring to is the hillside pool and not the children's pool which is located by the main restaurant. The children's pool is clearly fenced off from the main pool and has safety glass around the edges. There are also depth levels on all areas. The Hillside pool however is the large infinity pool in the center of the property and this does have 2 levels. The large flat shallow area is where the bar and stools are located and after this it drops into the main swimming area. We do not normally have an issue but we will certainly look at how we can highlight this. We do recommend that children remain in the main pool or children's pool by the restaurant. The club pool located near the Club Vista suites is also for adults only.

We do realise that as we are located on the side of the mountain the terrain can be challenging especially for the elderly or young children. We have several different levels and this does mean a lot of stairs and hills. We do however have the buggy service which is available 24/7 and will come to collect you from your room and drive you to various areas on request.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we do hope to see you again in the future. We have passed on your feedback to all the staff and will look to improve where we can.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When you work in Hotel Business, like me, you are pretty critical and hard to please when you stay at a hotel or go to a restaurant. But this hotel really exceeded all of my expectations. The atmosphere, the attention to detail in both service as well as the property is amazing. The name gets reflected perfectly as it is a real 'hideaway' out of the busy Patong. You will stay up on a mountain and will have a beautiful view from up there. And don't worry, it is not too far from Patong as it is only a 5-10 minute drive with their shuttle.
If you go to Patong and want to have the best of both worlds (the beauty of Phuket and the crazy nightlife of Patong) you should stay here!!

Room Tip: *Please note that since this is a new property, the Spa & some restaurants are not open yet*
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyne223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Evelyne223

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to receive feedback from someone who understands the business. I am sure you look at a lot more detail than most due to your job and when we receive positive comments it really means a lot.

We are so glad the service and quality met your expectations and thank you for sharing your experience. We have passed on your feedback to all the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and please don't work too hard when you return home.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa was a truly memorable experience for us. My kids simply loved the resort. The location is wonderful. The staff always goes out of the way to help the customers. The breakfast for all 3 days that we stayed there was awesome. If we return to Phuket, we will definitely stay here; no questions.

The only downside was the infrequent shuttles to Patong (may be every 30 minutes to an hour). If the hotel management increases the frequency, I think the experience will be complete.

Overall, a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Sam N,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations. Tim our Executive Chef is especially pleased you enjoyed the Breakfast. We do realise this is one of the most important meals of the day and try to ensure we have the best quality of food as well as a varied selection to cater for all our Guests.

We are also addressing the Shuttle Bus comments and have introduced more trips to ensure Guests do not have to wait.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience, we have passed your comments onto the entire team which constantly motivates us to provide the best service we can.

We look forward to seeing you back in Phuket soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is fairly a new hotel, captivates you to its 'hideway' essence from the very enterance - the lobby defines its own class; overlooking the sea from a hilltop. The sunset view from here was to-die-for!

The most impressive element of Avista Hideaway was its Staff - this property has invested in the best staff from around the world - making its service impeccable. The Chef who cooked us a special dinner was working at the Ritz Carlton in Hawaii prior to this, the manager was a manager at The Taj in India, and there was a staff from the Oberoi aswell.

With regards to the room, We stayed at the Pool Hideway Villa - certainly the most spacious room of the hotel - it was mind blowing. And the best of it all the breakfast was superb! The only place in Thailand that serves unmixed 'Fresh' fruit juice.

Just to address the reviews/feedback of others on the thread - The location is set in a way hence the hotel name 'hideaway' - its not in the middle of nowhere, its location is one of its strong points, 5 mins away to the busiest street in Phuket (Patong beach) yet a luxurious element serene hideway!

Highly reccomend! Comparable if not better to all the other hotels I have stayed at!!

Oh wait.... the SPA was heavenly too! Ayurvedic treatments were being introduced at the time we visited.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kthakral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear kthakral,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations.

We do take pride in the team we have here at the Resort. All staff genuinely enjoy taking care of our guests and this shows in their attitude and level of service. Chef Tim thanks you for the recognition and we have passed on all your comments to the team.

I am glad you enjoyed the pool suite. We put a lot of thought into the style and layout when designing the property and do think there is nothing similar in the area.

I too also agree with you that our location is one of the main attractions. Located on the mountain overlooking the ocean you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle miles from anywhere BUT Patong is only 1km away and takes 5 minutes to reach the center therefore you have the best of both worlds, quiet peaceful surroundings but close to all the action.

I am also glad you enjoyed the Ayurveda Spa. This is still relatively new in Thailand and not many places offer the traditional style which we do.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments and also some of your fantastic pictures.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 11 nights from the 13/5 - 24/5 and had a lovely restful stay. The facilities are great, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Special mention to Mae (works in the bar, Marck Hotel Mgt, & Tim Head Chef). Mae was so lovely, Marck was extremely helpful and understanding, and Tim served up the most diversified offerings for breakfast we have ever seen, and is also a lovely guy). The food was great, but we didn't eat dinner there as we either went into Patong or had a late Pizza depending on our daily activities. They also make great vanilla milkshakes. The Hotel is still going through some early opening teething issues, but when issues were brought to their attention they went out of their way (Marck in particular was great) to find a solution. The airconditioning system is an issue of a night as the fan speed is too high even on the lowest setting, it is also a bit noisy and even with adjusting temperature control's you would either be hot or wake up cold. (After a couple of nights, I removed the doona from the cover and also asked for another doona cover, which solved our problem. i.e.thick cotton covers). Marck informed me that he would pass our feedback onto the engineer to see if it can be adjusted. The hotel is extremely clean and our room (Buena Vista) was spacious & comfortable. A tip for ladies, you will need to take a small mirror with you if you use the hairdryer as this is located next to the desk and not in the bathroom. (I'd read about this tip from somebody else and was prepared). The 3 pools are great, there are plenty of lounges and umbrellas and because you are out of Patong on the hill, it is extremely quite and relaxing. Navigating how to get to the various areas within the resort, is interesting and some of the staff didn't or couldn't explain how to navigate to the various levels (as they are also new) and there are no bathrooms near the bar. You have to go back down to either near the middle pool or outside the restaurant. The pricing of both the food and drinks although higher than in Patong are not expensive compared to what other 5 star hotels usually charge. Patong experiences power outages frequently so take a mini torch with you, even the hotel has its own backup power supply (torch in cupboard) and the lighting works it is handy to have your own. On this note only use an ATM at a bank, as I lost $ as the ATM I was using was affected by the blackout in mid transaction, and the Thai people can't do anything to help. Tip take the hotel shuttle bus down to Paradise Beach (10 mins) as it is such a lovely place. 100 baht entrance fee, but you get a lounge / umbrella & use of the toilet facilites which are very clean. There is also a restaurant (cheap meals & cocktails), and the beach is remote and quite. All in all it is a lovely piece of paradise away from the hustle & bustle of Patong and we would return but only for a shorter period of time next time around.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Buena Vista Room 403 which is overlooking the bottom pool. Although it is a fair wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANE0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear JANE0810,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations. It is also nice to know our staff looked after you well.

We have passed your comments onto Mae, Marck, Tim and the others and they are all grateful for the recognition. We do take pride in our staff and feel the team we have at the Resort are a fantastic group of individuals who really take pride in the way they look after guests. Tim our Executive Chef is especially pleased you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the other items.

We are certainly looking into the points you mentioned and have changed many of the AC motors in the rooms to make they quieter. We are also in the progress of adding mirrors to make the use of the hairdryers easier.

I apologise for some of the staff which may have had trouble directing you. I believe these would have been some of our new trainees which arrived a few weeks ago and are still familiarising themselves with the Resort layout. We will certainly try to improve this. We are also adding property maps in strategic locations to ensure Guests can find their way easier.

We are glad you enjoyed Paradise Beach, we too think it is fantastic area and hidden away from the popular destinations.

Once again many thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We are a family with 6 year old daughter and we stayed in the hotel for 10 days in February. I have to say it was the best hotel in which we have ever been. We were satisfied with absolutely everythig. My husband was excited from great distance to all the golf courses on the island, our daughter from kids club and because of the pool access right from the room. All of us liked excellent food, great breakfast, nice swimming pool, divine view of the pool, stylishly and functionally arranged room and 100% satisfaction service of all the hotel staff. We were really happy and will definitely come back. I can recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenka816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Lenka816,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Thank you for you positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here with us.

We have passed on your comments to all the team which motivates them to continually provide the best, heart felt service possible.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you all back again soon.

Kind Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $144 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing