We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First overseas trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First overseas trip”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The resort was only half finished but it was absolutely brilliant. Language was a small barrier but don't you expect that when in another country?? Pools were gorgeous with an awesomw view of the whole resort. Food was lovely, i'm a bit of a sook when it comes to spicy food but i managed quite well with their menu. We reserved a king bed jacuzzi suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. We booked in for 10 nights and then moved onto Singapore but both my husband and i wished we had stayed in Phuket at Avista for our whole trip. I have already recommended this resort to friends who are going there next month. They hope to have it completed by mid this year so if unsure wait til then. The service from staff and management was outstanding - can't wait to go back!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Nita1006

Many thanks for your precious feedback. We are so glad you chose Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa for your first overseas trip and we hope Thailand will have a special place in your heart.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. The Resort is 100% complete in terms of construction however we are waiting for our Library and Virtual Golf to be installed which should be by March 2013.

We do try to cater for all eating styles and our chefs are always available to prepare dishes as the Guest requires whether spicy or not so we are glad you found the food to your liking. We are also happy to prepare any items which are not on the menu so please don't worry about asking for something special next time you visit us.

We have passed on your comments to all the team and look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the near future.

Warm Regards


Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    399
    159
    44
    43
See reviews for
308
1,104
53
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This resort is located about 10 minutes from the Patong Beach Area. It's spanking property on a cliff with fantastic views of the Andaman Sea from it's 'Infinity Pool' where they serve breakfast in the morning.
They have large rooms with a good set of amenities, and a large bathroom for the kings who like a bigger bathroom.
The room I was in faced the Swimming Pool with glimpses of the Ocean on the right. All and all, I'd recommend the hotel for it's hospitality, cleanliness, location and the view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akshayk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear akshayk88,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

When designing our Resort one of the main areas for detail was in the Guest rooms, this is a crucial factors in any Resort and we have tried to ensure all our rooms are large, airy and offer privacy when needed. The bathroom is also very important and we have made sure these are also large spaces with power showers as well as free standing bathtubs in many of the rooms categories.

Our 3 infinity pools have been strategically placed to allow Guests to enjoy their full beauty without feeling over crowded and I am sure you will agree there is nothing better than laying by the infinity pool watching the sunset.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we have passed them on to all staff and will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at crowded lobby but were pleasantly surprised by the personal attention we still got to check-in. They gave us garlands, cold towel and a nice mocktail on arrival. Though the lobby was crowded with many people arriving and leaving, we were assured by the front desk manager that we will be looked after and yes we did not face any delays, they had things in control with the manager looking after all guests and assuring no delays. We had in fact come much before the checkin time so were ready to wait, they politely told us that they can provide early checkin but will still take 40 mins and offered us to wait in the restaurant and have lunch in the mean while. Again they were efficient in coming to us at the promised time to inform the room was ready and showed us to the rooms. The luggage was already placed in the room.

The rest of the stay was equally good with all staff being very efficient, we were asked on arrival what time we would want our rooms to be cleaned everyday to avoid disturbing us and everyday the room was cleaned on time.

We once wanted to borrow a DVD which was not available at that time at reception, but next day the reception when they received it back from other guest, kept it in our room with a note, it was very thoughtful.
Renting the car at last minute can be a challenge sometimes so we learned to book in advance.

We wanted to stay more but had already made reservations another hotel for the next 7 days, but even for that the front desk called the other hotel to ensure we had good rooms and informed them of our arrival time so that we did not have to wait. Very thoughtful again.

The facilities were nice, though wifi does not work well in some areas but has decent speed in the room.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barislav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Barislav B,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

We feel that it is crucial to ensure each Guest enjoys the entire welcome experience of our Resort as this creates the first impression. We always try to ensure Guests feel relaxed and welcomed as anyone would when receiving friends at your home.

We also feel that it is the small personal touches which make the difference. Many Resorts offer fantastic rooms, scenery and similar facilities as we do, but to ensure we stand out from the rest we try to concentrate on all the small details and add a extra touch of luxury. This can be something as small as remembering your favourite flavour of tea or which side of the sink you like your personal items. The important thing is that we get to know our Guests and enjoy looking after them.

We are working on the issues with the WIFI and have now installed more access points around the property to increase coverage and speed.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, we have passed them on to all staff and we will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The taxi had trouble finding the hotel when we found it it was up a dirt track looked like they where still building. Entered the hotel and was knocked back by the most amazing reception with the best views of the whole resort.the staff where welcoming and polite and i was ready for the most amazing holiday. this turned out not to be the case the resort is not finished the staff are in very short supply, badly trained and very bad language skills.what is built is cheap and crammed in to a small plot of land.We paid a lot for our room so had a good view from our upper deck but most rooms DO NOT have views. Because staff are not trained and very few of them my whole stay was hard work I lost my temper and had sleepless nights and was totally stressed out by the time I left. Some of my complaints I made to Ellen the customer liaison where noted and she did diffuse the situation on the 2nd day she was one of the few professionals at the hotel as was the new chef brought in to sort the kitchen out and Sun who was very good waiter who made our meals feel quit normal.
DO NOT stay at this hotel it's a big con
Half the resort if you can call it a resort is not built.
The staff are very few and untrained.
This was a very special holiday for a very special birthday and I do not usually spend this sort of money. I feel very cheated of a very special holiday and conned in to paying a lot of money for the privilege. On my last night I had my last argument when the hotel tried to hold us to ransom to pay a fortune to get a car to the airport we said we would take a taxi and told it was not much cheaper good job I had my iPad as the hotel does not have any computers except for front desks for us to use and I managed to book my own transport for a fraction of the cost.I asked to speak to the manager but was told he was not on duty till next morning I told staff to tell him how unhappy i was and hoped to see him before we left.The manager did not even come to see me at check out even after seeing him at breakfast and he said he would talk with me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aglane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear aglane1,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa.

I am sorry that you feel the Resort did not meet your expectations. We do value all feedback and I would like to address some of the issues you raised.

We are located in Patong in the Tri Trang beach area which is a very new Resort area, being located on the mountain does mean that the roads are not modern tarmac which are found in many other countries, this applies to much of the area around Phuket. The road is certainly not a dirt track and is a 2 lane cement road, we do however find that a lot of sediment blows from the mountain areas which can make it look dusty at times, however I do feel this is all part of staying in a natural, jungle atmosphere. We do promote the fact we are a natural Hideaway Resort located on a mountain and not in a bustling city.

Our Resort is one of the Largest in the Areas and I do feel your comments of being crammed into a small plot is a little misleading. We have 150 rooms spread out over the side of a mountain with 15 individual blocks, 3 infinity pools and a large spa. If you look at all the photos of the Resort I am sure you can see the layout very well and we are certainly not crammed into a small area. All of our rooms are very spacious with the smallest being 55 sqm, the Duplex Jacuzzi suites are 140 sqm with 2 levels and private rooftop terrace on every room, and our Pool Suites are a spacious 145 sqm with private pool in every room. I am not sure what size rooms you are used to but I certainly feel that ours a very spacious and some of the largest in Phuket.

Regarding the staff, we have invested a lot of time ensuring our staff are chosen for their personalities as well as skills, many have years experience in other 5 star Resorts and perform their duties with grace and a genuine caring attitude. We do have trainees at the Hotel on a regular basis which is part of our teamwork with local colleges and I will certainly ensure that we review our staffing format to resolve any issues.

As you have already mentioned in your comments we ensure staff are always available to speak to Guests, breakfast is one of the main times for us to meet people and many staff such as Ellen the Guest Service Officer, Tim the Head Chef, Simon the EAM, Alvin the Spa Manager and others are always socialising to ensure we discuss any Guest feedback. I believe you met all of these staff during your stay and they were all aware of some of the issues you had and attempted to rectify any matters before you left.

We do acknowledge that in Thailand the English language is not spoken as well as desired and for some Guests this can be frustrating, however unfortunately this is a nationwide issue. We do have regular language classes for all our staff and they do try their best to practice language skills even though they may not always have 100% confidence. We will certainly look into this and try to improve.

The Resort is 90% complete and the only area which is not finished is the section under the Main Pool which houses the library and virtual golf however there is no construction taking place and to say the Resort is half built does give a wrong impression. The is area is being painted and will be complete in March, we also ensure that any works do not disturb our Guests.

Finally with regards to the comments on the car. We certainly do not force guests to use the Resort cars. We do offer a limousine service from the Hotel and we only promote this. Guests are free to use outside taxis and private cars however we do not promote these in the Hotel. Our limousine service has brand new cars, fully insured with professional drivers. Unfortunately many of the outside cars DO NOT have insurance, road worthy vehicles or English speaking drivers. We put our guest safety ahead of anything else and will not promote these type of services. Obviously there are cheaper cars available which if you are happy to take the risks can save money. We do have a set price for airport transfers which is clearly shown at the Hotel before booking and is also clearly shown on our website. Our price is also in line with many of the other local Resorts.

Again I am truly sorry that you stay was not satisfactory, we promote that fact that we are a Luxury Resort, located in Thailand in a tranquil Jungle setting. I do apologise if you feel this is not what you received.

We appreciate all your comments and will certainly attempt to rectify those which we can. We do hope you will return to Thailand in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location, Location,Location!! Excellent location, quite and comfortable yet 5 minutes from the hustling bustling Patong. Had a great stay at Avista Hideaway. The staff is at the hotel are great. Im sure this hotel has a great potential.
Lovely pool and great rooms too.I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meme99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear meme99_13,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in Patong, situated right on the side of the mountain with fantastic views over both Bays and yet we are still only 5 minutes from the heart of Patong. This means that you can enjoy a quiet, tranquil surrounding while at the Resort but can head into the city whenever required..

We have passed on your comments to all staff and will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the resort for 4 days. new property with great views of the sea and surrounded by greenery all around. The 3 swimming pools, golf putting, roof bar and kids area make the resort a perfect leisure getaway. The rooms are spacious and the Jacuzzi Suite is beautiful with a terrace area for use by the occupants of the suite.

Service of the hotel is great and assuming will improve further in the days to come.Good luck team Avista!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritwik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ritwik25,

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations.

When designing the Resort we spent a lot of time and thought on the rooms as we feel this is the most important aspect of a Guests stay. All our rooms are very spacious with large bathrooms.

The Duplex Jacuzzi suite is also a fantastic option as it has 2 levels which includes a private terrace with BBQ area so you can organise your own special private dinner. Ideal for a romantic getaway.

We have passed on your comments to all the staff and hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Avista hideaway is a perfect place for a great holiday experience in Phuket. The rooms are wonderful, views excellent and service superb. A must have experience. Good food, great swimming pools and world class amenities. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptApurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear CaptApurv,

Greetings from Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted we met all your expectations during your stay.

When designing our Resort one of the main areas for detail was in the Guest rooms, this is one of the crucial factors of any Resort and we have tried to ensure all rooms are large, airy and offer privacy when needed. Also the 3 infinity pools have been strategically placed to allow Guests to enjoy their full beauty without feeling over crowded.

We have passed on your comments to all staff and will continue to try our best to satisfy each and every Guest.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing