We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service need to improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service need to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

First of all we will let you know, that we have booked the hotel in October 2012 although it wasn´t finished. They supposed to open the Avista Hidden Resort and Spa at Christmas 2012 and promised they would be ready with all for their guests.

We came from Khao Lak per taxi and the taxi driver, was not familiar with all hotels in Patong he did not find the address neither, because in the surrounding of neverless 5 km there is no sign or advertising presented to offer the way.

Later we heard from other hotel guests that their taxi drivers from the airport had the same problems, too.

For those, who will go at Avista Hideaway, tell the driver Tri Tong Beach near Merlin Hotel.

The welcome in the Avista Hideway was very kind and warm. They offered us towels and fresh Ice tea as welcome dinks and asked us what kind of tea, mattress, pillow etc. we would like prefer?

But this was only an evaluation sheet – and took unfortunately no influence to the interior of the rooms.

The set up of the Hotel is very nice. They offer 2 very nice swimming pools. The whole architecture of the Hotel is very modern. The hotel is far away enough from the nightlife and on the other hand near enough to join the Patong scene.

It is built into a mountain – so you have to be in very good condition to get from your room to the Lobby, Restaurant, Bar and Pools i.e.

The 2 elevators are confusing like the numbering of the rooms, too.

I.e. you will find at the same floor 300 and 400 numbered rooms.

Although they have two elevators you have to walk many steps – nothing for handicapped people or if you have to handle trolleys for kids etc.

Restaurant we did not try – But don´t miss to have a sun downer at the bar to enjoy a wonderful sunset. Breakfast is very good – home baked bread, fresh juices, warm soups, fried vegetables .... you want miss anything.

They told us that their own Hotel beach is under construction and offered a taxi service free of charge to Patong frequently a day.

We will give you the advice to make an in time reservation for this service. It happened to us, that the return taxi was overbooked. It was not possible to offer a second car. That does not fit to a 4 + Star hotel.

All rooms are offered with very noisy air conditions – Unacceptable in all levels – so we decided to switch off the system during the nights. But they neither have mosquito screens. Sleeping with open window was not possible neither because of mosquito attacking.

We would not recommend this hotel because of the personnel situation at he front desk. They need to be trained to offer a service of a 4 + Star hotel – exception is our wonderful Ellen. She offered a very good service and was able to speak and understand English very well.

Extra tipp – to avoid the high taxi charges of the hotel – take a taxi what is waiting in front of the hotel. You will save 150 – 250 Baht per ride!

C & K 49 and 51 years old

Room Tip: Try to get a room with seaview - so you will see the wonderful sun set every day! Don´t use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Duh2013

Many thanks for your comments we do appreciate and act on all feedback we receive.

As you know we are a very new Resort and it does take some time before the local taxis get to know our name. We are currently waiting for the Government to approve the road signage which should all be in place by the end of February, we have also recently worked on promoting the Resort with the local drivers and most now know where we are.

For the welcome experience we do try to collect Guest preferences so we can ensure we take extra measures to make your stay more enjoyable, this includes asking your pillow preference, hardness of mattress food choice and other information which may assist us.

We are glad that you found the property to your liking and have tried to ensure the design of the Resort allows privacy even at the busiest times. As you mentioned we are located on the mountain overlooking Patong and therefore navigating the terrain does involve several different levels. To make this easier we do have our golf carts available on request and a number of elevators in the room blocks. We have also allocated the rooms nearest the lobby as rooms for Guest who may have physical limitations so they are nearer the elevators etc.

I apologise if you found the room numbering confusing, we did try to choose the easiest solution, we have 150 rooms which are separated into 12 different blocks all named after species of Orchids, we have allocated the first number as the reference to the block. For example in Block A (Aspasia) rooms 100, Block B (Brassia) rooms 200, Block C (Cattleya) rooms 300 and so on.

With regard to the transportation we do offer a shuttle service into Patong every 90 minutes, for Guests who wish to travel outside the times we offer there is a private taxi service which is independent from the Hotel and unfortunately we are unable to dictate pricing to them. We do inform guests that a typical taxi on the island will charge between 300 – 500 to travel to most destinations.

We are aware that some rooms have noisy AC and we are now rectifying this by changing the compressors, we will also be fitting Mosquito nets onto the doors so guest can leave balcony doors open in the evening if required.

I do apologise if you found the front office staff not up to standard and I will certainly look into this. Ellen is one of our Guest Relation Officers who are there to ensure each guest request is followed up and she very grateful for your recognition.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in Patong overlooking both bays and being located on the mountain does let us enjoy fantastic sunsets. I have shared all your comments with our staff and we do hope that the small issues you had does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    375
    151
    42
    42
See reviews for
292
1,034
51
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

As highlighted in many previous reviews the Avista Hideaway is new and not yet even complete, so beware future construction noise.

The rooms are a decent size and the pools are also of a good size. Unfortunately the rooms still have many defects in them from both a construction point of view and from basic operations.

Examples of this include a leaky shower, no dessert menu in the compendium and a telephone that didnt work on arrival and was never fixed even though this was requested and highlighted to three seperate staff members over a 48 period - including the Manager On Duty.

Service in this hotel is unfortunately non existent. The staff are also not that friendly or welcoming. I have experienced far better service in terms of warmth, friendliness and professionalism at many other Phuket resorts.

The purchasing of Food and Beverage in this hotel is also very expensive. A Beer at the Pool Bar is equivalent to 9 - 10 US dollars which is far more than I have paid in any other resort in Phuket. A coke in the minibar is 5 US dollars plus.

The location is also not ideal by any stretch of the imagination. It is at the top of a hill and from the resort you only get glimpses of the ocean, so dont expect stunning views of a beach vista or anything. The current marketing I believe exagerates what views are offered. Also, as you are surrounded by forest (apart from the surrounding construction mess) there are alot of mosquitoes that will pester you whilst trying to relax around the pool.

The advertised shuttle bus's to Patong are non existent ! They claim they run every hour and a half ........ well myself and other guests found this to be totally unreliable and if it is as claimed only 2 minutes to Patong why couldnt the resort run a shuttle every 15 minutes instead of every 90 minutes? The bus's are available as are the drivers so if guests are waiting, why not take them? But no, service is not a priority here. To walk to Patong from the resort will take you a good 20 minutes down hill, whilst returning to the resort from Patong will take at least 40 as it is a very steep climb ....the location is not great at all and is surrounded by nothing else. The alleged free shuttles dont run to a timetable and instead you are coerced to purchasing a ride in the hotel taxi at 300 baht each way which is 13 - 15 US dollars....... After a few days of a couple a trips a day each way and this starts to add up.

Also interestingly, in the resort there are no pay movies, no CNN, no BBC or no Australian Channel. English language channels are very limited.

Breakfast at the resort was also dissapointing. Staff avoid contact with you and on all three mornings I had to approach staff to ask for a coffee. Not once did they ever come and offer any hot drinks to either myself or any other guests. At breakfast there is an egg station......but for that to work you need a chef to actually want to cook the eggs or omeletes....... the station was rarely manned when I was there. Also the fruit, juices and other items were not replenished in a timely manner thereby making breakfast a delayed and most frustrating experience.

I also purchased an airport transfer from the resort back to the airport. The cost of 1500 baht -is far more than I been charged at any other Patong resort. For this I would expect a nice car - not simply a run of the mill van. And whilst this charge was added to my room account and paid on check out, the driver of the transfer demanded I pay again at the airport. Only after a long discussion with the resort over the telephone was I allowed to go and check in for my flight.

This property advertises itself as a 5 star resort. Im sorry, but its not even close.

The Avista Hideaway Resort was a major dissapointment and is off my list for good. I do hope other guests have a far better exerience than what I did.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieinCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear AussieinCHC

The Resort is brand new however to say we are not complete is misleading. The resort opened in December 2012 and all rooms and public areas are complete. We do have some minor work being carried out in the Back Of House area and also under the main pool but this is limited to certain times of the day and we ensure there is no disturbance to the guests. In regards to the rooms these are quite complete , as a new resort, we do realize that there may be some teething issues which may arise from time to time. Any issues ,such as a problem with the shower or telephone are normally rectified as soon as they are brought to our attention.

We do have a full in room dining menu shown in all rooms and any items (even if not listed) are available on request. We do not list many of the desserts on the in room menu as we find the preparation and presentation of these are best enjoyed in the restaurant. We also find that desserts in the room encourage ants and even though we have a very strict pest control system in place ,we would not like to encourage an infestation. However, we do appreciate your comment and we will ensure that we add some additional dessert items in the future.

I am truly disappointed that you did not find our service and our staff up to your standards. One area of the Resort that we have paid specially attention to is the personality and attitude of the service staff. Various other reviews make a pointed reference to Ellen, Dr. Alvin, AK the Front Office Manager, AB the Butler Manager and other F&B staff. We try to offer warm, efficient and friendly service to all guests. Our teams will however be briefed regularly and we will strive to better improve our standards as the hotel teams start settling down.

All our offerings on the menu are priced the same, if not slightly lower than many of the other 5 star hotels in Phuket. Our beverage prices are actually about 5% more competitive than many of the other 5 Star resorts. Obviously there are many hotels which offer cheaper food and drinks. The choice of dining within or outside the hotel is purely dependent on our guests . For a 5 star resort loaded with the facilities we are offering , the pricing is very competitive as are our room rates and a lot of our guests have rated us satisfactorily on “value for money”. You would have noticed that since we are quite new, our room rates offered are promotional opening rates which are quite competitive.

The location is indeed special and this is the very foundation of our Resort, we are NOT a typical Resort located in the centre of Patong, we are a “Hideaway” up in the hills. Photographs taken by our valued guests show clearly that we are located on the top of a mountain which overlooks not one, but BOTH bays of Patong and Karon. We appreciate that not every room has an ocean view but a large majority do and the others have a fantastic mountain view. We certainly do not advertise we are located on a beach but are surrounded by a forest which does offer a private Resort feel with breathtaking Vistas in all directions.

To combat the mosquito menace prevalent throughout the tropics, we do have repellents in all rooms and a regular pest control schedule which is quite effective. We also plan to install net doors in our rooms.

The hotel does run regular services into Patong, the distance to the Patong beach is just 2 minutes. Once the passengers are dropped off, the vans then go to the pickup point and wait for the other guests who wish to return to the Hotel. We do also appreciate that walking may not be the best option as we are located on the mountain. Again we do not try to promote that we are a Resort located in the heart of Patong, we promote the fact that we are a “Hideaway” located on the mountain overlooking Patong,yet just 2 minutes away from the shopping ,night life and the action. The taxis available outside of the Resort and private taxis are not part of the Resort. These operate over the entire island and the prices are set by the local taxi organisations. We have no control over these and to travel around the island to any location, these taxis are the only form of transport in Phuket. This is certainly a known issue and the Thai Government is working on introducing a better public transport system. We do recommend to Guests that a cheaper alternative is to hire a car or motorcycle for the duration of the stay. A small motorcycle is only around 300 baht per day and a family car is between 900 – 2000 Baht per day depending on the size. You will see that the motorcycles are by far the most popular choice for many tourists all over Phuket.

For the TV system we do have a selection of 20 channels which cover most languages from German, Chinese, Japanese, French, Indian and English and we will be introducing more channels soon including CNN, BBC, Star Movies etc. We do currently have English News and business channels. With regard to Pay Movies we do not offer this facility and instead offer a DVD library collection for free which is listed in the room directory and available from reception. This covers all genres of movies from comedy, family to thriller and romance.

I am sorry your breakfast experience was not up to your expectation, we do try to ensure we have a full team each morning who are available to assist ,including our Guest Relations staff, the Ayurvedic Doctor to help assist and advise on the choice of food and Managers socialising during the morning as this is the time we can interact with most guests. Our chefs are normally present in the show Kitchen, standing by to assist with freshly cooked eggs. I will certainly look into this and will ensure that this is strictly adhered too. We now have Tim, the new Executive Chef on board who has plans to make our appreciated breakfast spread even better. Tim comes to the Avista Hideaway after many years of experience at the Ritz Carlton. In addition to the usual offerings ,Tim will also be working on healthy menu choices.

The airport transfer 1500 Baht is normally a standard rate which is charged from the Tri Trang area for a normal shuttle vehicle. The airport is almost 1 hour away and if an external service is booked, the same journey is normally charged at 2000 baht at some of the other hotels in Patong. The alternative is to take a small taxi from outside the hotel which charge approx 800 Baht.

Again I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations and we will work diligently towards improving all aspects of our fledgling resort and the service offered to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

Kind Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at this brilliant new resort.

My wife & I had the most wonderful week thanks to the hospitality of this brand new resort. The staff are a little short of the efficiencies you would expect from a well drilled resort, but this makes the staff here more enjoyable. The staff really try to accommodate every need and then go beyond what is expected.

The location is private and beautiful yet only a short shuttle bus trip to Patong to get amongst the hustle and bustle of Phuket.

Must mention the best bed I've ever slept in.

Well done Avista - we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear MickeyS17

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We always try to ensure each and every guest receives the best possible service which we hope is friendly, efficient and from the heart.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in Patong which is on the mountain overlooking the bays and as you mentioned only 2 minutes from the heart of Patong.

We are glad you appreciated the quality of the beds. We believe that a good nights sleep is crucial, therefore the beds have been specially chosen for their comfort. We also offer a choice of mattresses and pillows as well as our sleep therapy program to ensure you have the best sleep possible.

Again thank you for your comments which have been shared with the staff and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and an amazing hotel but when I went it was still being made.. But all thanks to Ellen which my sister thinks should get employee of the year award (even though this place was 6 days old when I went)! The new year's party was great too. I think when this resort is fully operational it will be the best hotel in phuket. Even the chief was very good but I can't remember his name. Even the manager's wife was pretty helpful...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zora000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear zora000,

Many thanks for you comments.

Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa, is a brand new Resort which opened in December 2012 and we are constantly improving each area every day. The resort is now 95% operational and has some minor work being done in back of house areas which should not effect the Guests enjoyment. Our main priority is to ensure each Guest enjoys their stay and is not disturbed in any way.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the New Years Eve party and it truly was and memorable evening to welcome in 2013. 2014 will be even better!

Your comments have been shared with the staff and Ellen is delighted you mentioned her. We will certainly make sure your vote is included in the "Employee Of The Month" vote :-). The managers wife is also grateful for the comments and was more than happy to assist.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I struggle between wanting to keep Avista Hideaway a special secret and wanting to share this amazing hotel with the review it deserves...

What a beautiful resort. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with the most stunning view, a friendly smile and a welcome drink, my friends, husband and I fell in love with Avista Hideaway. The family pool access room is a perfect location for either a small family or for a couple on honeymoon with a day bed on your door step and steps down into the pool with a sun lounger in the water. The views from the end of the pool are beautiful. You really feel like you are hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Patong which is still only 5min by shuttle.

The staff at the pool bar, 'Fluids' were just gorgeous, always friendly and helpful. We also thoroughly enjoyed happy hour at the rooftop bar, watching the sun set while sipping cosmopolitans.

There are a lot of steps throughout the resort so this could be an issue however, golf carts and enthusiastic staff were always on hand to drive us back to our room after a hard night of walking the markets in Patong!

Shuttle buses were easy to book with reception and fairly regular. They will probably need to run more frequently when the resort becomes more well known.

While the resort itself is something you must see it is the also the staff that really make Avista Hideaway. Ellen, the guest experience and quality officer is fantastic. She introduced herself at breakfast the morning after our arrival and from that moment on always made herself available, asking after our health and wellbeing and generally making sure there was nothing more we could possibly wish for. Alvin, the spa manager, is a genuinely beautiful man. Again, he always made an effort to have a chat with us and wanted to make sure that we had the best holiday possible, including organising morning yoga sessions. While I have only mentioned two staff by name I would also like to acknowledge the staff at breakfast and dinner, the reception staff and cleaners who always greeted us with a friendly smile and went out of their way to make things perfect for us.

Breakfast buffet - fresh, great variety. Spectacular! Dinner - delicious. Definitely recommend the chicken curry and the pizzas. Would have liked to sample so much more!

10 nights was not long enough and we spent quite a bit of time on the last day planning a return visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend the family room with pool access, suitable for couples or a small family. Also has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveysPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DaveysPerth,

Many thanks for your comments and we agree the Avista Hideaway Resort And Spa should be kept a secret! As you know one of the great attractions of the Resort is being located on the mountain overlooking the bay just far enough away from the heart of Patong to remain tranquil.

We have passed on your feedback to all staff which constantly motivates us to continue to provide the best possible service we can. Both Ellen and Alvin are grateful for your kind comments.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

To be honest we wouldn't like to review this hotel and keep all travelers away from this beauty in
order to have the same peacefull and romantic holiday next time!

From other hand we would like to express our feelings regarding Avista Hideaway,as we are sure,that this is one of the best hotels in Phuket!
We wanted to stay close to Patong ,but a bit away from the crowd and the noice and we would say ,that we found the best place for it!
We had a beautifull stay 2 years ago in-Amari hotel,close to Avista hideaway,where we had a fantastic holiday as well,but far far from the moments we have experianced in Avista!

Everything was fantastic-from the service,attitude of the staff to the comfort of the rooms,facilities and the ralaxing athmosphere!

Just to metnion,that the hotel is located at the heel and there are many levels for each buildings,blocks etc,which in our opinion makes it nicer and unique!The hotel is convinient for couples,families and elderly people as well!There are el.cars ready to serve you at any time!

And the last we want to tank for the great help of Ellen,Manager of the hotel,Eduardo,guys from the Main pool and SPA for feeling as in the paradise!

Galina and Dimitar Y.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and depending of the preferences of the customers:firs floor with easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dim_yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear dim_yy

Many thanks for your comments and we are delighted that you found Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa to your liking. As I am sure you noticed, the layout of the property has been designed in such a way that even when we have a lot of guests you can still find a quiet, peaceful area to enjoy a romantic moment.

We are very lucky to have such a great location overlooking the bays which is both totally secluded but only 2 minutes from the main area of Patong. We do understand that as we are located on the top of the mountain there are a lot of different levels throughout the property. With this in mind we have included a number of elevators which makes matters easier and we do also have our golf carts on call 24/hrs so you can simply ride on these rather than walking around if preferred. We do also have rooms located near to the reception which are ideal for people that may find it hard to walk up and down stairs.

Once again we are glad we lived up to your expectations and we have passed you comments onto all the staff. We are always thankful when we receive comments and it motivates each of us in our work.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were blown away from the moment we stepped into the lobby. We arrived right on sunset and were taken aback by the 180 degree views. The resort is still empty and the service at the moment is personolised, I hope this can be maintained once they are fully established. Pools are fantastic and the resort and rooms are to die for. The resort is about 95% complete and we observed progress every day. All major construction seems to be complete its only minor touching up that is taking place. You don't even realise that work is going on. The only negative is that there is not enough options for transport into patong. They do provide a reliable shuttle service every couple of hours. Well done Avista!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Gerard G

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We certainly intend to maintain the level of service we currently provide to each and every guest.

We have also introduced a limousine service in addition to the Shuttle Service which ensures there is always transport available when required.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services, your words of appreciation have been shared with our team and we hope to see you again soon..

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing