We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at this brilliant new resort.

My wife & I had the most wonderful week thanks to the hospitality of this brand new resort. The staff are a little short of the efficiencies you would expect from a well drilled resort, but this makes the staff here more enjoyable. The staff really try to accommodate every need and then go beyond what is expected.

The location is private and beautiful yet only a short shuttle bus trip to Patong to get amongst the hustle and bustle of Phuket.

Must mention the best bed I've ever slept in.

Well done Avista - we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear MickeyS17

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We always try to ensure each and every guest receives the best possible service which we hope is friendly, efficient and from the heart.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in Patong which is on the mountain overlooking the bays and as you mentioned only 2 minutes from the heart of Patong.

We are glad you appreciated the quality of the beds. We believe that a good nights sleep is crucial, therefore the beds have been specially chosen for their comfort. We also offer a choice of mattresses and pillows as well as our sleep therapy program to ensure you have the best sleep possible.

Again thank you for your comments which have been shared with the staff and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    380
    154
    43
    42
See reviews for
296
1,057
51
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and an amazing hotel but when I went it was still being made.. But all thanks to Ellen which my sister thinks should get employee of the year award (even though this place was 6 days old when I went)! The new year's party was great too. I think when this resort is fully operational it will be the best hotel in phuket. Even the chief was very good but I can't remember his name. Even the manager's wife was pretty helpful...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zora000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear zora000,

Many thanks for you comments.

Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa, is a brand new Resort which opened in December 2012 and we are constantly improving each area every day. The resort is now 95% operational and has some minor work being done in back of house areas which should not effect the Guests enjoyment. Our main priority is to ensure each Guest enjoys their stay and is not disturbed in any way.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the New Years Eve party and it truly was and memorable evening to welcome in 2013. 2014 will be even better!

Your comments have been shared with the staff and Ellen is delighted you mentioned her. We will certainly make sure your vote is included in the "Employee Of The Month" vote :-). The managers wife is also grateful for the comments and was more than happy to assist.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I struggle between wanting to keep Avista Hideaway a special secret and wanting to share this amazing hotel with the review it deserves...

What a beautiful resort. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with the most stunning view, a friendly smile and a welcome drink, my friends, husband and I fell in love with Avista Hideaway. The family pool access room is a perfect location for either a small family or for a couple on honeymoon with a day bed on your door step and steps down into the pool with a sun lounger in the water. The views from the end of the pool are beautiful. You really feel like you are hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Patong which is still only 5min by shuttle.

The staff at the pool bar, 'Fluids' were just gorgeous, always friendly and helpful. We also thoroughly enjoyed happy hour at the rooftop bar, watching the sun set while sipping cosmopolitans.

There are a lot of steps throughout the resort so this could be an issue however, golf carts and enthusiastic staff were always on hand to drive us back to our room after a hard night of walking the markets in Patong!

Shuttle buses were easy to book with reception and fairly regular. They will probably need to run more frequently when the resort becomes more well known.

While the resort itself is something you must see it is the also the staff that really make Avista Hideaway. Ellen, the guest experience and quality officer is fantastic. She introduced herself at breakfast the morning after our arrival and from that moment on always made herself available, asking after our health and wellbeing and generally making sure there was nothing more we could possibly wish for. Alvin, the spa manager, is a genuinely beautiful man. Again, he always made an effort to have a chat with us and wanted to make sure that we had the best holiday possible, including organising morning yoga sessions. While I have only mentioned two staff by name I would also like to acknowledge the staff at breakfast and dinner, the reception staff and cleaners who always greeted us with a friendly smile and went out of their way to make things perfect for us.

Breakfast buffet - fresh, great variety. Spectacular! Dinner - delicious. Definitely recommend the chicken curry and the pizzas. Would have liked to sample so much more!

10 nights was not long enough and we spent quite a bit of time on the last day planning a return visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend the family room with pool access, suitable for couples or a small family. Also has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveysPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DaveysPerth,

Many thanks for your comments and we agree the Avista Hideaway Resort And Spa should be kept a secret! As you know one of the great attractions of the Resort is being located on the mountain overlooking the bay just far enough away from the heart of Patong to remain tranquil.

We have passed on your feedback to all staff which constantly motivates us to continue to provide the best possible service we can. Both Ellen and Alvin are grateful for your kind comments.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

To be honest we wouldn't like to review this hotel and keep all travelers away from this beauty in
order to have the same peacefull and romantic holiday next time!

From other hand we would like to express our feelings regarding Avista Hideaway,as we are sure,that this is one of the best hotels in Phuket!
We wanted to stay close to Patong ,but a bit away from the crowd and the noice and we would say ,that we found the best place for it!
We had a beautifull stay 2 years ago in-Amari hotel,close to Avista hideaway,where we had a fantastic holiday as well,but far far from the moments we have experianced in Avista!

Everything was fantastic-from the service,attitude of the staff to the comfort of the rooms,facilities and the ralaxing athmosphere!

Just to metnion,that the hotel is located at the heel and there are many levels for each buildings,blocks etc,which in our opinion makes it nicer and unique!The hotel is convinient for couples,families and elderly people as well!There are el.cars ready to serve you at any time!

And the last we want to tank for the great help of Ellen,Manager of the hotel,Eduardo,guys from the Main pool and SPA for feeling as in the paradise!

Galina and Dimitar Y.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and depending of the preferences of the customers:firs floor with easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dim_yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear dim_yy

Many thanks for your comments and we are delighted that you found Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa to your liking. As I am sure you noticed, the layout of the property has been designed in such a way that even when we have a lot of guests you can still find a quiet, peaceful area to enjoy a romantic moment.

We are very lucky to have such a great location overlooking the bays which is both totally secluded but only 2 minutes from the main area of Patong. We do understand that as we are located on the top of the mountain there are a lot of different levels throughout the property. With this in mind we have included a number of elevators which makes matters easier and we do also have our golf carts on call 24/hrs so you can simply ride on these rather than walking around if preferred. We do also have rooms located near to the reception which are ideal for people that may find it hard to walk up and down stairs.

Once again we are glad we lived up to your expectations and we have passed you comments onto all the staff. We are always thankful when we receive comments and it motivates each of us in our work.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were blown away from the moment we stepped into the lobby. We arrived right on sunset and were taken aback by the 180 degree views. The resort is still empty and the service at the moment is personolised, I hope this can be maintained once they are fully established. Pools are fantastic and the resort and rooms are to die for. The resort is about 95% complete and we observed progress every day. All major construction seems to be complete its only minor touching up that is taking place. You don't even realise that work is going on. The only negative is that there is not enough options for transport into patong. They do provide a reliable shuttle service every couple of hours. Well done Avista!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Gerard G

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We certainly intend to maintain the level of service we currently provide to each and every guest.

We have also introduced a limousine service in addition to the Shuttle Service which ensures there is always transport available when required.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services, your words of appreciation have been shared with our team and we hope to see you again soon..

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I have just come back to Melbourne after spending 12 nights at this beautiful 5 star plus resort I call Paradise "Heaven on Earth". On arrival we were greeted by a beautiful Thai girl in a long white evening dress with a cool drink and cold towel, just what we needed after arriving late around 12:00pm as our plane was delayed in KL. After checking in we were shown to our room which was absolutely beautiful overlooking the pool and as we were exhausted from the flight we snuggled into our king-size bed which was so comfortable. In the morning we woke up refreshed and headed downstairs to breakfast, oh what a beautiful array of scrumptious food there was, so much to choose from and the staff were all smiles and greeted us like we were royalty. On day 3 it was my partners 50th birthday and there was a knock on the door of our room, upon opening the door there were 3 staff members holding a 50th birthday cake, we were pleasantly surprised and overjoyed to think they went beyond the call of duty to do this for us. The next day at breakfast again a beautiful buffet of delights, whilst we were having our breakfast we were greeted by a beautiful Swedish girl named Ellen who I call "the hostess with the mostest" Ellen guided us to some beautiful spots in Phuket "thank you Ellen". My partner and I would like to thank the Management and staff at Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa for making our stay unforgettable, beginning with the birthday cake to the upgrade of the pool access room and bottle of champagne and romantic dinner for two, this will be the only hotel we will stay at when we are next in Phuket. A few words in Thai for the staff "ใหญ่ขอบคุณผู้บริหารและพนักงานสำหรับการทำให้เรารู้สึกเหมือนอยู่บ้านและขึ้นต้องใช้ความพยายามที่จะทำให้ผู้เข้าพักที่น่าจดจำ"

Room Tip: pool access room is a delight, out onto the balcony into the pool for a refreshing dip and swim up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Chrissie2102

Many thanks for your fantastic comments and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa.

We take pride in looking after all our guests and ensuring each stay is as memorable as possible and we truly believe that the small things always make a difference.

The 3 staff loved the photo and are glad your partner enjoyed the cake, Ellen is also grateful for the compliments.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services, your comments have been shared with our team and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Avista Hideaway resort for 5 nights, after staying at the chains kata hotel 3 times before so our expectations were high as for us we would not stay with anyone else in the area

We were greeted at the entrance and given a refreshing drink and cold towel, only having to give our names and passport while the very polite staff checked us in, very easy!
The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the balconies are large with beautiful views of the ocean and pool area, although a few touches made it obvious the rooms are not 100% complete these are only minor and certainly did not affect the overall feel of the room (the bathrooms are amazing)
The service throughout the hotel was excellent and the breakfast buffet choice was good for a Phuket hotel (never seem to serve good bacon or decent sausages in Thailand but everything else you'd expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel)
The pool areas are beautiful and very clean, the spa although again not complete was very nice and i would recommend spending the money on a treatment or 2 with them, we had massages every night in different places in kata and karon but these were not as good as the massage we had at avista
The hotel staff were very good although still training in some aspects they went the extra mile to accommodate the obvious fact that the hotel is still in its infancy, delivering cookies to your room at night, providing free water and mosquito spray. We even revived a free bottle of champagne!
Free wifi was handy and the free shuttle to Patong was helpful also.
The only negatives were that the air con in the room was ridiculously loud even on the lowest setting and the fact that to go out for food in kata or karon you had to drive through the chaotic patong nightlife every time as the one way system means you have no choice. There is another road you can follow that avoids patong but it's very rough and rocky with no light.
Overall the kata hotel suits us better as its location and size it's what we like, the hideaway resort is exactly that a large "resort" but a very beautiful hotel which we loved, don't stay at the kata hotel first and you will love it even more

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Chris G

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we lived up to your expectations at the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa and thank you for returning to us again.

We are constantly improving the Resort as the opening phase progresses and all comments are of great value to us. We have introduced more shuttle bus services directly to Patong which is only 2 minutes which also stops at the Beach.

Thank you again for complementing our Resort and services, your words of appreciation have been shared with our team and we hope to see you again soon..

Warm Regards,

Avista Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#6 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing