We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited this hotel before it had opened, and parts of it were still a building site. But the rooms and public areas that were complete looked fantastic, I was also told about some the facilities and services the hotel was going to provide, so I could clearly see the potential there.

Having stayed at the Avista groups 4* property in Kata, I have great expectations as to how good this property will be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MarcusLeach,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is a pleasure to note that you had a wonderful stay at Avista Hideaway the new luxury hotel from Avista Hotels and Resorts .

The hotel is now in the soft opening phase however all our facilities should be operational by the end of January. It will truly redefine luxury travel in Phuket and we have received rave reviews from our guests who have stayed with us so far.

We have introduced a number of new services and facilities since your visit which includes the full Butler Services and also our fantastic Ayurveda Spa.

The Avista Hideaway team looks forward to welcome you soon to try the full facilities this time.

Warm Regards,

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 05 - 10 January 2013. The rooms are nice and big and spacious. The service was excellent. Ellen was a great Guest Relations officer who would come chat to each of us every morning at breakfast. The hotel is situated close enough to Patong and still far enough that you can enjoy the peace and serenity of your surroundings. The private beach was not ready while we were there and this was the only drawback. As a result, we would take the hotel shuttle to Patong. The shuttle can only take 14 passengers so you had to book early if you wanted to take the 8pm shuttle. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MI_AL_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MI_AL_123

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Avista Hideaway and I have passed your comments onto the staff. Ellen was also very happy to look after you and appreciates your feedback.

We have now introduced more shuttle bus services to Patong Beach and also added a service to the take guests to the secluded Freedom beach which truly is a fantastic area.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Avista Hideaway Resort in Patong Beach, is truly a hideaway. Such a hideaway that nobody knows where this resort is located or if it's open. I was scheduled to stay at the Avista Resort in Karon Beach but was contacted from Avista Corporate that we would be "Upgraded" to a 5 star resort with better amenities and would be given breakfast, lunch and dinner for the inconvience and upgraded to a bigger "family room." The property in the near future will actually be lovely and probably a great place to vacation, but for myself and my family we did not get to relax or enjoy. The hotel is under staffed grossly and only has 1 official concierge; so my 1st day in Phuket I was relegated to spending the majority of the day trying to book my own activities and doing my own research with out the help of the hotel!! Also, come to find out the meals were included for everyone and there is only 1 restaurant that ONLY serves buffet, so I wasn't treated special, just made to feel that way so I would Ok the change of venue!! The Hotel is great that it's not close to the hustle and seedy scene of Patong, but tucked away. The downside which I wasn't informed off until I checked in, the hotel does not offer Free Shuttle into town, being that it's to far of a walk. Though the Hotel does say it offers shuttle 3x's a day but those times are constantly changing and every time you want to get into and out of town, it will cost you around $300 - $400 baht. Believe me it's not all that expensive but if you do it a few times per day. I believe this Avista used this "soft" opening at the expense of paying customers to test their staff and the property but the guests who traveled long distances and paid a lot of money were not given the amenities and service that warranted the price!! Phuket is a beautiful area and being that I live in the US, I don't get to Phuket often and from this point until I go back, that portion of our trip will always be tainted by my families experience at this property!! I truly feel bad for the staff at this property because they are truly nice and want to help but are so overwhelmed, under staffed and untrained that they receive the brunt of the guests unhappiness. The Corporate Office of Avista should be held accountable and the Avista Group should rebate guests that stayed at this resort during this time period! Though, the 1 shinning star of this property is a gentleman by the name of AB, this man did more than his job called for and did and was truly genuine in his actions. AB we thank you very much for all that you did!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank PhishyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear PhishyGuy,

Many thanks for your comments, we do appreciate all feedback and always ensure we follow up on any items. We are addressing the issues which you commented on and can assure you that our Luxury Hideaway will meet the highest standards in the future.

As you know we were in the soft opening phase of the Resort when you stayed with us and we are sorry that you felt like a test subject. We sent out letters to all Guests prior to arrival to explain the Resort was newly opened and as a gesture of good intention we provided a number of extra benefits to all guests during this period.

With regards to the staffing issues you mentioned we now have our full staffing in place as well as a dedicated tour desk and limousine service.

All pool bars are now fully operational as well as our rooftop dining room which offer a wide range of food and beverages.

As you rightly mentioned the Resort, although located in Patong, is conveniently located just far enough away from the busy area to let guests enjoy total privacy, we feel that this is one of our unique selling points as the main area is only 1.5 km from the Resort. We have now also addressed all issues with the complimentary shuttle service which runs directly into Patong at regular times and takes approx 3 minutes.

I have also passed you comments onto AB our Butler Manager and he is thankful for your recognition.

Again I do regret that you felt we did not meet your expectations this time and can only assure you that if you visit us again you will see a huge improvement and be able to enjoy all the facilities and services that we offer as one of Patong's 5 star resorts.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort from December 27 2012, and upon our arrival we found out that they had only opened the day before. The resort is only about 70% complete, and only one restaurant is open, the private beach is not complete, there is no tour desk, no spa and the wifi is spotty. (among other missing amenities)

There are many unfinished areas that contain work material and dangling wires

Although the staff is very friendly, and tried to be accommodating they were obviously overwhelmed.

This resort has potential but I would give it 6 months to a year to finish the work and get it running smoothly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Graham C,

Many thanks for your comments and we do appreciate all feedback.

As you rightly pointed out the Resort was in the very early stages of operation when you stayed with us and we certainly experienced some teething problems as all new Hotels do.

I can assure you that the Resort is now almost fully operational and will be 100% by the end of January. You may also like to know that we have addressed all of the issues you mentioned.

We have installed new WIFI routers in all guest areas which now ensures full coverage throughout the property with very good bandwidth, the tour desk is also now fully operational which also includes the limousine service.

The new Ayurveda Spa is also up and running which offers 10 private treatment rooms as well as 2 outdoor Sala treatment areas. Our rooftop restaurant is also now open which provides stunning views over the ocean and is a fantastic location for the Sunset Cocktails.

I do hope that you will visit us again soon and be able to experience the full luxury that the Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa has to offer.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had an absolutely wonderful time at this brand new resort located above Patong on the island of Phuket.
Staff were helpful, although obviously struggling through the difficult opening weeks of a newly opened resort. The staff always acted in a friendly and professional manner and did their utmost to take care of ALL the guests. Well done!
Beautifully set out over a large but somehow intimate design I think this will become a very popular venue in the short term and a establish itself as a standard bearer of excellence over the long term.
I wish them all the best and hope to return sometime soon!

Room Tip: Upper floors are very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boogiebilly612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear boogiebilly612

Many thanks for your comments and it was a pleasure to have you at the Resort, we hope we will see you next New Year otherwise things will not be the same!

The staff are delighted that you mentioned them and thank you for your comments. The opening stages of a new Resort is always a challenge but it makes it truly satisfying when we have great guests to look after.

We have introduced a number of new facilities since your stay which includes our Luxurious Ayurveda Spa and have also improved many of the existing services.

We have had some very good feedback from Guest who, like yourself, enjoy the fact the property manages to provide very private spaces due to the unique layout and design while still offering all the facilities expected of a luxury Resort.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We would like to thank AB, AK, Ellen and Ratnette for taking the time and effort to treat us like royalty. We were treated to a special evening with personalized service and a full, special meal unlike others. The resort is beautiful with a view unlike any others. The rooms were spacious and luxurious. Again, we would like to thank the staff and resort for making us feel special. We would come back to Thailand again just to stay at this exquisite resort. JP, Toronto, Ontario.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean-Pierre U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Jean-Pierre U,

Many thanks for your kind comments and it was also an honour for us to have such nice comments from you.

As the Avista Hideaway's first guests there will always be a special bond and memory for all of us and we hope that you will see our Resort grow over time into one of Phukets finest establishments.

We have spent a lot of time ensuring the Resort caters for the Hi End traveler and making sure we have all the correct facilities in place.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hopefully celebrating the anniversary of your first visit!

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I shouldn't be writing this review as this resort should be kept a big secret!! This hotel with all it's staff are amazing! Staff is very well trained,professional and very friendly. Sunsets are beautiful. Hotel is just on the other side of Patong out of the hustle and bustle. It's really a hideaway!! I travel all over the world and stay in 5 star hotels also been to Phuket a few times!! . The Avista Hideaway offers so much more then any other resort in Phuket 3 pools, games room, mini golf, library, bars,restaurants and so much more!!! The attention to detail has been one of the best I have seen!! A full butler service for Suites and soon to follow for Club rooms!! Even in taking the Four Seasons group into consideration I would highly recommend The Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa as they offer so much more. BEST RESORT IN PHUKET!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DeanHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avista_Hideaway, General Manager at Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear dvdwest4

Many thanks for your kind comments, we are pleased that we met your expectations.

We are very proud to have one of the best locations in Patong which offers a real Hideaway location but only 5 minutes from the heart of Patong. We have spent a lot of time getting the property right in terms of Hotel Facilities and the level of service expected by the quality of travelers we receive.

You will be pleased to know that the Butler Service is now also available for the Club rooms.

Once again thanks you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Avista Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
19 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 39/9 Muen Ngoen Road | Tri-trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#5 Spa Hotel in Patong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $144 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa, PhuketParadise in Phuket with Fresh Perspectives on the Perfect Tropical EscapeAs a discerning traveller, you understand that there are two sides to every story. Our view is, why limit yourself to a single point of view? Avista Hideaway Resort and Spa offers two equally mesmerising panoramas from its perch upon a steep green peak in southern Phuket.Ensconced in your lavish, luxuriously appointed guest room, Jacuzzi Duplex or the very private pool suite, we assure you of complete privacy. One of the vistas brings you back to nature as you gaze over a sea of trees to the calm of Tri Trang Beach; a contemplative outlook, pristine, green, serene. A contrasting view, due north is an expansive Andaman seascape, azure by day, glittering party strip by night, awash with the possibilities of paradise.This is luxury from a new angle. Naturally, you will find the expected amenities and cosseted comforts one expects from the ultra luxe tropical escapes: a private beach club, indulgent spa and dining adventures, 24-hour butler and seamless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery By Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing