We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food Outstanding Service”
Review of Tantra

Tantra
Ranked #14 of 554 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are located at beachfront and the only Indian restaurant with Indian cultural seatings on the floor. Best foods in town and we do serve original Indian vegetarian. Our Indian Chef is also very good in preparing Indian-Chinese foods. You will love our foods. We do serve both Lunch and Dinner Time starting from 11.00 Am to mid night. We do the most catering for local, group and wedding party. Please contact us if you are interested in our services.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food Outstanding Service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently visited Tantra Indian Restaurant as a large family group. The dishes were superb and all meals served in a timely manner. We have visited many Indian restaurants in different parts of the world and Tantra is certainly up there with some of our favourites. A big thank you to Dhiru who went out of his way to source a copy of a music cd that was playing in the restaurant and personally delivered it to my hotel a few days later! That's what I call service!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    107
    23
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Cuisine, A+ Customer Service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor reviews, we visited this restaurant conveniently located in the heart of patong near the beachfront.
Meals were absolutely delicious and the customer service was outstanding.
Will most likely visit again before departing patong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“HAPPY AFTER EATING!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good quality indian restaurant. I love indian food, and i loved this place. Worth a visit if you are in patong.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank JayNorth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great food for lovers of indian”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Little to say....great food...great service...good atmosphere. ...well worth a visit. I love indian food and eat it all the time. Price is on the high side but not exorbitant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank Raich-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A hidden gem right in the middle of Beach Road, we stumbled across this by accident and really fancied something different to Thai food, and this certainly did the job!

The food is absolutely stunning, featuring traditional Indian and Bangladeshi dishes such as Kadai, Madras, Masala and Rogan Josh - all cooked to your requirements.

If you like spicy food I strongly recommend the Goan Prawns (which are making my mouth water at the thought of them!) - the juiciest and tastiest prawn curry I have ever had.

The starters are varied and just as delicious - can highly recommend the Paneer and Tandoori Mushrooms. Prices are good given the location and the ambience is great too. We ate here last year and were welcomed back this year with open arms; the owner from Calcutta is very hospitable.

If you love Indian food then this restaurant is a must!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank SouthEnglandGazania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing