We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #229 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Before I go on complaining on a number of things, I have to be honest and say that the location is ideal very close to beach, and any form of entertainment.

That being said, the hotel may have been modern and fantastic say 8 to 10 years ago, but honestly it is outdated, and does not have all the facilities one would expect a hotel to have e.g a fitness center. The biggest one for me is parking, NO Guest/Resident parking, really?

I get to the hotel and firstly its not a sea facing room as hoped, the room number on the letter was clearly scratched out and replaced so maybe I was assigned one but they gave it to another complaining guest, who knows, I was just too tired to fight it.

A very silly but notable complaint is the TV, I know its a fantastic city so one should not care about a TV, but I am a TV buff and given the time we are in, they still use Big CRT TV's. The reception in my room on the 4th floor is hazy and horrible, much like they have an antennae for TV signal.

The shower is filthy, mildew on the railings and corners, the doors didn't even close fully causing the floor to get wet. They mount toilet roll holders behind the toilet! POINTLESS!

Aircon isn't powerful enough, horrible view and smell from the balcony for rooms near the elevator. WiFi does not work well, constantly not working, very very frustrating.

Front desk staff pretend like they do not understand English or you when you ask them for anything, but when they want to complain to you they speak it perfectly fine.

They do not clearly advertise what the hotel offers and what it does not. The one very frustrating thing is the key's. They ask you to leave the room key at the front desk every time you leave the hotel, I am sorry but I do not believe in this principle, it clearly gives them an indication when I am not In the room which in return giving them the freedom to do what they please with your valuables (not that I have noticed they did).

I hired a car and had no where to park it, they refused to assign a spot outside the hotel for me, and said its for their shuttles only. After getting into a fight with local taxi mafia outside the hotel, they refused to even come help me not even the security guard (Apparently they are too scared), yet they told me to park across the road but after my incident they told me that the mafia controls that area and I should park much further up which I was scammed into paying for.

After local mafia threatened to break the car, I asked them if I could park the car over night at the front which one staff member agreed too, but when staff swapped it become a big thing and insisted I move the car 7am every morning, I offered to leave my keys with them to move it for me but they said they basically don't have the time for that.

Inhouse travel agent is 2 times more expensive compare to the street agents. Rooms are not sound proofed as you can hear lots of talking and noise coming from outside.

They do not have a generator as I have experienced on my first night with no power for easily 4hours.

My balcony was broken and has cheap plastic chairs outside, there is no mosquito replants.

There are more complaints but I cannot recall all of it, in a nutshell, I do not recommend this hotel to anyone either than someone who just wants to be nicely located to the beach.

I certainly will not come back here, and nor will I advise anybody I know to use this hotel.

Room Tip: Request sea facing room prior to booking confirmation and if not a sea facing room, choose one close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shivaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    64
    44
    27
    42
See reviews for
42
101
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Resort located on Patong beach. Step across the road and onto the beach. Good service and had breakfast and dinner included in the package. Good choice of dinner menu i.e. Indian and Thai. Rooms are spacious. Select a sea view room if possible. The Spa offers experienced personnel. The only negative comment could be that the Resort is also the Main hub for Absolute marketing representatives interviewing potential clients for membership on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Try to select a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recently I stayed at Sea Pearl (having transferred there from Twin Sands Resort which was much more modern, far more luxurious, but too far out of town). The service in arranging and coping with my transfer request was fantastic - thanks Annie. I was there as a member of ABSOLUTE.
The Sea Pearl is a bit old and tired but my room was spacious, in the style of a minio suite with a good sized bed area, separate lounge room and a good sized bath with separate shower recess and a kitchenette. Entirely adequate even if not spanking new and not flash.
I found the lack of a safe in the room to be a minor irritation; safeboxes are accessible via reception and the staff were always happy and very helpful, buy it is a nuisance nevertheless.
Unfortunately the hot water in the bathroom was a problem and I was forced to move rooms, which was also handled well enough by the staff. The new room contained the biggest bed I have ever seen - easily big enough for four people!
The restaurant was okay - had a brekkie there (alright, nothing to rave about; cost reasonable) and an Indian dinner (ditto).
Pool is small but was clean and I seemed to be only person who used it over the course of six days.
The hotel is well located across the road from a good beach area and in easy walking distance of all the markets, shops and attractions of Bangla Road etc which are a feature of Patong.
Best things about the place are undoubtedly the location and the friendly staff. One word of warning - if you like peace and quiet do not stay on the side road overlooking the bars on the corner as they stay open until 2.00am and the noise from them and passing tuk tuks will definitely drive you to distraction!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the bars located on the corner and side road for quieter nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteSeapearl, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments, it's a shame you felt the need to move from our latest resort Twin Sands as that is very modern by comparison. It's true that Sea Pearl's location is its main feature right on the beach ( hence the lack of swimming poll clients) is a major drawer, but I'm glad that any changes you were required to make during your trip were handled smoothly and efficiently and at the end of your stay you felt you had had a well earned break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulim, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is my first travel experience to Phuket. I booked the hotel Absolute Sea Pearl by chance thru online (agoda.com) as this vacation is for my honeymoon vacation. The hotel provides best user experience and comfort. Foods are nice same as the room. A perfect blend of soulful, romantic & enjoyable experience indeed! On my next vacation to Phuket i will book the same hotel again! Highly recommended for couples who likes a good stay with sea view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteSeapearl, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic review so glad your honeymoon vacation holiday as all you hoped for. We of course look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Phuket, so until then...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week, room was a little dated but very clean. Staff were very friendly, helpful and well spoken. Location is fantastic, Patong beach is right outside the front door. There are some great little bars next door and Bangla road is a short 10 min walk away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteSeapearl, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for very much for your review, it's true that despite its age the resort's location is still one of the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Absolute Sea Pearl. We have time share with another club and exchanged our 'free week' for a week at Patong. Although an older style resort, we much prefer this the the new style resort that Absolute are building in more remote locations near Patong.
The many years old, the Sea Pearl is in pretty good condition and could, in some way, be kept as a monument to the many lives lost here in the Boxing Day tsunami of 2004.
The Sea Pearl is in an excellent location, right on the beach front and in walking distance to all of Patong's attractions yet quite enough to relax as required.
Our unit was a 1 bedroom with mini kitchen. There was room service each day. Unit was more spacious than we expected. Although there was an older style TV, there was an excellent selection of international channels available. Unit had free Wi Fi. The bathroom was large with bath and separate shower.
Only problem we found was the power points in the kitchen would not fit the electric jug and toaster provided. We mentioned to the staff and a technician soon made up an adapter. One wonders what previous occupants of this unit did for a cup of tea.
Another observation is that the Absolute Company use this complex as offices and client sales pitch area. This takes up most of the ground floor and lower floor. However it is only a problem if one wants it to be.
The pool in fine, but in a very public area, between the restaurant and main roads. The excellent beach at Patong is merely across the road.
Staff are most friendly, courteous and super efficient.
Overall we had a very pleasant week at the Sea Pearl and given the opportunity, could easily spend more time there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bars and roadway on the northern side could get noisy at nighttime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5555lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteSeapearl, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It's true that this resort is not as new as our latest developments but it does have a wonderful location right on the beach which more than makes up for it. We are very glad very enjoyed your week with us so we hope that you chose to spend some time with us either here or one of our latest resorts which would welcome you with open arms next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have never stayed in a resort before and had never been to Phuket before this trip but this Accommodation was definitely a let down for both first time experiences. This was more like a cheap and nasty inner city motel and obviously used as a hard core sales centre for the Vultures they call Timeshare Sales Reps. The environment around the resort was not enjoyable and neither was the Rotavirus me and my entire family contracted while staying for 7 nights. The beds were horribly uncomfortable as if they had put a layer of foam over a piece of plywood! After 3 nights of noisy partying outside our room (across the Street) we asked to be moved rooms and thankfully were moved to the other side of the resort to finally get some sleep. Although the beds in the new rooms were just as bad as the first. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast were always lovely, friendly and helpful with the children. Pity that this comment is the only positive I can provide from our say with Absolute. Will definitely check reviews before we book our next trip to Thailand and book accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ColzGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteSeapearl, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. It is one of our oldest properties and we are addressing the issues of upgrading all the standards that we expect for our holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Orchid Inn
Grand Orchid Inn
#148 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simple Boutique SeaBreeze
Simple Boutique SeaBreeze
#253 of 319 in Patong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avantika Boutique Hotel
Avantika Boutique Hotel
#141 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patong Rose Guest House
Patong Rose Guest House
#159 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#36 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 42/1 Taveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only steps from the white sandy beach of Patong and the sparking water of Andaman Sea - within a short walking distance to shopping paradise and entertainment centre. Stay in one of our spacious accommodations with an extensive range of in-room amenities. Enjoy our beachfront restaurant and open air terrace- serving seafood, steak and salad. Give yourself a treat at The Royal Spa with many heavenly wellness packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Hotel Patong
Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing