We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$92
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$168
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$51
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$95
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveler rating
645
749
303
95
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
749
303
95
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadsunset bara superior pool view roombeach endthe hard rock cafeotop marketspools are greatreception staffadjoining roomsbuffet breakfastpool accessbangla roadegg stationgreat holidayground floorhappy hourpool side
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2016 via mobile

Nice to see the lobby has had a revamp since my last visit. Check in was nice and smooth and room was ready after my long flight over and early arrival. The hotel is in a great location easy to get around Patong far enough away from the night life (Bangla Road) but easy enough to walk to. Its easy access to the beach and has lovely swimming pools. My room was extremely comfortable not that I spent much time in it, and fairly modern. Only food I had at the hotel was breakfast very enjoyable nice selection and mix for all nationalities. Would. E more than happy to stay again.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank Ihove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments about our guestrooms, hotel facilities, location and service. Your further comment regarding the breakfast is very well received.

We do hope that you will have the chance to travel and stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the Patong Merlin, and was still the best stay ever. My husband and I stayed for 34 nights. I think we must be some of the longest stayers. We had requested by e-mail the same room as on the previous visits, and this was waiting for us on arrival. Top floor block 5 room 4 overlooking the main pool. It had been upgraded since our visit last year and the décor was lovely. New large shower in bathroom was great. We took breakfast at hotel everyday which was very good. Such a lot of variety, especially the egg station. The pool areas are great, there are 4 pools around the grounds, and never had any problem getting a sunbed. The gardeners were very friendly and we chatted to them alot, as they kept the grounds immaculate. All in all another wonderful stay at the Merlin and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: high floors, block 4 or block 5
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the hotel.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay same as the previous visit.
We all here at Patong Merlin are waiting for your next return to Phuket next year.

Regards,

Prayoon Tosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Was very impressed with the hotel, especially the pool area. Service was great, even received a room upgrade upon checkin. Would definitely consider a return visit. Only downside is located a little far from main entertainment area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
6  Thank Laurinda_Ogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

PrayoonTosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

Check in: Friendly yet very rushed, within 5 mins we were asked to move seats three times, asked for 3 documents, given a welcome drink and 4 different cards and lots of information and asked by the concierge if the bags we bought in ourselves were ours and that he was ready to take us to our rooms suffice to say we carried our welcome drinks to the room with hand luggage and all the info in hand, I felt hassled.

Rooms: Nicely presented however the air con on the lowest setting 15* was useless and two tops that were left out on a chair for the next day were soaking wet the next morning. There was some signs of a leak on the bedroom wall side of the bathroom where the paintwork was peeling away, looked unsightly.

Breakfast: The staff seemed disinterested yet busy not doing much, the food was ok however I found it lacked some hot food choices. The egg stand was the highlight.

Grounds: Idyllic, it's like a little exotic getaway. RANT WARNING: Although there are signs to say you cant reserve sun beds on our first day there were over 15 loungers with towels on as we headed to breakfast at 8.30, as we sat by the pool we clocked these and from 8.30-2pm some of them still had towels on with nobody actually using them, this is where the staff should just take them away, it's not fair!!! Witnessing these people kick other guests off their loungers as the day goes by is cringeworthy, the hotel needs to stop this immediately!!!

All in all its a nice hotel with a great location and grounds however there could become tweaks that could make it so much better.

This is a good 3* hotel not a 4*

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share such a constructive and detailed feedback.

It is great to know that, overall you have enjoyed your stay.

All of your feedback are well received for our further consideration and action.
I will be sure to share your review in details with my colleagues and team members to help us in delivering a great and comfortable experience to all of our guests.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Regards,

PrayoonTosarapee
Resident Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2016

Reception: My first impression was that the reception staff was very busy and I was more like a burden for them rather than being welcome. We were sitting there for ages with a grumpy looking woman not even talking to us.
Noise: We were given a room in front of the hotel, closer to Hard Rock Cafe. We checked in at 11 PM. The noise from the band playing at the cafe around the corner was really loud but we though maybe by 12:00 they would stop. We rang reception 3 times and each time they told us the band would stop at a different time. On the 3rd time we said we were going to give them bad reviews because they didn't care about the client. Finally at 1:30AM someone rang us back telling us we were getting a new room. The second room we got was not as good as the first one, but it was quiet, which is what we were looking for.
Tip: If you wast a quiet room ask for the beach side rooms.
Gym: It is falling apart with 30 year old gym equipment. Careful with treadmill and exercise bikes.You'd be safer just going for a run and doing weights there.
Breakfast: Very good, lots of options to start the day and keep you going :)
Pool: Looked nice and clean. There was always someone looking after it. Very inviting.
Outdoor restaurant on the beach side: Again: It is falling apart. The furniture is old and faded, I honestly don;t think the restaurant is open cause I have not seen anyone over there, which is really a shame as the restaurant is on the beach side. Would have been great to sit outside having a few drinks overlooking the beautiful landscape of Patong Beach.
Overall our stay was ok but my partner, who had already stayed there a number of year before said the hotel has deteriorated a lot.
Overall our stay was pleasant but if I go back I will try another hotel.

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank GioSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN P, Resident Manager at Patong Merlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am sorry to read that your experience with us was disappointing while
we are always keen to provide the best service possible to our guests.

All of your feedback are well received and I will be discussing these points further with our team members.

I appreciate your feedback and hope for the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Regards,

PrayoonTosarapee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews