We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, ok, but would probably look elsewhere next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second stay, ok, but would probably look elsewhere next time”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just returned from 15 nights at the Patong Merlin with family, this was our second stay at this hotel, and fourth at a Merlin. It was perfectly adequate, nice room (in new block) clean room and perfectly located, and we did have free wi-fi in our room this time, but we did find a few things less than great this time around.

The hotel is undergoing renovations, but this didn't really affect anything and it needs upgrading as the hotel is starting to look a bit run down, hallways are dirty and worn and when it rains they have dirty towels all over the floor at the entry areas.

Staff generally have very little english and for a hotel that is jammed packed with Aussies all year around, I think this is a bit poor, and gets a bit frustrating after a while when room service orders are wrong and staff don't understand what you are wanting/asking for. People on the streets have better english.

There were a few things in the area of service that I think should be expected from a quality Thai hotel. The cleaning staff were erratic, sometimes did a good job I(on the day we gave them a few coins), other times not, and often knocked on the door to clean the room even though the do not disturb sign was on the door and nearly every day we were hassled about the whereabouts of pool towels and reminded if we don't return them we will have to pay for them?? They were in our kids room.

Room also was quite noisy, could hear everything happening in the hallway outside the room.

Breakfast got a bit monotonous, and ended up just having cereal and toast most mornings and nearly always ask for a cup of tea.

The one thing that really peeved me off was on check out, we had our transport waiting and they would not allow us to check out until someone went and checked the mini-bar in case we had taken something and didn't tell them! Even though we told them what we had used. This took quite a while and I have never experienced this at any other hotel, I found it quite off-putting end to our stay.

Overall a good stay, but don't think we will go back for a third time we would probably look to stay at the HOliday Inn next time around.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new block. block 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THE4Griswalds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    679
    272
    84
    61
See reviews for
462
669
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just retuned from our stay of 14 days at the Patong Merlin Hotel.
The rooms were comfortable with everything in good working order. I really commend the cleaning staff who kept our rooms spotless and were very friendly.

We did wish to take up the offer of a room upgrade which the reception manager advised us could not be accommodated due to there being 3 of us which was disappointing.

The pools were great and the renovations did not affect us in any way. The lobby wifi was fine and we did not experience any slowness in connections at any time.

The breakfast buffet was also good. They had fresh egg and omelette stations which were very popular.

Overall a good value hotel.

Room Tip: If budget allows select a deluxe or pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The resort covers a full block on the south side of Patong. We stayed in a deluxe room, overlooking one of the four swimming pools. Room was of average size, but comfortable. Nice bathroom with separate shower and bath. Matrass of the bed was very good, not hard, but firm.
All expected amenities were provided and the room was clean. Large (32") LCD TV, wall mounted, with AV cables, so you can use your own devices, very thoughtful.
The four swimming pools were absolutely gorgeous, well maintained and clean. More then enough beds and parasols. Good service at poolside. Breakfast buffet offered everything you may expect. We used the dinner buffet at the beachside restaurant once, which was absolute value for money at THB 550 per person.
The location of the hotel guarantees rest, but within walking distance of nightlife if one so desires.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend time in your room (which I would not recommend) then avoid the rooms that have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a very enjoyable 8 night visit staying in one of the original rooms that have not yet been upgraded. Still good size, comfortable and clean room. Very good pools for the family groups, good breakfast and friendly staff. Really good location straight across from the beach. We travelled as a couple and there a probably nicer hotels in Patong but we'd be more than happy to stay with children.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 glorious weeks here. Our room was clean and tidy. Beds comfy. I had a basic room but thats all we needed. Was only in the room to shower and nap. My friends upgraded to poolside and their room was awesome. Hung out down there. Steps right outside there door into the pool. Swim across to the pool bar an sip on Pina coladas an get a bite to eat while sitting in the pool. My happy place haha. Breakfast was included in our room rate and found that 6am-7am was the best time. No lines waitin for your eggs to cook. Used breakfast as our main meal for the day. Loved swimming in the clean pools. We tried nearly everything this motel had to offer and can not fault any of their services or ammenities. We walked alot and wen we got too tired we caught a tuktuk back to our motel. There are tuktuks outside the motel. We found one driver and ended up using him for our last week. He really looked after us. Took us places...waited for us...and we paid him reasonably. $15nzd for 5 hours is very good. You can get cheaper but after finding out their wages, $15nzd was really nothing for the time and service we recieved.
Loved stayn at Patong Merlin Hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MLE1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our second stay at this hotel in 2 yrs with our 3 boys (16,14,11) and sadly not as enjoyable.
Pro's
Price - affordable especially when travelling with kids and requiring 2 rooms.
Location - beach out the front, markets out the back, supermarkets and restaurants, Close enough to everything.
Room Size - superior pool view rooms are good size that can accommodate an extra bed for a third child if needed. Good balconies.
Pool and Pool service - around the pools and @ breakfast is now much improved. The pools are good, cool, clean and both shallow and deep water. Drinks and food around the pools is simple but fairly priced.
Grounds - plenty of sun lounges and shade from the palms etc. gardens all well kept. Doesn't just look like a concrete jungle.

Cons
Noise - the corridor to block 4 is the (undercover) thoroughfare to the temporary reception and also the breakfast room. Avoid staying on level 1 as the noise all day and night from the corridor is terrible. Whilst we were there in July the reception was beng renovated and the noise went well into the night including hammering and power tools, angle grinders etc. simply unacceptable. I think hey are well behind schedule. Finally the drunken yobo's that come back into the hotel late or start with drinks at the hotel bar near reception, swearing and screaming abuse at each other right under your balcony and within metres of the reception. The hotel staff simply do nothing about it.
Reception - despite requesting on our reservation rooms on a higher level and adjoining and also following this up 3 times via email before our arrival, when we arrived we were put into non adjoining rooms on level 1. Simply told that the hotel was fully booked and families with younger children had been given preference. We were moved (to level 3) 3 days later. No way the hotel was full, many rooms simply being renovated or it appeared shut down during the quieter months.
Breakfast - the breakfast hall is nothing elegant. The tables outside don't cater for more than 4 people. No control over who sits where. Only a handful of tables that can seat more than 4 people and the staff let couples sit on them, thus a couple of mornings we had to stand and wait for a table. Apparently moving 2 tables together isn't allowed? Little variation in the food each day, not even grilled tomatoes!
Rooms - water pressure in 1 room on level 3 was weak but fine in the adjoining (kids) room. The step up into the bath (no seperate shower) is a good foot and a half which would be an issue for some people I'd think. Believe that the rooms in the new block 7 have a seperate walk in shower but they do not allow an extra bed in these rooms. Had no prob's with our air conditioning (request 2 room keys so hat you can leave it running), but our neighbours said that their air cond wouldn't cool below 25 degrees.
So in summary, we love holidaying in Phuket and the Phuket Merlin's location is a big plus but the hotel is showing its age and the management need to better look after their paying guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to pools. The corridors for the rooms on level 1 especially block 4 are a thorou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Family58A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Traveling from Dubai this hotel we had quite high expectations of this hotel. Our first 4 nights at this manky hotel we had no hot water and the shower room was filled with grot/ mould hotel could of used a tad bit of bleach. The lighting in our room nor did the TV work for a number of days so we had to use the light from our phone.

On two occasions I had put the "do not disturb" sign outside our door but the cleaners barged through without knocking.

We had seen a number of cockroaches around the hotel which was very distressing as we ate food from the hotel.

I understand the hotel is going through refurbishment at the moment but from 8:00am till 10:30pm there is considerable amount of banging. We can here the lodgers in the upstairs room the cleaners in the hallways (splitting on the floor)this hotel is a very noise hotel no peace and quite.

On our 5th night at the hotel I had asked for a late check out as checkout time is at 12:00pm and our transfers would be picking us up 9:00pm. I asked a member of staff if I could pay for a late checkout until 4:00pm I was told it was no problem. I went back the next day to pay but I was told by a member of staff there was no room for a late checkout and they had given my room to someone else.

The staff members at Patong Merlin Hotel were upmost right rude from the get go which made the whole stay worse.


I have taken video recordings and photos which I will be sending to Virgin Holidays when I get back to the UK as they advised me this was a 4.5 star hotel.

THIS NOT A 4.5 STAR HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atufail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 328 in Patong
1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 328 in Patong
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#8 of 328 in Patong
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Property: Patong Merlin Hotel
Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#19 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#22 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing