We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #34 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the resort to be in a great location in Patong, not far from all the action. The pools are great, we spent most of the time in the one with the pool bar as the other pools either had lots of children or the older crowd.

We had a pool view room which was nice.

The gym isn't very good a few of the machines don't work and there isnt much in there.

Breakfast was ok although I did expect more variety considering the hotel is so large.

If we went back we would probably look at staying in a pool access room, they looked really nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ozgirlmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    659
    259
    82
    58
See reviews for
450
634
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am staying here now as I write this review.
Pools? Wow!! Choose one of the three amazing pools. Gardens and surrounds and immaculate. Pools are crystal clear.
Food and beverage? Buffet breakfast is excellent. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast was included in the stay. Have eaten in most of the restaurants and they are very inexpensive. I read a review that they were very over priced. what a load of rubbish!!! Compared to priced in Australia and other over seas resorts they are CHEAP!!!
Rooms? Fantastic!! Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are spotless. Free wifi all over the resort.
Transport? Just sort your self out and there is free shuttle service to Photon. or get a taxi get a taxi for 250 B that about 9.00 aus.
Tours over here are amazingly cheap too. We have booked two full day tours with lunch and two dinner shows for 253.00 aus.
So in a nutshell. I would definitely come back to this resort. Excellant is all aspects . Five stars from us!!

Room Tip: A tip? Just come and experience it for yourselves!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Currently staying in this hotel in pool access room, have been here for 1 month, the rooms are great, staff are friendly who clean rooms and poolside members, but beware DON'T ask reception, lobby staff , or ? taxi guys at front of hotel for anything as you wont get it. We played pool last night in hotel with no air conditioning so asked for fan, reasonable request I thought but this became a mission in itself, passed from one person to the other but still no fan. Went back to reception who promised a fan yet again so we paid for another game of pool, then told they cant move fans out of lobby as too many people using them!!!!! Come on there was 4 of us all buying drinks and paying for our game do we not deserve a fan like everyone else its a simple request. My daughter asked the taxi guys at front of hotel for taxi to the airport but told to go down the road to get one as they don't do that!!!!! This is just a short series of several events but can ruin a holiday, in my opinion stay home. I have been to Thailand 5 times over last few years and will not be returning, as I have seen prices increase tenfold and the people getting greedy.

Room Tip: If you get a pool access room get one away from the swim up bar, its noisy all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

INTRO:This being our first time to Patong, it was very difficult deciding where to stay. We wanted something where we could relax, with some quite time and also be close enough to the action.
The Patong Merlin was perfect for both.

RECEPTION: 3/5 We arrived at 11.30am after 21 odd hours of travel and airport waiting from home near Melbourne, in Australia. First impression of the resort was nice, with a porter getting our bags from the private car transfer, 5/5. Reception welcome was only okay as no smiles from any of the reception staff 3/5, and no real welcome, but the cool wet towels and welcome drink did improve our first impression of reception. After the normal resort sign in we were off to our room with the porter showing us to our room.

ROOM: 4.5/5 We stayed in a swim out ground floor room (7109) in the newer section of the resort. Good mix of sun and shade on the pool side balcony.The room had aircon which work well to keep the inside temp to around 24 degrees, perfect for us as outside was around 36 degrees, didn't require it cooler. Efficient hair dryer, you pick combination safe, a very comfortable king size bed, multi channel TV, bath never used it, shower had great water flow and temperature, and all the other normal things including two bottles of free drinking water every day, pool towels are in all ground floor rooms, other rooms are required to get their own towels from the pool house each day, would be a pain for other rooms. Curtains were thick and blocked out the light perfectly. Free Wi-Fi worked well in our room. Room was clean and décor was modern with tiled floors. Cleaning staff get a extra mention here, she was fantastic 5/5.

POOL: 5/5 We only used our pool as there are a total of four pools. Our pool had the only swim up bar which is great to meet other guests. Plenty of lounges, and room to be either by yourself or with others. Cocktails, food and staff were great, no complaints here. This pool had mainly couples, as the other pools had lots of kids, which suited us.

GYM: Never used it, but looked to do the job,

FOOD: 4/5 Breakfast (4.5/5) (air-conditioned) had enough for anyone's palette from yogurt, cereal, fruit, eggs four different ways including omelettes, bacon, sausages, toast, noodles, cold meats, good coffee, tea, juices, etc. Great staff here too, with a smile.
We also had one dinner here at the beach road end (4/5) of the resort which was a buffet type, food was okay, staff were great. Overall, too many food places in Patong, so eating at the resort more than once would be a waste.
A little mention to 'The Blue Mango' 300 THB to get there and 'La Versace' 200 THB to get there both great places to eat. 5/5

OVERALL: 4.5/5 On final say, weather was hot 30+ most of the time day and night, no mosquitos, quite at night, 5-10 minute walk to Bangla Road, beach 3 minutes, shops 1 minute. Great location, clean lovely place to stay.

I would stay again.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Patong Merlin 4 times and each time I thoroughly enjoy my stay. I always stay in the "deluxe pool view rooms" which I find are a lot more modern and up to date than the other rooms that I have stayed in for a short period. The house keepers make my day being so friendly and cheerful, makes me put a smile on my face! Love the swim up pool bar, how accessible everything is and I find the staff are very friendly to me. Feels like my home away from home now, greeted with a specialized note and bowl of delicious seasonal fruit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our second time staying here although it had been 8yrs the resort was only better. Staff are very friendly & helpful. our room was lovely overlooking the 2nd pool on the 2nd floor. our room was a standard room but lovely & quite large, didn't have a bath but didn't need one. Breakfast was amazing everything you could think of they had. you can have breakfast in air conditioned comfort or choose to sit outside. pools are amazing & with 4 to choose from they are never crowded. hotel is very central so walking distance to everything. beach across the road. We had 2 weeks in phuket this being our 3rd resort & by far the best. would not hesitate to stay here again.everything very clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We arrived early received a cool towel much needed after flying all night a welcome drink

The staff were very good throughout the stay and we quick to attend when we need help opening the safe and when we needed an iron and iron board

Check in did take some time and not sure why they needed to know every detail of when we were arriving to when we were departing they also needed to sight our outbound tickets not sure if this is normal

Since we arrived early about 8.00am the room wasn't ready even after advising the hotel we would be checking in early by email the previous day

We went for a walk along Beach Road and found the Jungceylon Shopping Centre and spent a few hours there

We later got the keys to the room after 2.00pm The room was large clean and had all facilities needed We are in Phuket for 2 nights to attend a wedding so the room was only needed for sleeping

Room 6217 is facing the room so at night it can be noisy since you are right next to Hard Rock Cafe and there is singing late into the night

At the other end of the complex you have the Sunset Bar - Happy Hours buy 2 drinks for the price one was a great deal We met friends at the bar and enjoyed a drink or two in the Happy Hours

Breakfast is very well presented and have the usually fare needed for breakfast really can not fault the breakfast service except it is very HOT in there I don't think they have the air conditioning on so you don't stay too long

We enjoyed our stay and for the price paid were very impressed and would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wargab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#27 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#12 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.3 mi away
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Property: Patong Merlin Hotel
Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing