We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop go back and find somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

So we have had this hotel recommended to us by many people and have heard of many more having stayed here. My fresh wife and I cannot work out why anyone would stay here once, let alone return to the place. Previously stayed in other similar hotels in Patong with no problems. For the price we have paid for the patong Merlin we would expect a higher standard of room and facilities, without even starting on the rude and surly staff.
Day 1 arrived. Brief check in nothing explained to us like where breakfast was to be, or where we might find a beach towel. Whisked off to our room, pushed in an done. Clearly the bell boy had better things to be do like playing with Facebook along with the other thinly spread staff. Room was dirty with dirty mirrors, floors and shower. Room was cleaned by a very cheery house keeper.
Asked a member of staff near the pool where we might find a pool towel, the response was " over there next to the pool bar". Which is great if there wasn't three pool bars. (Thanks captain aviator sunnies for 0 service).
Day 2: woke up crippled by the block of stone I slept on. Found breakfast, didn't have it in protest as I required 2 hrs of massage to free up my back. Decided to go for a swim and went to two different pool bars to find the towels (hidden behind the middle bar). Pool is great nice, deep and refreshing.

Day 3: went to breakfast sat down at a table for 20 seconds then had a member of staff as us to move. We can only assume it was because there were two of us on a 4 seater table. Was very busy, but was peak time for breakfast. A number of empty trays were around where food should have been. Had to wait around 10mins for and omelette as there was only one person cooking. Went to swim up bar in the afternoon looking for a drink to be confronted with 3 staff members standing around looking at us with no hint of service to be offered (probs reading these reviews on trip ad). We have had something put on the bed to make it softer so we will see how tonight's sleep goes

We have one more day to go and here are the positives so far.
1. There is only one more day to go at this patong delight.
2. House keeping are all very cheerful and always greet you with a smile.
3. The location couldn't be faulted. Close to everything with otop on one side the beach on the other and Bangla rd a short walk away.
4. Good wifi to make reviews on trip advisor
5. Room is very dark in the mornings with fantastic curtains in the room

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
There are newer reviews for Patong Merlin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed with family group. Had pool view room. Tried to get pool access room but none available. Would try again. Staff friendly although when I complained that our air cond was not getting the room below 25C I was told that was what it was set at and not so friendly at that time. Interestingly our sons room got down to 21c. Eventually got ours to manageable level by leaving in on full time although cleaning staff turned it off a couple of times. Pools were great. One is 2.5m and everyone loved it. Breakfast was good. Seemed as if all rooms may be smoking. Ours had an ash try inside when we arrived. When ever anyone smoked on the balconies nearby we seemed to end up with smoke smell in our room. Couldn't see how that happened but it did. Songkan Festival on while we were there and we could be involved and escape easily if we wanted to. Ate set menu at restaurant that night and great thai food. Loved it. Ate at buffet another night and while some was excellent some was poor. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Stay in the new section. The air conditioning is better and rooms are finished off better. Also furt...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Was greated with a cold towel and a drink on arrival. Booked a pool access room, couldn't fault the room. The house keeping lady, Wanada was very friendly and polite.
Since it's such a large hotel, you have to walk alot around it. But that suited us, may not suit others though.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank happinessjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked and stayed for 14ngts in a deluxe Pool view room. We had arranged private vehicle transfers from the airport, which were luxurious vehicles. Upon check in we were greeted with a cold face towel and cold refreshing drink. Ensure to ask for 2 room cards (one to keep the aircon on). The room was wonderful, great size, plenty of room and a king size bed. The bed seemed to be very firm (normal for Thai beds) but we both honestly had the best sleeps our whole holiday! The rooms have block out curtains which was great for a sleep in. Unfortunately at night time you do get woken by the occasional fireworks being set off on the beach. The rooms were tidied every day with fresh towels and the bed made. I arranged the hotel staff to put balloons, streamers and flowers on the bed as a surprise for my partners 30th, they did such a wonderful job!! The lady at the hairdressers was great and very cheap! We both had a 1hr massage at the day spa and cannot recommend it highly enough, very professional without the worry of any sleazy endings! Buffet breakfast was included everyday 6:30-10:30 and had a great variety. The food was always fresh, however the coffee was terrible. The hotel grounds are huge with 4 huge pools and lovely lush gardens everywhere. The sunset bar overlooking the beach had a number of happy hours with 2-4-1 drink specials. Very convenient having the beach on one side and the market shops on the other. Lots of ATMs, convenience stores and money exchange right beside the hotel. You can get your laundry washed for less than $2 per kg across the road at the market shops. Highly recommend for value for money, convenient location and a good holiday destination!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira-Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Welcomed by friendly staff with a lovely cocktail. We had connecting rooms (family of four) which overlooked one of the pools. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. We were initially concerned about the step down into the bathroom, but soon adapted to it. All staff so friendly and helpful. We can highly recommend being there for the "compulsory" New Years Eve dinner and show. Atmosphere was fantastic with tables set around the main pool and a wonderful display of Thai culture as part of the entertainment. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate and room service menu diverse and pleasing. Definitely the main advantage is the location of this hotel. It is close to the main Patong action, but not right in the middle of it. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book pool view rooms thinking that it will be noisy. We were there in the bu...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here from 5th of March till 19th of March.
Check in was so quick and easy, very friendly, our bus boy Somporn was so friendly and caring! The pool guys were great especially anuchai who remembered us from last year and even remembered our order :-) we have stayed in both block 4 and 7 and had no problems. This hotel is close to everything, has 4 pools. Breakfast is great. Sometimes their English isn't good but it's good for a laugh. Just have to remember that English isn't their first language :) they really do try hard to please you. The cleaning lady was so nice and friendly too. Treat the Thai people how you want to be treated and you will be happy. Thanks for another lovely stay Patong Merlin and see you again next year.
Jan and Melissa

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank jansywansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here for a week at the end of February and found this resort to be the perfect escape for us. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and the bell boys helped us with our luggage. We stayed in a deluxe pool view room which was very clean and comfortable. We had the nicest housekeeper 'Singh' I think her name was who would greet us every morning. Breakfast was great! Lots of variety. Staff at every counter (tour, front desk, restaurants, pool, bar) were all very friendly and willing to help. Overall, the resort itself was a big reason why we had a great time in Phuket. It is within walking distance to everything: beach, bangla rd, shopping. Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe pool view room in wing 7, highly recommended.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 328 in Patong
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 328 in Patong
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#7 of 328 in Patong
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#19 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $87 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing