We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay in a row, will come back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here from 5th of March till 19th of March.
Check in was so quick and easy, very friendly, our bus boy Somporn was so friendly and caring! The pool guys were great especially anuchai who remembered us from last year and even remembered our order :-) we have stayed in both block 4 and 7 and had no problems. This hotel is close to everything, has 4 pools. Breakfast is great. Sometimes their English isn't good but it's good for a laugh. Just have to remember that English isn't their first language :) they really do try hard to please you. The cleaning lady was so nice and friendly too. Treat the Thai people how you want to be treated and you will be happy. Thanks for another lovely stay Patong Merlin and see you again next year.
Jan and Melissa

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank jansywansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
There are newer reviews for Patong Merlin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here for a week at the end of February and found this resort to be the perfect escape for us. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and the bell boys helped us with our luggage. We stayed in a deluxe pool view room which was very clean and comfortable. We had the nicest housekeeper 'Singh' I think her name was who would greet us every morning. Breakfast was great! Lots of variety. Staff at every counter (tour, front desk, restaurants, pool, bar) were all very friendly and willing to help. Overall, the resort itself was a big reason why we had a great time in Phuket. It is within walking distance to everything: beach, bangla rd, shopping. Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe pool view room in wing 7, highly recommended.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The title say's it all! Our stay at The Patong Merlin was not off to a great start. We arrived and had to wait over an hour to check in. We were taken up to our room through a corridoor which felt like it belonged in an old hospital. The size of the room was decent, although very dated nothing like the pictures, the TV did not work and the balcony over looked the space in between the kitchen and laundry. We paid around $300 AUD per night, while it was over New Years Eve and I understand prices go up what we got was just not what we paid for. I called reception and asked to speak to management, I cant remember the gentleman's but he was quite helpful and did move us to a room on the ground floor which has been renovated a few months before. After the move we were much happier. I did notice being at a larger hotel over such a busy period service was a little slow and breakfast was a little hectic. After the fuss with our room it was quite a pleasant stay. I just advise anyone booking that they go for a more 'expensive room' on the ground level.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Merlin patong for 8 nights in a ground floor pool view room, the room was basic but clean, in room safe and decent bed and bathroom, the breakfast is also adequate although finding the egg bar was a bit weird! (It's outside the breakfast area). 3 pools to choose from and a very basic gym, great location across the road from the beach and bars, the hotel has heaps of pool bars and restaurants as well. Heaps of bogans there but no problems as the age group is a bit older and quieter than other Aussie tourist traps. (Gracelands).
Only a couple of disappointments, only 1 room card so air cond Is off when your out so warm room greats you everytime you return grrr, and only 1 person able to log on to the wifi at a time, also annoying, But overall a pleasant stay, would recommend and would stay there again happily.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DobsnDougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the Patong Merlin in Phuket with a girlfriend and it was absolutely wonderful. A gorgeous establishment beautiful surroundings and with the beach just a hop skip and jump away. We stayed in a 3rd floor pool view room and it was lovely. Everything was very clean and tidy. The bathroom could have been bigger. The staff were nice but very strong language barrier made it quite difficult to explain certain things. Great selection of buffet breakfast and right next to the pool a beautiful way to start the morning. The hotel is right next door to the Hard Rock Cafe which was a bonus as they had a great live band every night. Close to plenty of shopping, restaurants and only a small walk away from the popular Bangla road. Close enough to the nightlife action to walk but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. With choice of 4 beautiful pools this hotel made for a wonderful relaxing stay. Will definently stay again!!

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room if its available it really is worth it!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kboyd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a 3 star hotel. It is getting pretty old and daggy and was probably once pretty nice. Also apparently it was one first hotels in Patong which explains its dated appearance. Nothing compared to the places we have stayed in Surin or even the Banthai. Had a pool access room in Block 7 and it was nice. Pool was lovely and the room was good. It is just the rest of the hotel that seems lost in time. Breakfast is included and was a good buffet, but not compared to Twin Palms in Surin. And I'm pretty sure I paid something similar. Also the hotel definitely attracts an older crowd. Very few people under 40 staying here.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with other reviews, the staff are miserable. For those who have stayed at the Banthai and been served by Timmy, the Patong Merlin is NOTHING like this. Check-in, bar staff, breakfast staff and lobby staff are bordering on surly. Check-in was all business, nothing friendly or welcoming. Paid on arrival, which I thought was unusual and then baggage was whisked off to our room. Mr Aviator Glasses from the pool bar serves you like you are an inconvenience. Others put your drink down and are straight back to their iPhones. No conversation, no smiles, no games, no love. At least you save money in not tipping them. I think until management start reading these reviews and does something about the staff, really think about staying somewhere else. Oh, the room cleaners are nice, friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Pool access only.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Furterbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our first time to Phuket and the Patong Merlin, we had a ground floor pool view room and loved it,the bathroom was excellent, Aircon worked well, the big king size bed was really good and firm, housekeeping was also a good standard.

We didn't experience any delay at check in (15 mins) and found the reception staff to be very friendly & helpfull, there is free wifi in your room, and yes there is a charge of 150 bhat for 1/2 hour in the main internet computer room located near the front entrance.

The Buffet breakfast was certainly one of the best I have come across, huge selection and opening hours to suit most guests,6am to 10.30am. Sure the price of the beers at the lobby bar were dearer than outside but (that is not unusual for hotels) they were really cold. My son's inlaws paid for an upgrade to the very very nice lagoon rooms, I felt it was worth the extra
$AUD300 for the entire stay(7nghts)with their room located on the ground floor they had access to the pool from their little balcony, the water in this pool was a lot more colder and refreshing that the other main pools in the resort.I was informed that there are no children allowed in the Lagoon rooms & pool area.

The Hotel location is great with the beach a 3min walk,money exchange booths just as you exit
the resort(beach side) and also a Supermarket within 20 meters.Will write a seperate review for the beach on the Patong Beach page.

All in All a wonderfull stay at the Patong Merlin and our thanks to all the staff, I have no hesitation in reccomending this Hotel. We did not have any other meals(only breakfast) at the Hotel as we ate out all the time so I can't comment on the Hotels other food options.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor pool view rooms really to our liking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vandyPerth_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 328 in Patong
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#24 of 328 in Patong
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#7 of 328 in Patong
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#19 Spa Hotel in Patong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $87 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing