We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FANTASTIC STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #34 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great hotel to stay in rooms clean and plenty of space, staff are great and very friendly, pools nice and clean. The food is good and breakfast time there is allot to chose from, just a short walk to the beach and lots of shops along the beach road from the back entrance, and if you go out the main reception doors you got the big market opposite with plenty of stalls and shops pubs and restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I have just checked out and a waiting on my transfer to go to the airport.
I have had a lovely stay here, wonderful weather, nice staff, good food, decent enough location.
It's a little out the way from all the hustle and bustle of patong beach but I think that's a good thing as it's only a short walk away. There's plenty of markets, stalls and bars nearby, along with the ever popular hard rock cafe just out the front with hooters (coming soon).
I stayed for 5 nights and that was plenty. It's off season currently so no matter what time of day it is you can always get loungers by the pool, and with numerous pool bars you need not be without a drink or food for very long.
There are plenty of English speaking tourists visiting here and staying at the hotel which is good and families too.
I would definitely recommend this place but maybe not in high season, I couldn't imagine it super busy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loladaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is only a 3 star in reality, however its location is superb, being opposite the beach in a quieter area of Patong. There are four swimming pools and the gardens are a delightful oasis in which to escape the madness of Patong. The room that we were allocated had a balcony and overlooked one of the pools, it was slightly tired but it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good without being exceptional, and should satisfy most visitors. Previous comments have been made regarding the reception staff being unhelpful, we can only say that we found them to be polite and helpful as were the rest of the staff.If you are going to visit Patong it is a good place to stay at, but remember you should only pay 3 star prices for a 3 star hotel.If we were to visit Patong in the future we would give strong consideration to returning to the hotel as long as the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed 1 month at this hotel. It is Our 17 stay at this hotel. It is Our secong home away from home.. So we know the staff at the hotel very good. It is only 100 meters to the beach were we have many good friends. We will come back next too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenspk1026043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at the Patong Merlin hotel in early February 2014, and loved it! I had a pool view room, and it was very comfortable, although I must agree with some previous reviews, the bathroom was nice, but aging shower screens could be updated. The staff were fantastic, ranging from reception down to the cleaning ladies, always friendly, and always pleased to help. The pools were the deal breakers for me, the large pool is the one I used most, and it was divine, swimming and then lying on the sunlounges with full bar / snack service available. Breakfast daily was very good, with a large selection of hot and cold foods. To sum up, I would reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Patong Beach, a short walk to restaurants, Bengala Rd. I hope to return to Phuket, and when I do, I will have no hesitation in booking the Merlin again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the patong merlin, in the pool access rooms. The staff were actually more friendly than the last time we stayed.
patong is very touristy and will avoid this in future, however th patong Merlin's location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for a week and it was good value , great location good amenities clean rooms staff very friendly breakfast was perfect a large spread of food ,swimming pools clean only downside around the pools was other guests placing towels on deck chairs as if was their own and not sitting on them for hours leaving no chairs for anyone else just selfish people don't consider anyone else

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 337 in Patong
1,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#14 of 337 in Patong
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#33 of 337 in Patong
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#8 of 337 in Patong
3,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#21 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $79 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing