We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #33 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at this place for 8 nights I have stayed here before and the place was fine.Big mistake, in the 3 years since I have been here the place is not worthy, of 1 star let alone 4, granted it was a busy period but the premium price that was paid I expected a lot more. The room was old and musty and needs a complete facelift , the breakfasts were very average but above all the reception staff were the most rude inconsiderate people I have ever dealt with and as for the manager or so he claims was straight out of high school. we were forced to pay aud $190 for nye gala what a joke!!did not include even a soft drink. I will not be back there - my advice go next door to the Holiday inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I thoughrally enojoyed the hotel and its facilities.

our aircon did leaked all over one of our beds at midnight, though these things happen and they fixed it and dried the bed for us very promptly. some maintenance was done in our bathroom during our stay and we didnt get any notice so we were in the room when they came.
breakfast was beautiful every morning
dinner and both the restaurants was good.
we enjoyed a couples treatment at the spa. to die for. the girls are so professional.
thought it is in patong, which personally isnt my idea of a holiday with all the partying and seedyness. inside this hotel you forget all about that.

Room Tip: ask for the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are looking to have a nice quiet getaway to a secluded beach in Thailand then this is not the place for you. However, if you want to be in the heart off the very vibrant fun town of Patong then this is the perfect fit. We stayed here with a 3 and 6 year old. They had a great time at the pool and beach across the street. Patong is a very touristy and trashy but it was fun fairly kid friendly. The staff was very nice but upon check in we were required to pay an additional fee for the kids even though they were part of the original booking. The additional "fees" are something that you expect from most third world counties but, not Thailand a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Be painfully specific if you are traveling with kids so you don't get the additional "fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our operator encouraged us to take all inclusive at this resort beautifully located on the outskirts og patong, Phuket. Newly started the staff here have not had adequate training in what all inclusive means, and our impression is more all exclusive. Separate menus, limited drinks list , and a big sigh from the staff when they realise that you are not paying cash. Hotel is fabulous for kids families with a programme that will tire out the most active kid. After visiting Bali and Mexico in the last year all inclusive I'm afraid this comes way down the list. The most disappointing is the attitude of most of the staff and limited number of them to cope with the number of guests. Whatever happened to the magical Thai smile??

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This property I think is very good. This is our second visit, this time with our teenage children. We all found the breakfast to be great and had no complaints. I like the feel of the property and find the staff friendly and helpful. The only thing that I think needs a bit of work is the bathrooms - a bit tired and the fridge a bit old. The cleaners do a wonderful job of the rooms and keep things tidy and fresh. Would happily return. Thanks for a happy stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The biggest reason for choosing (or not) this hotel should be the location. Unless you know what Patong is all about, don't bother reading hotel reviews! If you are an average middle class Brit with a young family this will almost certainly be the last place on earth you would choose to holiday.
Currently staying for a couple of weeks in a standard (luxury?) room.
Nice pool scene with plenty of sun beds and a number of clean and pretty pools. This is by far the best facet of the hotel.
Rooms are too small but functional. Visited the Graceland hotel just down tge road and their rooms are much larger and their facilities are far superior.
Good air conditioning.
Nice large shower.
Breakfast ok with usual selection of cereals, fruit, juices, hot selection and pastries. Pretty poor ommelettes which shows the level of training given and displayed in this hotel and everywhere else in Phuket is well below European standards.
Beds are firm. I found them uncomfortable.
Ate at the restaurant on the beachfront side of the hotel. It was ok.
The only free wifi is available in the lobby which us very irritating. Shame on Patong Merlin and all hotels that dont provide fast, free wifi as standard throughout their hotel complex.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This Hotel is overpriced, it cannot offer the features and benefits at all. The breakfast served is lousy, to say it in gentle words. The check in staff is quite unfriendly and does not really want to know you. The rooms are located next to the a hallway. So you hear doors banging, the cleaning staff talking, what can be quite noisy. The rooms need a big face lift, so the whole place.
Eat wise, I could not recommend the breakfast, restaurant etc at all, I have heard also that a lot of people got quit ill here.
The pool itself, would need a good clean up.
The location is good, that is all about this place. Don't be fooled by there website.

Room Tip: Please look for another place. There are a lot of better ones around and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hjty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#15 of 331 in Patong
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $86 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing