We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointed with Patong Merlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #32 of 329 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After our last stay at the Patong Merlin we were looking forward to returning with anticipation of another great stay. I decided to treat my wife and upgrade to a pool access room. How disappointing !!!!! In my opinion for the money you pay the rooms are badly designed with the lounge facing away from the pool and the TV. We paid the extra so that we could lounge on the pool balcony but the pool lounge is just totally ridiculous for what it is meant for. The lounge is round but is to small to lay down on for one let alone two. It does not have back cushions, sitting on this lounge is uncomfortable and the lounge is for only one person. It is totally impractical for this situation. On arrival I attended reception to find out if two chairs were available to sit on in lieu of the lounge and advised they would get back to me. No response in 24 hours. I went back a second time and made a second request only to be informed that it was not possible to get to folding chairs despite them being available to all balconies without pool access. For the money you pay for these rooms, the totally unsuitable outdoor pool furniture I would not spend my hard earned money on these upgraded rooms again. for the prices the Hotle is charging for a room I expected much more for my money. Maybe its me but a simple request for folding chairs is not a big ask. Very Very dissapointing !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluesuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in the new wing which was very nice the room was overlooking the pool which was fantastic,swimming up 2 the bar was fun,the all the bars and resturants were also very good the spa was OMG lol,the staff were nice,the reception staff just need 2 learn and understand English but otherwise good.its not 2 close or not 2 far from all the attractions will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where to start! Staff at checkin not friendly, cranberry juice on arrival terrible choice. If u want privacy in your room dont stay here. Bathroom door is frosted glass but u can see through it and at the side the door has a big gap. Lying on the bed there is a big glass wall looking straight through to shower and toilet which can be covered by a blind but terrible choice. The pool looks a million bucks from pictures but once in its dirty!! Green slime on the tile walls. Ran my foot along the floor of pool and just see a heap of floating junk. The lights are green from slime. There was a rude group of boys in the deep part of the pool playing nfl all day when you could see that others wanted to swim there but they hogged it loudly laughing and pool staff just looked the other way. Breakfast was just breakfast nothing flash staff disinterested chatting to themselves. Staff seem miserable been there to long. Drinks in lobby were expensive. Would really look at other destinations for a holiday before here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbub75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had stayed at the merlin 10+years ago and nothing had changed other than the room had a makeover and they don't bother cleaning the pools anymore.all in all its not a bad place to stay in Patong...but surely they can remove the green moss growing in the tile grout in the pools!!! Lol.room service and food is pricey but exeptable eating.the resort is full of aussies in all shapes and forms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Once again we stayed at the Patong Merlin, this time for 21 nights. Slight glitch on arrival for our family as the interconnecting rooms we had requested (we have two 10 yr olds) were not what we were allocated. The lady at reception was helpful and found us interconnecting rooms for the duration of our stay. We had great rooms that have been renovated since we were here in 2012, overlooking the pools. Pool view is a must if staying here and definitely worth the few extra dollars. Breakfast still has a great variety. Plenty of pool chairs at each of the 4 pools. All the staff were very friendly especially our housekeeper. We also had 17 other family and friends staying here at the same time and they loved the Patong Merlin too. So close to shops (OTOP) and a quick walk to Bangla Road or The Jungceylon. Only a brief walk across the road to Patong Beach. Also went to the Promjai Dental Surgery again (located within the Patong Merlin grounds) and could not fault the staff professionalism, cleanliness or quality of the work done. Patong Merlin now has free WIFI (they give you password vouchers on arrival) however we were only able to get enough signal to use WIFI if we stood right up against the door to the room or in the bathroom because of the position of the WIFI transmitter. However our family and friends got great WIFI reception in their rooms (we were spread out across the entire hotel) and of course there was full reception in the hotel lobby. Definitely looking forward to staying here again when we book our next Thailand trip.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikMik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family recently stayed at Paton Merlin Hotel for 10 nights. We found the rooms lovely, cleaned daily and staff very friendly. The pools were wonderful and the steak sandwiches by the pool were yum. Breakfast was also terrific and BBQ nights on a Tuesday at the Sunset restaurant were excellent, choose your meat and tell them how you want it cooked. Very nice, buffet food hot and delicious. Location is excellent beach one end and great Centra market at the other end, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we have stayed here twice before its about a 4 star clean helpful staff , rooms small but wonderfull pool view balcony, food was best ever I had in patong beach huge breakfast to choose from staff ever so helpful great pools to choose from I will be back next year im spoiled by the service and charm

Room Tip: bit of a walk to bangala rd but worth it markets out back so great shopping there tuk tuks outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayguy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 329 in Patong
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 329 in Patong
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 329 in Patong
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $76 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing